Skip Content

What is upper-air disturbance?

Educational Resources' icon

Educational Resources

What is upper-air disturbance?

The term "upper-air disturbance" appears occasionally in the Observatory's weather forecast. Do you know what kind of weather system it refers to and how it affects our weather?

First of all, we all know that air on the Earth does not stay still but flows continuously. The speed of air flow is uneven and the flow direction also changes with time and location. An upper-air disturbance refers to where the direction of the airflow in the upper atmosphere experiences significant changes in the flow direction.

As the air mass near the Equator of the Earth is heated, it expands and rises, then flows towards the poles. Together with the effect of the Coriolis force due to the Earth's rotation which deflects the air mass to the right (left) in the Northern (Southern) Hemisphere, westerly winds generally prevail in the atmosphere over the mid-latitudes region (known as the Westerlies1), meaning that the airflow in the upper atmosphere generally flows from the west to the east. Sometimes, the airflow meanders. In the Northern Hemisphere, the region where the direction of the westerly winds turn left is called a trough, or a "westerly trough". Conversely, in a ridge or a "westerly ridge", the direction of the westerly winds turn right.

Figure 1

Figure 1   Observations at the 500-hPa level at 8 a.m. on 21 November 2015

Figure 1 shows the observations at around 5 kilometres above the ground level at 8 a.m. on 21 November 2015. The axis of the westerly trough (indicated by the red dashed line) is where the direction of the airflow turns abruptly to the left (from the blue arrow to the yellow arrow). Southwesterly winds generally prevail ahead of the westerly trough (indicated by the yellow shading), and behind which are northwesterlies (indicated by the blue arrow). The combined visible and infrared satellite imagery (Figure 2), taken at the same time as Figure 1, showed that there was more moisture ahead of the westerly trough. Clouds over there appeared thicker, whilst those behind the trough were relatively thin. Generally speaking, the region ahead of a westerly trough favours ascending of air from the low levels. This results in a relatively unstable atmosphere over the region, conducive to the formation of clouds and rain, or even thunderstorms. On the other hand, air aloft descends behind the westerly trough, where the atmosphere is relatively stable, favouring the occurrence of fine weather.

Figure 2

Figure 2   Combined visible and infrared satellite imagery at the same time as Figure 1

Owing to the affect of weather systems of different scales, the flow of air in the atmosphere can be very complicated. Upper-air disturbance sometimes also occurs in the easterlies over the lower latitudes region of the Earth (especially in the summer). Generally speaking, the presence of upper-air disturbance indicates a chance of unsettled weather nearby. Therefore, analysing upper-air disturbance and predicting how it evolves are very crucial to weather forecasting.

Footnote:

  1. The Westerlies will shift southwards (northwards) in the autumn and winter (spring and summer) seasons in the Northern Hemisphere.

跳至主要內容

甚麼是高空擾動?

教育資源圖示

教育資源

甚麼是高空擾動?

在天文台的天氣預報當中,有時會提及「高空擾動」。其實高空擾動是甚麼天氣系統?它對我們的天氣又有甚麼影響呢?

首先我們要知道,地球上的空氣並不是靜止的,而是不停地流動。空氣流動的速度並不平均,流動方向亦會隨著時間及地點而改變。高空擾動是大氣高層氣流方向出現顯著變化的區域。

由於地球近赤道地區空氣受熱膨脹上升繼而流向兩極,加上地球自轉所產生的科里奧利力(Coriolis force) 使在北半球移動的空氣向右偏移(在南半球移動的空氣則向左偏移),中緯度地區上空普遍吹西風(稱為西風帶1),即是高空的氣流大致由西向東流動。這些氣流有時彎曲地流動,在北半球沿氣流方向向左拐的地方便是「槽」,或稱為「西風槽」。相反,向右拐的地方便是「脊」,或「西風脊」。

圖一

圖一   2015年11月21日上午8時在500百帕的高空觀測數據

圖一顯示2015年11月21日上午8時約離地面五公里的高空觀測數據。藍線顯示高空流線,沿氣流方向向左拐彎突轉向(由藍色箭咀至黃色箭咀)的地方便是西風槽的槽軸(紅色虛線顯示)。西風槽的前方(黃色陰影顯示)普遍吹西南風,其後方普遍吹西北風(藍色箭咀顯示)。從與圖一相同時間的可見光及紅外光合併衛星雲圖可見(圖二),位於西風槽的前方水汽相對較多,雲團較為厚實,而槽後方的雲層則相對稀薄。一般而言,西風槽的前方有利低層空氣往上升,該區的大氣相對不穩定,較易產生雲和雨,甚至是雷暴,而槽的後方空氣由高空往下沉,大氣相對穩定,有利出現晴朗的天氣。

圖二

圖二   跟圖一相同時間的可見光及紅外光合併衛星雲圖

受到不同大小的天氣系統影響,大氣的流動可以非常複雜,高空擾動有時亦會發生在地球較低緯度上空的偏東氣流中(特別在夏季)。一般來說,高空擾動代表附近有機會出現不穩定的天氣,所以分析高空擾動及估計其動向對預測天氣尤為重要。

註:

  1. 在北半球,西風帶會在秋冬(春夏)季南(北)移