Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Introduction


The Hong Kong Observatory (HKO) organizes training to ensure that quality services are provided to users including the public, shipping and aviation sectors.  The training covers a wide range of topics including weather forecasting, climatology, seismology, physical oceanography and radiation monitoring and assessment.

Through the years, the scope of HKO's training programmes has been expanded considerably, from internal training initially to seminars for the public, courses for government departments and training workshops for overseas meteorological personnel.

Fig.1
Participants of "Workshop on Climate Change and Prediction in Pearl River Delta Region", 2008


  Back to content


Training for HKO staff


The mainstay staff training in HKO is in two areas: weather forecasting and weather observation.  Training courses are designed with reference to the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) Guidelines for the Education and Training of Personnel in Meteorology and Operational Hydrology.  Emphasis is also placed on on-the-job learning.

Fig.2
New recruits visiting the Airport Meteorological Office to learn the services and operations there
 
(1)    Training on Weather Forecasting - prepares meteorological personnel to take up operational forecasting duties at the Observatory's Hong Kong Meteorological Centre and Airport Meteorological Office.  

(2)    Training on Weather Observation - provides meteorological personnel with background on weather basics and gives guidance on weather observation and other weather operations.  

Fig.3
Invited expert giving a management lecture at the Observatory


  Back to content

Continuous development of staff


From time to time, Observatory staff are given opportunities to broaden their professional knowledge through local or overseas training or workshops on advanced topics.  In-house seminars and talks on relevant topics, as well as drills and exercises on operational procedures, are organized regularly.  Self-learning electronic packages designed in-house are available on HKO's intranet to enable staff to consolidate their professional knowledge at their own pace.

To promote life-long learning, a CPD (continuing professional development) Scheme has been implemented.  Under the scheme, individual staff is able to conscientiously plan and carry out his/her own training activities.

Fig.4
Management training - a team building workshop

The Observatory also promotes the well-being of staff to help them cope with their work and manage stress. This involves talks by professionals, activity groups, and publication of a booklet "How to face up to stress" (in Chinese). The aim is to help staff maintain a work-life balance and serve from the heart.


  Back to content


Training for overseas meteorological personnel


The Observatory conducts various training courses regularly and arranges attachments for overseas meteorological personnel. The courses cover a wide range of topics, ranging from design of automatic weather stations, application and operation of weather radar, to provision of aviation weather service and use and interpretation of numerical weather prediction products.

Fig.5
Overseas participants in a WMO course held at HKO


  Back to content


Outreach and educational resources for the public


As a continuing effort to promote meteorological education and disaster preparedness, the Observatory regularly organizes courses and roadshows for members of the public, schools and special users.  Topics include cloud observation, weather measurements, climate change and use of the Observatory's various weather products. Observatory speakers are also dispatched to schools to talk on subjects such as climate change and disaster preparedness.  

Fig.6
Members of the public taking part in the "Weather and Everyday Life" seminar

To popularize science and educate the public about the various natural phenomena, the Observatory develops educational materials on meteorology, radiation and geophysics on its "Educational Resources" webpage (http://www.weather.gov.hk/education/edue.htm) and disseminates them in the form of a quarterly "e-bulletin" to students, teachers and interested readers.  It also introduces to the public new scientific and technological development including the latest products and services from the Observatory.


  Back to content

Last revision date: <27 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
red dot
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

引言


香港天文台為員工安排培訓以保證他們能為公眾、航運界和航空界等用戶提供優質服務。培訓項目範圍廣泛,包括天氣預報、氣候、地震、海洋物理、輻射監測和評估。  

多年來,香港天文台的培訓工作範圍不斷擴展,由初期的內部培訓擴至現時的公開講座、政府部門人員培訓課程和海外氣象人員專題工作坊等。

Fig.1
2008年「珠三角氣候變化及氣候預報工作坊」的參加者


  回到目錄


天文台職員的培訓


香港天文台人員的培訓集中兩個重點︰天氣預報和天氣觀察。培訓課程參照世界氣象組織 (WMO) 氣象和水文業務人員的教育和訓練指引而設計,並著重在職學習,從工作中吸取知識。

Fig.2
新入職的氣象人員參觀機場氣象所了解其服務和運作

(1) 天氣預報訓練 — 培訓為氣象人員從事天文台香港氣象中心和機場氣象預報工作做好準備。

(2) 天氣觀察訓練 — 培訓氣象人員的基礎氣象知識,並且為進行天氣觀察及其他天氣業務給予指導。

Fig.3
專家受邀在天文台講授管理知識


  回到目錄

職員的持續專業發展


天文台人員不時有機會在本地或海外接受專題培訓或參加先進項目的工作坊以擴展他們的專業知識。天文台經常舉辦內部研討會和講座,及安排工作程序的操練和演習。天文台的內聯網有自行設計的自學課程套件,讓工作人員按照自己的進度鞏固專業技能。

為了發揚終生學習精神,天文台實施「持續專業發展計劃」,讓同事們自行計劃和實行培訓活動。

Fig.4
培訓管理 — 創立團隊工作坊

同時,天文台努力促進職員的身心健康以幫助他們面對工作和處理壓力。通過舉辦由專業人士主持的講座、群體活動和出版中文小冊子「面對壓力」等,幫助職員維持工作及生活平衡和健康心態,衷心為市民服務。


  回到目錄


海外氣象人員培訓


天文台為海外氣象人員定期舉辦各種訓練課程和安排交流計劃。課程項目範圍廣泛,包括「自動氣象站設計」、「天氣雷達的應用和操作」、「航空氣象服務」及「數值天氣預報產品的運用和詮釋」等。  

Fig.5
海外氣象人員參加
天文台舉辦的世界氣象組織課程


  回到目錄


公共外展工作和教育資源


天文台為促進氣象教育和防災意識而努力不懈,定期為市民、學校和特定用戶舉辦課程和路演。主題包括雲觀察,天氣測量,氣候變化和天文台各種天氣產品的使用。此外,亦派遣天文台職員到學校講授如「氣候變化」和「災難預防」等專題講座。  
 
Fig.6
市民參加「天氣與生活」講座

為了推廣普及科學和教育公眾有關各種自然現象,天文台「教育資源」網頁 (http://www.weather.gov.hk/education/educ.htm) 上載許多有關氣象、輻射和地球物理學上的教材,每季以電子刊物形式傳送給學生、教師和感興趣的讀者。電子季報也介紹近期科技發展,包括天文台的最新產品和服務。


  回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2012年12月27日>