Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
 
Artifacts
 

 

Sea Clutter on 24 July 2003
Sea Clutter on 24 July 2003

Typhoon Imbudo came close to the western coast of Guangdong in the morning of 24 July 2003. The radar image time corresponds to the moment when Imbudo was closest to Hong Kong (about 280 kilometres southwest of Hong Kong). The Tropical Cyclone Warning Signal No.8 was in force at the time. Relatively weak but uniform echoes were observed over the surrounding waters of Hong Kong. This kind of spurious echoes is called 'Sea Clutter' and is caused by reflection from rough seas, a result of the storm's gale force winds. Sea clutter mainly occurs close to the radar site. It appears as a stationary feature in an animation sequence.

 

Second Trip Echo on 19 June 2003
The second trip echo is in the form of a strip

Weather radar emits microwave at fixed time intervals. Occasionally, a microwave pulse reflected from a distant rain area may arrive at the radar after the radar has emitted the next pulse of microwave. The radar thus may mistake the reflected microwave as coming from the second pulse, giving a much nearer but wrong location for the rain. Such kind of radar echo is called 'Second Trip Echo'.

The radar image (upper figure) shows that second trip echoes in the form of strips were in fact caused by rain at a distance beyond 400 kilometres to our south (lower figure).

The echo is in fact caused by rain

 

Anomalous Propagation on 31 May 2003
Anomalous Propagation on 31 May 2003

Users should exercise utmost care when interpreting radar images. Like the radar image on the left, under certain weather conditions (e.g. when the air is stable), the microwave from radar which would otherwise travel in a straight line might bend towards the ground. The reflected microwave would give the radar a false impression of rain. The phenomenon is called 'anomalous propagation'. The weather on that day was dry with no rainfall.

 

Sunlight on 21 May 2003
Sunlight in the direction of the rising sun (East)

Sunlight contains microwave that matches the operating frequency of the radar. Mostly at sunrise and sunset, the radar may capture the microwave from the sun and mistake it for its own. The radar echo thus received is in the form of radial beam.

The radar images captured in the early morning (upper one) and late afternoon (lower one) on the same day of 21 May 2003 depicts very well radial beams caused by sunlight in the direction of the rising sun (East) and the setting sun (West) respectively.

sunlight in the direction of the setting sun (West)

 

 

Last revision date: <18 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

 
「假」降雨現象

 

 

 

海雜波 2003年7月24日
海雜波	2003年7月24日

颱風伊布都在2003年7月24日早上靠近廣東西部沿岸。這幅雷達圖像的時間正是伊布都最接近香港的一刻(約在香港西南面280公里),當時八號熱帶氣旋警告信號正在生效。圖中可見在香港附近水域出現一些相對較弱但平均的回波。這類「假」的回波被稱為「海雜波」,是由風暴的烈風刮起的大浪反射所引致。「海雜波」主要出現在接近雷達位置的地方,而在圖像動畫中一般是呈現靜止不動的。

 

二次傳輸回波 2003年6月19日
「二次傳輸回波」呈條帶狀

天氣雷達會定時發出微波。有些時候,當從遙遠的雨區反射回來的微波到達雷達時,雷達已經再次發出脈衝。雷達因此便誤以為該反射回來的微波是從第二次發出的脈衝所來,令雷達錯誤定出雨區是在較近的位置。這些雷達回波被稱為「二次傳輸回波」。

雷達圖像(上圖)顯示「二次傳輸回波」呈條帶狀,但這實際上是由本港以南400公里外的一個雨區所引致的(見下圖)。

「二次傳輸回波」是由一個雨區所引致

 

異常傳播 2003年5月31日
異常傳播 2003年5月31日

大家在詮釋雷達圖像時應該小心。以左邊的雷達圖像為例,在某些天氣狀況下(例如:當大氣處於穩定狀態時),雷達發出的微波會偏離直線前進的路徑,而彎向地面。這從地面反射回來的回波會使雷達誤以為是降雨。這種現象被稱為「異常傳播」。而當天的天氣其實是乾燥並且沒有雨的。

 

太陽光 2003年5月21日
太陽光在日出(東)的方向

太陽光當中包含了與天氣雷達操作頻率配合的微波。通常在日出及日落時,天氣雷達都會接收到這些來自太陽的微波,並將它誤認為是雷達本身的回波。這些接收到的訊號會顯示為從雷達向外伸展的條狀波束。

2003年5月21日清早(上圖)及黃昏時份(下圖)的雷達圖像分別清楚顯示出由太陽光所引致的條狀波束在日出(東)和日落(西)的方向出現。

太陽光在日落(西)的方向

 

 

 

 

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年3月12日>