Skip Content

Nuclear Reactors


Nuclear Reactors

  Over 430 nuclear reactor units are in service around the world with total electricity output of about 353,000 MW or 353 GW. The major types of reactors in commercial operation includes :-
    1. Pressurised Water Reactor (PWR)
    2. Boiling Water Reactor (BWR)
    3. Pressurised Heavy Water Reactor (CANDU)
    4. Light Water Graphite Reactor (RBMK)

  More than 50% of the nuclear reactors in service are of Pressurised Water Reactor (PWR) type similar to the one at GNPS and LNPS.

  Basic Terminology
The above content and graphics are provided by EMSD

Previous page