Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
 
Tropical Cyclones
 

 

Typhoon Dujuan on 2 September 2003 - a Typhoon with Double Eye Walls
Typhoon Dujuan on 2 September 2003 - a Typhoon with Double Eye Walls

The image indicates Typhoon Dujuan exhibiting a double eye-wall structure while approaching the eastern coast of Guangdong in early September 2003. The diameters of the inner and outer eyes were about 20km and 100km respectively.

The double eye-wall structure in tropical cyclones was not rare in the west Pacific. It had been observed recently in Typhoon Kujira (2003), in Typhoon Kirogi and Typhoon Kai-Tak (2000). Associated with strong typhoons, double eye walls were also observed by the Observatory's weather radar during the passage of Typhoon Elsie in 1975 and Typhoon Hope in 1979.

 

Severe Tropical Storm Hagupit on 11 September 2002
Severe Tropical Storm Hagupit on 11 September 2002

The image depicts Hagupit's asymmetric distribution of rain bands, which were mainly located on the eastern and northern sides of the storm. Hagupit came rather close to Hong Kong, with its centre only about 150 km to the south-southwest of Hong Kong. Despite such a close distance, the weather in various parts of Hong Kong was quite different. Hagupit brought squalls and heavy rain to Lantau and Hong Kong Island while most parts of the New Territories were relatively rain-free.

 

Typhoon Yutu on 25 July 2001
Typhoon Yutu on 25 July 2001

The circular eye of Typhoon Yutu was clearly seen in the image at about 200 km to the south-southwest of Hong Kong in the morning of 25 July 2001. The outermost rain band of Yutu was affecting Hong Kong then. Spiral rain bands, a typical characteristic of a tropical cyclone, can clearly be seen.

 

 

 

 

Last revision date: <18 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

 
熱帶氣旋

 

 

 

颱風杜鵑 2003年9月2日 - 雙重眼壁的颱風
颱風杜鵑	2003年9月2日 - 雙重眼壁的颱風

圖中顯示颱風杜鵑在2003年9月初靠近廣東東部海岸時出現雙重眼壁的結構。 內眼及外眼的直徑分別約為20公里及100公里。

在西太平洋,雙重眼壁結構的熱帶氣旋並不少見,2003年的颱風鯨魚、2000年的颱風鴻雁及颱風啟德都曾出現此現象。 這種跟強颱風有關聯的雙重眼壁結構,以往也曾被香港天文台的天氣雷達捕捉到,這包括1975年的颱風愛茜及1979年的颱風荷貝。

 

強烈熱帶風暴黑格比 2002年9月11日
強烈熱帶風暴黑格比	2002年9月11日

圖中顯示黑格比不對稱的雨帶分佈,雨帶主要集中在風暴的東面及北面。 當時黑格比頗為接近香港,其中心位於本港西南偏南約150公里。 即使在這般近距離,本港不同地區的天氣也不大相同。 當時黑格比為大嶼山及港島帶來狂風及大雨,而新界大部分地區則比較少雨。

 

颱風玉兔 2001年7月25日
颱風玉兔	2001年7月25日

2001年7月25日早上,颱風玉兔的圓形風眼清楚地顯示在雷達圖像上。當時玉兔位於香港西南偏南約200公里,其外圍雨帶正影響香港。圖像中亦清楚可見雨帶呈螺旋形 – 這是熱帶氣旋的一典型特徵。

 

 

 

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年3月12日>