Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Weather Services for Aviation

Overview of the services:

Within the framework of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), the Hong Kong Observatory (HKO) is the designated meteorological authority in Hong Kong to provide weather services for international air navigation.  The provision of aviation weather services is to contribute towards the safety, regularity and efficiency of international aircraft operations.  This is achieved by supplying the necessary meteorological information to Air Traffic Services (ATS) units, airline operators, flight crew members, airport management and others associated with international air navigation.

History:

The HKO's long association with aviation began in 1920 when proposals for an aviation weather service were first discussed.  Aviation forecasting service began in 1937 and a forecaster was stationed at Kai Tak Aerodrome on a part-time basis.  The Airport Meteorological Office (AMO) at the Kai Tak Terminal Building came into operation in 1939.  After the Second World War, the HKO resumed the provision of aviation weather services in August 1947.  In response to the rapid growth of air traffic in the post-war years, a team of aviation forecasters was recruited in 1957 to man the AMO.  Since then the AMO witnessed the continuous growth in air traffic volume at Kai Tak.

With the opening of the new Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) at Chek Lap Kok in July 1998, the AMO carries on with its operations at the Air Traffic Control Tower.  New meteorological systems based on state-of-the-art technologies were implemented to enable the AMO to cope with the increasing demand.

Weather Observation and Forecasting:

Weather observers and aviation forecasters work round-the-clock at the AMO to take routine and special weather observations and to provide enroute forecasts as well as aerodrome forecasts for the HKIA.

Making weather observations 
Fig. 1  Making weather  observations


In support of air traffic flow management, the Aviation Forecaster provides routine daily briefings to Air Traffic Control Centre (ATCC) of the Civil Aviation Department on significant convection forecast for key areas over the Hong Kong Flight Information Region (HKFIR).

Aviation Forecaster conducting a weather briefing for ATCC 
Fig. 2  Aviation Forecaster conducting a weather briefing for ATCC


Six sets of anemometers are installed in the middle and at both ends of the Northern and Southern Runways to measure the wind direction and speed an aircraft will encounter during take-off and landing.  There are also six sets of Runway Visual Range (RVR) transmissometers to measure visibility conditions along the two runways.


An anemometer near the runway

    Fig. 3  An anemometer near the runway

Thermometers, barometers, raingauges and a ceilometer are set up in a meteorological enclosure near the Air Traffic Control Tower to provide temperature, pressure, rainfall and cloud base information for the aerodrome.

Additional ceilometers are installed at Siu Mo To and Tai O to assist the observation of cloud base over the approach and departure areas.

 Locations of meteorological equipment around the airport
Fig. 4  Locations of meteorological equipment around the airport
 
 

The observations and forecasts are disseminated to ATS units for onward transmission to aircraft pilots, to airline operators for pre-flight planning and to local users operating helicopters and light aircraft.  Such information as well as weather reports from neighbouring aerodromes are included in the regular broadcasts for aircraft in flight and for aircraft preparing for landing at or taking off from the HKIA.

Aircraft observations of winds, air temperatures and special phenomena are compiled by the AMO and disseminated as aircraft reports.


Warning Services:

The AMO is responsible for issuing warnings on hazardous weather which may affect the safety of aircraft operations within a designated airspace over the northern part of the South China Sea. It also issues aerodrome warnings on adverse weather for protection of aerodrome facilities and aircraft on the ground.

To enhance the safety of aircraft landing at and taking off from the HKIA, the AMO issues alerts of low-level windshear and turbulence.  The dual LIght Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) system (each LIDAR located separately near the northern runway and the southern runway), a Terminal Doppler Weather Radar (TDWR), a network of over 20 anemometers and two wind profilers are used to assist in the detection and alerting of windshear and turbulence.

The Northern Runway LIDAR
Fig. 5  The Northern Runway LIDAR


Terminal Doppler Weather Radar at Tai Lam Chung
Fig. 6  Terminal Doppler Weather Radar at Tai Lam Chung


Schematic diagram of windshear caused by a microburst
Fig. 7  Schematic diagram of windshear caused by a microburst

Low-level windshear and turbulence alerts for the approach and departure areas within 3 nautical miles of the runway thresholds are issued by the AMO for relay by air traffic controllers to approaching and departing aircraft.


Service Delivery:

A meteorological data processing system acquires, processes and disseminates meteorological information to support the operation of the HKIA. This system is connected with the systems of the Civil Aviation Department (CAD) for exchange of operational weather data with airports around the world, and for display of meteorological information to air traffic services units. This system also includes an on-line information service through which airline companies can retrieve flight documentation including forecast charts of en-route significant weather and wind/temperature data issued by the World Area Forecast Centres at London and Washington, weather forecasts for departure, destination and alternate aerodromes, as well as the latest meteorological information of weather radar and satellite images, aerodrome warnings, tropical cyclone information, etc.   Weather briefings are provided via telephone or video conferencing equipment to flight crew members on request.

significant weather chart 
Fig. 8  A sample significant weather chart

New Development:

HKO will constantly use the latest technology to ensure efficient service delivery.  Improvement of various warning services including windshear warnings will continue with a view to further increasing accuracy and reducing false alarms.  Following international trend, plan is in hand to develop capabilities for real-time downlink of weather data obtained by aircraft and uplink of weather information required in the cockpit.

For more information, please visit the Aviation Weather Services web page

 

 

Last revision date: <22 Jan 2013>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

航空氣象服務

服務概覽:

在國際民用航空組織(ICAO)的架構下,天文台是香港的專責氣象部門,為國際航空提供氣象服務。提供航空氣象服務的目標在於對國際航空的安全、規律性及效率作出貢獻。為了達到這個目標,天文台提供氣象資料予航空交通服務單位、航空公司、飛行人員、機場管理當局及其他與國際航空有關的機構。


歷史:

香港天文台與航空界的悠久關係始於1920年,當時首次討論提供航空氣象服務的建議。航空預報服務在1937年展開,當時有一位預報員部分時間派駐在啟德機場工作。位於啟德機場的機場氣象所於1939年投入服務。第二次世界大戰之後,天文台於1947年8月恢復提供航空氣象服務。為了應付戰後航空業務的迅速擴展,天文台在1957年聘請了一組航空預報員,於機場氣象所當值。自此,機場氣象所見證了啟德機場航空交通量的不斷增長。

赤鱲角的新香港國際機場在1998年7月正式啟用,機場氣象所同時亦遷移至新香港國際機場的航空交通指揮塔繼續運作,並建立了先進的氣象系統,以應付日益增加的需求。


天氣觀測及預報:

航空天氣觀測員及預報員在機場氣象所24小時輪班,為香港國際機場作常規的航空天氣報告及特殊航空天氣報告,並發出飛行航路預報及航站預報。

天氣觀測
圖一  天氣觀測


航空預報員每日定時為民航處航空交通控制中心作有關香港飛行情報區內關鍵區域的重要對流天氣預測及簡報,以支援航空交通流量管理。

航空預報員對航空交通控制中心進行天氣簡報 
圖二  航空預報員對航空交通控制中心進行天氣簡報


天文台在南、北跑道的中央位置及兩端共設置了六組風速表,以量度航機起飛及降落時所遇到的風向和風速。同時亦設置了六組跑道視程透射表以量度兩條跑道的能見度。

跑道附近的風速表

圖三  跑道附近的風速表


航空交通管制塔附近則設置了溫度表、氣壓表、量雨器及雲羃儀以提供機場的氣溫、氣壓、雨量及雲底高度的資料。

此外,小磨刀及大澳均安裝了雲羃儀來幫助觀測機場升降區的雲底高度。


  機場四周氣象儀器的位置

圖四  機場四周氣象儀器的位置
 

天氣報告及預報發放予航空交通服務單位以傳送至飛行人員。這些資料亦傳送至航空公司以供飛行策劃之用,同時亦傳送至運作直升機和輕型飛機的本地用戶使用。這些天氣資料,加上鄰近機場的天氣報告,經由定時氣象廣播發送予航行中的飛機及準備在香港國際機場升降的航機。

機場氣象所同時亦將飛行中飛機報告的風向、風速、氣溫及特殊天氣現象,整理成為飛機報告向外發放。


警報服務:

機場氣象所負責為南海北部的一個空域內可能影響飛行安全的惡劣天氣發出警告。在惡劣天氣下機場氣象所也負責發出相關的天氣警報,以保障機場設施及地面飛機的安全。

為了提高在香港國際機場升降的航機安全,機場氣象所發出低空風切變及湍流警報。天文台利用「雙激光雷達系統」﹝南北跑道各有一台激光雷達﹞、一台機場多普勒天氣雷達、超過20個風速表及兩座氣流剖析儀來探測風切變及湍流及發出警報。

北跑道激光雷達

圖五  北跑道激光雷達

 

位於大灠涌的機場多普勒天氣雷達
圖六  位於大灠涌的機場多普勒天氣雷達


  由微下擊暴流引發的風切變示意圖
圖七  由微下擊暴流引發的風切變示意圖

 

機場氣象所發出在跑道進口3海浬內的機場升降區的低空風切變及湍流警報,由航空交通管制員轉送至正在升降的航機。

服務傳送:

一套氣象數據處理系統收集、處理及發送航空氣象資料,以支援機場氣象所的運作。該系統直接聯通民航處的系統,以便和世界各地機場交換業務氣象資料並將氣象資料顯示在航空交通服務單位。該系統也包括一在線資料服務,航空公司可透過此服務提取包括由倫敦及華盛頓世界航空區域預報中心發放的航路上重要天氣及風/溫度資料的預報圖、起飛、目的地及備降機場天氣預報的飛行氣象文件。此外,航空公司亦可提取最新的氣象資料包括天氣雷達圖像、衛星雲圖、機場天氣警報及熱帶氣旋資料等。如有需要,航空預報員可以透過電話或視像會議系統向飛行人員作天氣簡報。

重要天氣圖樣本 
圖八 重要天氣圖樣本

最新發展:

香港天文台會不斷利用最新科技以求達到有效率的服務傳送,繼續改善各種警報服務包括風切變警報以求進一步增加準確度及減低誤報。隨著國際趨勢,天文台正計劃發展有關技術以實時下載由飛機獲得的天氣資料及上傳駕駛艙所需的天氣資料。

如需更詳盡資料,請參看 航空氣象服務 之網頁

最近修訂日期: <2014年3月4日>