Skip Content

Climate Projections for Hong Kong - Mean sea level

Climate Projections for Hong Kong

<<Rainfall

Mean sea level

Wet-bulb temperature>>

The Special Report on the Ocean and Cryosphere in a Changing Climate (SROCC) published in September 2019 by IPCC has revised upward the global mean sea level rise projection. The mean sea level rise projections for Hong Kong and its adjacent waters are also revised based on the latest data provided by SROCC. Under the high greenhouse gas concentration scenario, the annual mean sea level in Hong Kong and its adjacent waters in 2091-2100 (with the effect of local vertical land displacement incorporated) are expected to rise by 0.73 - 1.28 m relative to the average of 1986-2005.

Projected changes in the mean sea level in Hong Kong and its adjacent waters

Projected changes in the mean sea level in Hong Kong and its adjacent waters (with the effect of local vertical land displacement incorporated) relative to the average of 1986-2005 under the high (red) and medium-low (orange) greenhouse gas concentration scenarios. Solid lines plot the mean value while dashed lines show the likely range of projection results.


With rising sea level, the threat of storm surges brought by tropical cyclones will correspondingly increase (see diagrams below). Rare extreme sea level events nowadays will become more frequent. The situation could be even worse as the global mean tropical cyclone intensity is likely to increase.

storm surges

 

» Climate projections under different greenhouse gas concentration scenarios

跳至主要內容

香港氣候推算 - 平均海平面

香港氣候推算

<<雨量

平均海平面

濕球溫度>>

IPCC於2019年9月發表的《氣候變化中的海洋和冰凍圈特別報告》(SROCC)上調了全球平均海平面上升的推算。基於SROCC提供的最新數據,香港及鄰近水域的平均海平面上升推算亦已更新。在高溫室氣體濃度情景下,2091-2100年香港及鄰近水域的平均海平面高度(包含本地地殼垂直運動的影響)會較1986-2005年的平均值高0.73至1.28米。

香港及鄰近水域的平均海平面高度變化的未來推算

在高(紅色)和中低(橙色)溫室氣體濃度情景下,香港及鄰近水域的平均海平面高度變化(包含本地地殼垂直運動的影響)的未來推算(相對於1986-2005年平均)。實線是平均值,虛線是推算結果的可能範圍。


隨着海平面上升,熱帶氣旋帶來的風暴潮威脅亦會因應上升 (見下圖)。現時罕見的極端高水位事件會越趨頻繁,由於全球熱帶氣旋的平均強度可能會增加,情況可能更加惡劣。

風暴潮

 

» 不同溫室氣體濃度情景下的氣候推算