



Director Commends Outstanding Colleagues

"Filends of the Observatory" Committee Passes the Baton

The new "Friends of the Observatory" committee has elected three executive directors: Ms YAM Kwan-mei (fourth from left, back row), Mr POON Lai-shun (fifth from left, back row) and Mr LAU Ho-tai (first from left, front row), who will work with Scientific Officer Ms LEE Fung-ying (fourth from right, back row) to help committee members promote the Observatory's public educational activities.

Observatory staff who received words of thanks and commendations from the public or organisations during October to December 2014:

(Senior Scientific Officer) Dr LEE Tsz-cheung , Ms Sandy SONG (Scientific Officer) Mr CHOY Chun-wing , Mr LEE Kwok-lun, Dr Daniel YEUNG (Senior Experimental Officer) Mr Paul HO (Experimental Officer) Mr CHENG Tsz-lo, Mr LUN Siu-hung (Senior Scientific Assistant) Mr FUNG Kwok-chu (Scientific Assistant) Mr CHEN Yung



Ms YEUNG Pui-yi (left) was promoted to Chief Scientific Assistant on 23 October 2014. Staff Promotion



Mr Dickson LAU (left) was promoted to Senior Experimental Officer on 3 November 2014.

On 24 December 2014, the Director of the Hong Kong Observatory presented letters of commendation to a number of staff in recognition of their outstanding work and excellent performance:

Letter of Commendation

Senior Scientific Officer Mr LEE Lap-shun, Mr LEE Sai-ming, Dr LEE Tsz-cheung , Ms Sandy SONG, Mr TAM Kwong-hung

Acting Senior Scientific Officer Mr WONG Wai-kin

Scientific Officer

Dr HO Chun-kit, Mr HON Kai-kwong, Mr HUI Tai-wai, Mr LEE Kwok-lun, Dr LAM Hok-yin, Mr WOO Wang-chun

Senior Radar Specialist Mechanic Mr YAU Lai-kin

Radar Specialist Mechanic Mr IP Wing-sing

Chief Experimental Officer Mr LUI Wing-hong

Experimental Officer Ms CHENG Yuen-yuen

Scientific Assistant Mr CHEN Yung, Ms WONG Hiu-kam

> Senior Draughtsman Ms NG CHAN Kam-chu

Programmer Mr WONG Kam-ming

Analyst Programmer II Miss Serene WONG

> Artisan Mr YU Siu-man