Skip Content

Conduction of radiation monitoring at designated fire stations

During nuclear emergencies, all or part of 17 designated fire stations (Tuen Mun, Yuen Long, Fanling, Sai Kung, Sha Tin, Tsuen Wan, Lai Chi Kok, Po Lam, Kennedy Town, Chung Hom Kok, Sha Tau Kok, Tai Po, Ma On Shan, Penny's Bay, Mui Wo, Tai O and Cheung Chau) will be requested to take ambient gamma dose rate measurements as well as collect air particulates, radio-iodine and total deposition samples. Measurement results will be transmitted to the HKO Headquarters and collected samples will be analysed at the King's Park Radiation Laboratory.

Locations of the designated fire stations

Portable survey meter: measure ambient gamma dose rate

Portable air sampler: collect air particulates and radio-iodine samples

Total deposition collector: collect airborne particulates that are either directly deposited onto the ground (dry deposition) or washed down by rain water (wet deposition)