Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
 
Historical Pictures
 

 

Decca 41 radar - The Observatory's first weather radar
Decca 41 weather radar

The Observatory's history with weather radar started in 1959 when a Decca 41 weather radar was first installed at Tate's Cairn, at an altitude of about 580 m above mean sea level.

The lower photo shows the 4.3-m diameter double-curvature antenna of the weather radar.

4.3-m diameter double-curvature antenna of the weather radar

 

Typhoon Wanda in 1962
Typhoon Wanda, 1 September 1962 at 5:00 a.m.

Typhoon Wanda was one of the most destructive typhoons in the history of Hong Kong. This image of Wanda was captured by the Observatory's first weather radar installed at Tate's Cairn in 1959.

In the picture, clearly visible areas were the spiral rainbands (white) of Wanda. The dark hole in the centre of the rainbands was the typhoon eye.

As Wanda approached Hong Kong, the Hurricane Signal No.10 was hoisted at 6:15 a.m. on 1 September 1962. The maximum gust of 259 km/h was registered at the Observatory as the storm passed that morning. This record remains unsurpassed.

Damage and casualties were widespread throughout Hong Kong. 130 people were killed and 53 were missing. Approximately 72,000 people were made homeless.

Typhoon Wanda, 1 September 1962 at 5:00 a.m.

 

Plessey 43S radar - The Observatory's second weather radar
Plessey 43S radar - The Observatory's second weather radar

In 1966, the Observatory installed this more advanced weather radar at Tate's Cairn. The photo shows the radome of the radar which protects the antenna inside against strong winds and inclement weather.

 

An Observatory personnel at work in front of a display of Plessey 43S radar
An Observatory personnel at work in front of a display of Plessey 43S radar

An Observatory personnel at work. Displayed on a monochrome cathode ray tube (CRT) display, the radar image had to viewed inside a dark room and radar echoes traced on a piece of transparent plastic for use in weather forecasting.

 

Typhoon Rose in 1971
Typhoon Rose, 16 August 1971

Typhoon Rose was another very intense typhoon affecting Hong Kong in the 1970s.

Rose's eye as well as the intense rain bands to its north were well captured by the radar.

During the passage of 'Rose', there were 6 hours of gales at the Observatory, while hurricane force winds were recorded for 1 hour at the Hong Kong Airport, 2 hours at Cape Collinson and Waglan Island, 3 hours at Cheung Chau and 4 hours at Tate's Cairn. Hurricane Signal No. 10 was hoisted at 10:50 p.m. on 16 August 1971.

A total of 5,644 people from 1,032 families was made homeless and 653 huts were destroyed. About 24 buildings were damaged, of which 6 were beyond repair or collapsed.

Typhoon Rose, 16 August 1971

 

Typhoons with Double Eye Walls in the 1970s - Typhoon Elsie and Typhoon Hope
Typhoon Elsie, 14 October 1975 at 1:00 a.m.

Double eye walls are not rare in the life cycle of a typhoon. The Observatory's radar captured vividly this feature in Typhoon Elsie in 1975 and Typhoon Hope in 1979. Both were intense storms with maximum winds exceeding 200 km/h near their centres. The Hurricane Signal No. 10 was hoisted on both occasions.

Typhoon Elsie, 14 October 1975 at 1:00 a.m.
Typhoon Hope, 2 August 1979 at 8:00 a.m.
Typhoon Hope, 2 August 1979 at 8:00 a.m.

 

Digital Radar - The Observatory's first computer-based radar
Digital Radar - The Observatory's first computer-based radar

In 1983, the Observatory installed its first computer-based radar. The image was displayed on a colour monitor, with various colours representing different rainfall intensities. It also allowed more advanced operations such as animation and forecast of radar echo movement by simple extrapolation. Radar pictures were archived on a magnetic tape.

 

Typhoon Ellen in 1983
Typhoon Ellen, 9 September 1983 at 3:06 a.m.

The computer-based radar in 1983 was installed just in time to capture Typhoon Ellen. Ellen was the only tropical cyclone necessitating the issuance of Hurricane Signal No. 10 in the 1980s.

The radar picture shows a circular eye and more intense echoes in the southern half of the typhoon. At that time, Ellen came very close to the south of Hong Kong but moved slowly. This gave rise to hurricane force winds that lasted for 5 hours in Cheung Chau, with a maximum hourly mean wind of 167 km/h and gust of 237 km/h. The relatively slow movement and the persistent wind of Ellen resulted in a significant rise in the level of sea water (called 'Storm Surge') causing extensive flooding over western Kowloon. During the passage of Ellen, the Hurricane Signal No. 10 remained hoisted for 8 hours.

Typhoon Ellen, 9 September 1983 at 3:06 a.m.

 

Tate's Cairn Weather Radar - The Observatory's first Doppler weather radar
Tate's Cairn Weather Radar - The Observatory's first Doppler weather radar

The Observatory implemented the first Doppler radar at Tate's Cairn in 1994. The Doppler principle can be explained by noting the change in pitch of the siren on a passing ambulance. The pitch heightens as the ambulance approaches and lowers as it departs. In addition to measuring rainfall intensity, the Doppler radar detects the speed of movement of raindrops based on the Doppler principle.

 

Terminal Doppler Weather Radar
The terminal Doppler weather radar

The terminal Doppler weather radar (TDWR) was implemented for the detection of windshear and microburst associated with convective storms, which might affect the safety of aircraft using the Hong Kong International Airport. The radar is strategically located at Tai Lam Chung, about 12 kilometres northeast of the airport for monitoring of convective storms affecting or likely to affect the runways.

The TDWR system provides a display of windshear warnings overlaid on the radar echoes. The lower figure displays a warning (in red) of a 35-knot wind loss along the airport runways in the evening of 20 May 2002, when a tornado affected the southeastern part of the airport island.

The terminal Doppler weather radar located at Tai Lam Chung

 

Tai Mo Shan Weather Radar
Tai Mo Shan Weather Radar

The Observatory implemented a more advanced Doppler radar at Tai Mo Shan, the highest peak in Hong Kong, in early 1999. The large 8.5-metre diameter antenna as well as the high stability transmitter enables the acquisition of data in higher resolution, thus providing a much clearer view of storm structure to aid weather forecasting.

The radar is a powerful tool for the forecaster and is indispensable in the accurate warning of tropical cyclones, rainstorms and landslips and in the short-term prediction of severe weather by numerical modeling.

Inside the protection radome, the 8.5-metre diameter dish antenna (lower figure) of the Tai Mo Shan weather radar scans the atmosphere continuously for rain areas within 500 kilometres of Hong Kong.

The 8.5-metre diameter dish antenna of the Tai Mo Shan weather radar

 

Typhoon York on 16 September 1999
Typhoon York on 16 September 1999

Three-dimensional radar image provides a vivid perspective of the structure of rain and storm. The image on the left clearly depicts the circular eye as well as the spiral rain bands of Typhoon York. Though the Hurricane Signal No. 10 was still in force at that time, the relatively calm weather in the eye of the typhoon gave Hong Kong a temporary break from rain and winds that morning. However, this lull period was replaced by violent winds and high seas as soon as the eye moved out of the territory.

 

 

Last revision date: <18 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

 
歷史照片

 

 

 

 

Decca 41 雷達 - 天文台的第一台天氣雷達
Decca 41 雷達

天文台天氣雷達的歷史始於1959年。當時第一台天氣雷達Decca 41是安裝在離平均海平面約580米高的大老山上。

下圖是直徑4.3米的雙弧形天線。

直徑4.3米的雙弧形天線

 

1962年颱風溫黛
1962年颱風溫黛

颱風溫黛是香港有史以來其中一個最具破壞力的颱風。這圖像是天文台於1959年在大老山安裝的首台天氣雷達所捕捉到的。

圖中清楚可見的地方是溫黛的螺旋雨帶(白色),而雨帶圍繞著的黑色中心便是該颱風的風眼。

當溫黛迫近香港時,天文台在1962年9月1日上午6時15分懸掛了十號颶風信號。而當風暴在該日早上橫過時,天文台錄得最高陣風為每小時259公里,這紀錄至今仍未被打破。

整個香港都廣泛受到破壞及有人命傷亡,其中有130人死亡,53人失蹤,及約7萬2千人無家可歸。

颱風溫黛 1962年9月1日 上午5時正

 

Plessey 43S 雷達 - 天文台的第二台天氣雷達
Plessey 43S 雷達

1966年,天文台在大老山安裝了一台較先進的天氣雷達。此圖所見是該雷達的天線罩,能抵禦強風及惡劣天氣,保護內裏的雷達天線。

 

天文台職員在Plessey 43S雷達的屏幕前工作
天文台職員在Plessey 43S雷達的屏幕前工作

工作中的天文台職員。由於當時是使用單色陰極射線管(CRT)顯示雷達圖像,所以工作人員需處身於黑房中觀看圖像,並在透明膠片上描繪出雷達回波,以作天氣預測之用。

 

1971年颱風露絲
1971年颱風露絲

颱風露絲是在70年代影響本港的另一個非常猛烈的颱風。

雷達清楚捕捉到露絲的風眼及位於其北面的強烈雨帶。

當露絲襲港時,天文台受到6個小時的烈風吹襲,香港機場錄得1個小時的颶風風速,哥連臣和橫瀾島錄得2小時的颶風風速,而長洲和大老山都分別錄得3小時和4小時的颶風吹襲。 十號颶風信號在1971年8月16日下午10時50分懸掛。

受這次風災影響,一共有5,644人,包括1,032個家庭無家可歸,並有653間木屋被摧毀,24座建築物受破壞,其中6座已無法維修或倒塌。

颱風露絲 1971年8月16日

 

1970年代擁有雙重眼壁的颱風 - 颱風愛茜及颱風荷貝
颱風愛茜

在颱風的生命週期中,出現雙重眼壁的情況並不罕見。 天文台的雷達在1975年的颱風愛茜及1979年的颱風荷貝清楚地捕捉到這特徵。 愛茜及荷貝均是強烈颱風,它們中心風速每小時超過200公里。天文台在這兩個風暴襲港期間都需懸掛十號颶風信號。

颱風愛茜 1975年10月14日 上午1時正
颱風荷貝
颱風荷貝 1979年8月2日 上午8時正

 

數碼雷達 - 天文台首台電腦化雷達
數碼雷達

天文台在1983年安裝了第一台配備了電腦的雷達。 雷達圖像顯示在彩色螢光幕上,並以不同的顏色代表降雨的強弱程度。該系統亦提供一些較先進的功能如圖像動畫和利用外推法預測雷達回波的移動,雷達圖像並會儲存於電腦磁帶中。

 

1983年颱風愛倫
1983年颱風愛倫

在1983年,天文台安裝了一台電腦化的雷達,及時捕捉到颱風愛倫襲港時的雷達圖像。 愛倫是唯一一個在1980年代需要懸掛十號颶風信號的熱帶氣旋。

雷達圖像顯示出愛倫的圓形風眼及其南面較強烈的回波。 當時愛倫在香港以南,非常接近本港,但移動緩慢,因而使長洲受了5小時的颶風吹襲,最大的每小時平均風速達167公里,陣風則達每小時237公里。 受到愛倫較緩慢的移動速度及持續的大風的影響,海平面明顯上升(被稱之為'風暴潮'),引致九龍西部廣泛水浸。愛倫襲港期間,十號颶風信號懸掛了8個小時。

颱風愛倫 1983年9月9日 上午3時06分

 

大老山天氣雷達 - 天文台第一台多普勒雷達
大老山天氣雷達

天文台於1994年在大老山設置第一台多普勒雷達。所謂多普勒原理,可通過救護車響號的聲調轉變來解釋:當救護車走近時,響號的聲調會升高;遠離時,聲調則降低。故此,這台多普勒雷達除可探測降雨強度外,還可利用多普勒原理來探測雨點的移動速度。

 

機場多普勒天氣雷達
機場多普勒天氣雷達

機場多普勒天氣雷達是專門探測由對流風暴引起的微下擊暴流和風切變。這些天氣都能影響在香港國際機場升降的飛機的安全。這台雷達位於機場東北面約12公里的大欖涌,有效地監測可能影響跑道的對流風暴。

機場多普勒天氣雷達系統能將風切變警告重疊地顯示在雷達回波圖上面。下圖顯示在2002年5月20日晚上沿著機場跑道出現了可引致飛機有35海里失速的風切變警告(紅色地區),而當時有一龍捲風正影響著機場範圍的東南部。

機場多普勒天氣雷達

 

大帽山天氣雷達
大帽山天氣雷達

天文台於1999年年初在全港最高的山 -- 大帽山 -- 設置了一台更先進的多普勒雷達。這台雷達配備了直徑8.5米的大型天線及高穩定度的發射器,能獲取較高分辨率的數據,因而能更清楚展示風暴的結構,以幫助天氣預報。

雷達是預報員很有用的工具,它幫助預報員準確發出警告,如熱帶氣旋、暴雨及山泥傾瀉警告;並為數值天氣預報系統在作出短期惡劣天氣預報中提供不可或缺的數據。

藏於雷達天線罩內,直徑長達8.5米的大帽山天氣雷達碟型天線(下圖),不斷地掃描香港500公里範圍內的雨區。

直徑8.5米的大帽山天氣雷達碟型天線

 

颱風約克 1999年9月16日
颱風約克 1999年9月16日

立體雷達圖像能清晰地顯示雨及風暴的結構。左圖清楚顯示颱風約克的圓形風眼及螺旋雨帶。雖然當時十號颶風信號仍然生效,但由於香港處於風眼內相對平靜的天氣中,所以當天早上風和雨都稍為歇息。然而,當風眼離開本港時,這平靜的片刻就被狂風和大浪取而代之。

 

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年3月12日>