Skip Content

On sea level rise and abnormal sea level in Hong Kong

Educational Resources' icon

Educational Resources

On sea level rise and abnormal sea level in Hong Kong

April 2018

The impact of global warming includes a rise in temperature, melting of ice and snow, rise in mean sea level, etc. The rise in mean sea level is caused by the thermal expansion of sea water as well as the land-based ice and snow melting and flowing into the oceans. Globally, the rate of sea level rise since the mid-19th century has noticeably accelerated. In Hong Kong, based on the records of the tide gauges installed at North Point/Quarry Bay, the sea level in the Victoria Harbour has been rising at a rate of about 3 cm per decade from 1954 to 2017 (Figure 1). The rate of sea level rise is similar in other regions in Hong Kong, such as Tai Po Kau in the Tolo Harbour.

Figure 1

Figure 1   Variation of annual mean sea level in the Victoria Harbour (North Point/Quarry Bay) and the Tolo Harbour (Tai Po Kau) in Hong Kong.

Based on the Fifth Assessment Report of the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, the Observatory has made an assessment of the potential impacts to Hong Kong in terms of rising temperature and sea level in the 21st century. Under the high greenhouse gas emission scenario, the sea level in the vicinity of Hong Kong is expected to rise by 0.63 to 1.07 m by the end of this century (2081-2100) when compared to the average sea level in 1986-2005[1].

With the elevated sea level, the risk of typhoon-generated storm surges affecting Hong Kong will be enhanced. Storm surge is the rise of sea level due to the combined effects of low pressure and high winds associated with a tropical cyclone. When storm surge occurs during astronomical high tides (near New Moon or Full Moon), the resultant sea level can be quite extreme, leading to flooding in low-lying areas. Since the beginning of instrumental records in 1954, the maximum sea level in the Victoria Harbour associated with storm surges was 3.96 m above Chart Datum (mCD) during the passage of Super Typhoon Wanda in 1962. In comparison, the sea level in the Victoria Harbour rose to 3.57 mCD during the passage of Super Typhoon Hato in 2017, second only to the record set by Wanda (Table 1).

Table 1

   Table 1    Top ten maximum sea levels in the Victoria Harbour during the passages of tropical cyclones since 1954.

Apart from storm surges induced by tropical cyclones, there exists one other situation which also gives rise to abnormal sea level in Hong Kong. Such events normally occur during autumn or winter around the days of astronomical high tides when the winter monsoon brings strong winds to the south China coastal waters, resulting in appreciable sea level rise. One recent example occurred in Tai Po Kau on the night of 5 November 2017 when the sea level rose to a maximum of 2.99 mCD (Figure 2), about half a metre higher than the normal astronomical tide and causing minor flooding along the banks of Shing Mun River in Sha Tin[2]. One point worthy of note is that when the passage of a tropical cyclone coincides with the winter monsoon during astronomical high tides, the storm surge impact could still be quite significant even though the tropical cyclone may be skirting past at a relatively large distance. Typical cases are Bess, Nalgae and Elaine as shown in Table 1, all in the month of October when tropical cyclones still roam the South China Sea and the winter monsoon is also becoming increasingly active.

Figure 2

Figure 2   Predicted astronomical tide level (green line) and observed tide level (blue line) in mCD at Tai Po Kau on 5 - 6 November 2017. The red line shows the difference between observed tide level and predicted astronomical tide level.

References´╝Ü

[1]      https://www.hko.gov.hk/en/climate_change/proj_hk_msl.htm
[2]      https://hk.on.cc/hk/bkn/cnt/news/20171105/bkn-20171105230854681-1105_00822_001.html

跳至主要內容

淺談香港海平面上升及海平面異常

教育資源圖示

教育資源

淺談香港海平面上升及海平面異常

2018年4月

全球變暖的影響導致氣溫上升、冰雪融化、平均海平面上升等現象。平均海平面上升是由於海水受熱膨脹,加上陸地冰雪融化流入海洋。全球海平面上升速度自19世紀中葉起明顯加快。香港方面,根據安装在北角/鰂魚涌的驗潮儀記錄,在1954 - 2017年期間,維多利亞港的海平面平均每十年上升約3厘米(圖一)。本港其他地區,例如吐露港內大埔滘的海平面升幅大致相若。

圖一

圖一   香港維多利亞港(北角/鰂魚涌)及吐露港(大埔滘)的每年平均海平面變化圖。

根據聯合國政府間氣候變化專門委員會的第五份評估報告,天文台針對二十一世紀氣溫及海平面上升對香港可能造成的影響作出評估。在高溫室氣體排放的情景下,預計本世紀末(2081 - 2100)香港附近的海平面比1986 - 2005年的平均海平面將會上升0.63至1.07米[1]

隨著海平面上升,熱帶氣旋吹襲時香港受到風暴潮的威脅將會增加。風暴潮是熱帶氣旋氣壓偏低和與其相關的強風共同效應下所引發的海平面上升情况。當風暴潮遇上天文大潮(靠近新月或滿月時期),極端海平面可能會出現,導致低窪地區出現水浸。自1954年有儀器記錄以來,風暴潮影響維多利亞港的最高海平面高度是1962年超強颱風溫黛吹襲期間所錄得的海圖基準面以上3.96米(mCD)。相比而言2017年超強颱風天鴿吹襲期間維多利亞港的最高海平面3.57 mCD祇是僅次於溫黛所締造的紀錄(表一)。

表一

   表一    熱帶氣旋吹襲期間維多利亞港自1954年出現的十大最高水位。

除了熱帶氣旋誘發的風暴潮外,香港也會出現另一類海平面異常情況,通常在秋季或冬季天文大潮期間發生,成因是冬季季候風為華南沿岸海域帶來強風,導致海平面顯著上升。近期一個例子是2017年11月5日晚上大埔滘的海平面高達2.99 mCD,比正常的天文潮汐高出約半米(圖二),引致沙田城門河沿岸發生輕微水浸[2]。值得注意的是在天文大潮期間,若熱帶氣旋遇上冬季季候風,儘管熱帶氣旋在香港較遠的距離掠過,風暴潮的影響仍然可能十分嚴重,表一所示的比絲、尼格及伊蘭便是當中的典型例子,這些個案皆發生於10月,熱帶氣旋仍在南海興風作浪,而冬季季候風亦愈趨活躍。

圖二

圖二   2017年11月5至6日大埔滘的預測天文潮汐(綠線)及實測潮汐(藍線)以mCD為單位的高度。紅線顯示實測潮汐與預測天文潮汐高度的差異。

參考:

[1]      https://www.hko.gov.hk/tc/climate_change/proj_hk_msl.htm
[2]      https://hk.on.cc/hk/bkn/cnt/news/20171105/bkn-20171105230854681-1105_00822_001.html