Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Print Version PDF Version

Local Time

The world has been divided into 24 time zones,  each centred on lines of longitude at 15 degrees intervals so that every country falls within one or more agreed time zone.  The Greenwich Meridian (also called Prime Meridian) lies at centre of the first zone. Places west of this are one or more hours behind while those east of this would be in front of.  In most places, local time differs from UTC by a whole number of hours, depending on the local time zone. 

Hong Kong Standard Time (HKT) = Coordinated Universal Time (UTC)+ 8 hours. 

world time zone map

Click here for
the International Time Zone Map

Last revision date: <20 Dec 2012>