Skip Content

Hail and Hook Echo

Educational Resources' icon

Educational Resources

Hail and Hook Echo

Hailstorm is a natural phenomenon which is infrequent in Hong Kong, occurring once every one to two years. Large hails can damage crops, break windows, glass houses and windscreens of cars. In the past two decades (January 2000 - August 2020), there were 11 days with reported hails in Hong Kong. A rather large-scale hailstorm that occurred in the past few years in Hong Kong was on the evening of 30 March 2014. Under the influence of a trough of low pressure, there were widespread torrential rain and severe thunderstorms accompanied by hails that evening, necessitating the Observatory to issue the Black Rainstorm Warning Signal. During the rainstorm, the Observatory received hail reports from many places in Hong Kong, most of which reported hails with size of about 20 to 30 millimetres (Figure 1).

Figure 1

Figure 1.   A hailstone collected at Tsuen Wan at around 8:40 p.m. on 30 March 2014 (picture provided by Ms Cheung).

Hails are large ice pellets formed in severe thunderstorms. When severe thunderstorms occur, there will be violent vertical motion in the atmosphere. Since temperature generally decreases with height in the troposphere, the moisture in the air will condense when the relatively warm and humid air rises. Due to the violent updraft, water vapour will be carried above the freezing level and keep rolling around there, condensing into ice pellets. During the rolling process, the ice pellets continue to absorb water, growing bigger and bigger like a “snowball”. Finally, when the updraft can no longer support the weight of the ice pellets, these overweight ice pellets will fall to the ground and form hailstorms[1] (Figure 2).

Figure 2

Figure 2.   The process of hail formation in severe thunderstorms.

Weather radar is the primary tool of the Observatory to monitor hail. The reflectivity and shape of the echoes shown on the radar imagery provide important clues for identifying hail. Since hails are formed in severe thunderstorms, apart from intense echo reflectivity, echo in hook-shaped can sometimes even be observed on the radarscope, which is called "hook echo". For instance, the characteristics of hook echo can clearly be observed on the radar imagery on the evening of 30 March 2014 (Figure 3).

Figure 3

Figure 3.   A hook echo observed on the radar imagery.

Hook echo is an important feature of a supercell thunderstorm, which implies that the development of cumulonimbus associated with the severe thunderstorms has been quite vigorous. During this period, the strong updraft in the cumulonimbus even prevents raindrops from falling to the ground, resulting in a weak echo region at the bottom layer and the formation of hook-shaped echo. In addition to hails and severe thunderstorms, hook echo is sometimes accompanied by tornadoes or waterspouts as well. Generally speaking, hook echo signifies a very destructive feature. If you observe a hook echo on the radar imagery that might have the chance to affect you, you must try to avoid it, and seek shelter immediately in a sturdy building especially if you are outdoors.

Hook echo correlates with the occurrence of hails, but only to a certain extent. Not every time when there is a hook echo necessarily implying the occurrence of hails, and vice versa. Forecasters need to assimilate various observations to determine the possibility of hail. For example, the Tate’s Cairn dual-polarization S-band Doppler weather radar (Figure 4) installed by the Observatory in recent years has greatly improved the capability in hail monitoring[2][3].

Figure 4

Figure 4.   Tate’s Cairn dual-polarisation radar can detect different phases of water. It successfully detected hails over Shenzhen on the evening of 11 April 2019 (red pixels inside the red circle).

References:

[1] Cool Met Stuff: 冰工廠 (Chinese only)
[2] Cool Met Stuff: 雷達雙聲道 (Chinese only)
[3] Educational Resources: Profiling Rain Areas Using Radar

跳至主要內容

冰雹與鈎狀回波

教育資源圖示

教育資源

冰雹與鈎狀回波

落雹是一種自然現象,在香港並不常見,平均每一至兩年才出現一次。較大的冰雹會破壞農作物,打破窗戶,溫室玻璃和汽車擋風玻璃等。在過去二十年(2000年1月至2020年8月),香港共有11日錄得冰雹報告。近年本地較大規模落雹的一次,發生於2014年3月30日晚上。當晚受低壓槽影響,香港廣泛地區出現滂沱大雨及強烈雷暴並伴隨落雹,天文台更需要發出黑色暴雨警告信號。在暴雨期間,天文台收到本港多處地區的冰雹報告,大部分報告的冰雹大小約 20 至 30 毫米(圖一)。

圖一

圖一   2014年3月30日下午8時40分左右在荃灣拾獲的冰雹(圖片由張小姐提供)。

冰雹是強雷暴中產生的大冰粒。強雷暴出現時,大氣的垂直運動十分猛烈。由於大氣對流層的温度一般隨高度增加而下降,當較暖濕空氣上升時,空氣中的水分會遇冷凝結。由於上升氣流猛烈,水汽會被帶到凍結層以上並不斷打滾,凝結成冰粒。打滾過程冰粒不斷吸收水分,像"雪球"般越滾越大,最後當上升氣流不能再承托冰粒重量時,這些超重的冰粒便會跌落地面,形成落雹[1](圖二)。

圖二

圖二   強雷暴引致落雹的過程。

天氣雷達是天文台監測冰雹的主要工具,雷達圖所顯示的回波反射率及其形狀為識別冰雹提供了重要線索。冰雹形成於強雷暴中,在雷達圖中除了有很強的回波反射率外,有時甚至會出現一種呈"鈎"狀的回波結構,稱為「鈎狀回波」,如2014年3月30日晚上的雷達圖便出現了清晰可見的鈎狀回波特徵(圖三)。

圖三

圖三   雷達圖中出現鈎狀回波。

鈎狀回波是超級單體雷暴的一個重要特徵,代表與強雷暴相關的積雨雲發展已經相當旺盛。此時積雨雲中強勁的上升氣流甚至令雨水無法落到地面,導致底層出現弱回波區,"鈎"狀的回波結構便因而形成。除了冰雹及強雷暴外,鈎狀回波有時更伴隨龍捲風或水龍捲的出現,是一種代表破壞性極強的回波特徵。大家如果以後在雷達圖中發現鈎狀回波有機會影響自己時,切記要避之則吉,特別若是身處戶外的話,應立即躲入堅固的建築物內。

鈎狀回波與冰雹的出現有一定關聯性,但亦非必然,不是每次有鈎狀回波就表示有冰雹,反之亦然。預報員需要綜合眾多的觀測去判斷落雹的可能性,例如天文台近年添置的大老山雙偏振S波段多普勒天氣雷達(圖四),便大大提升了監測冰雹的能力[2][3]

圖四

圖四   大老山雙偏振雷達可偵測不同的水相態。 在2019年4月11日晚上成功探測到深圳出現冰雹(紅圈內的紅點)。

參考:

[1] 氣象冷知識:冰工廠
[2] 氣象冷知識:雷達雙聲道
[3] 教育資源:利用雷達探測雨區的形相態