Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Radiation Monitoring and Assessment in Hong Kong

Introduction:

The Hong Kong Observatory (HKO) started measuring radioactivity in 1961 to monitor radioactivity in air which might affect the health of the local population and to determine, as part of an international network, the global atmospheric transport of radioactive dust and other contaminated substances.

Environmental Radiation Monitoring:

In connection with implementation of the Guangdong Nuclear Power Station (GNPS) at Daya Bay, HKO expanded its monitoring activities in the late 1980's to a full-scale Environmental Radiation Monitoring Programme (ERMP). ERMP covers all possible pathways which may expose the population of Hong Kong to increased radiation, namely (a) direct radiation from radioactive materials released into air, (b) direct radiation from radioactive materials deposited on ground surface, (c) inhalation of radioactive materials in air, and (d) ingestion of contaminated food and water. ERMP enables the monitoring of any changes in radiation levels in Hong Kong including those arising from the operation of the GNPS since 1994 as well as its neighbouring Lingao Nuclear Power Station (LNPS), operational since 2002.

Locations of monitoring stations
Figure 1. Locations of the 12 fixed monitoring stations of the Radiation Monitoring Network in Hong Kong

For direct radiation in the air and from the ground, real-time measurements are undertaken by 12 fixed stations of the Radiation Monitoring Network (Figure 1) which send data back to HKO every minute. Each station is also equipped with various instruments for routine and emergency radiation monitoring. To enable early response, HKO has established an Automatic Gamma Spectrometry System at Ping Chau, the station closest to Daya Bay, to collect air samples and conduct radiation measurements on site. The results are also transmitted to HKO automatically.

Collecting airborne particulate sample
Figure 2. Collecting airborne particulate sample by HKO staff

Regarding the monitoring of food and environmental samples, HKO, with the assistance of other government departments, routinely collects representative air, water, soil and food samples (Figure 2) and analyzes them at HKO's Radiation Laboratory at King's Park (Figure 3).

Radiation Laboratory at King's Park
Figure 3. HKO's Radiation Laboratory at King's Park

ERMP monitoring results over the years show that there is no measurable increase in radiation levels in Hong Kong arising from the operation of GNPS and LNPS.

Emergency monitoring and assessment:

In the unlikely event of a nuclear accident at Daya Bay, HKO will step up monitoring of radiation levels in Hong Kong (Figure 4).

In addition to the Radiation Monitoring Network, aerial and mobile ground surveys will be conducted to determine whether Hong Kong is being affected by radioactive substance, and if so, the extent of its spread and whether any parts of the territory have been contaminated.

Aerial surveys are conducted using special radiation equipment on board a Government Flying Service helicopter while mobile ground surveys are carried out using a mobile survey vehicle with measuring equipment on board. All survey data are transmitted back to HKO in real-time. At the same time, additional environmental samples are collected at various sites. The radioactivity in the collected samples is then analyzed at the Radiation Laboratory at King's Park.

In consequence assessment, HKO uses a computer model to simulate the movement and behaviour of the released radioactive materials based on available radiological and weather information. With reference to the assessment results, HKO, in collaboration with the Department of Health and the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department, will then advise the Government on possible radiological impact to the public and the appropriate countermeasures that may be required.

Emergency Preparedness:

To ensure prompt response during an emergency, HKO conducts drills and exercises regularly. Improvement areas identified are implemented. Equipment and communication channels are also regularly tested to ensure they are in a ready state.

Measurement results and Publications :

Hourly readings of radiation levels measured by the Radiation Monitoring Network are available real-time at HKO web site. A summary of these radiation levels is also published monthly while overall measurement results of the ERMP are published annually. All these reports as well as various studies by HKO related to radiation monitoring and assessment can be found in the Observatory web site at http://www.weather.gov.hk/publica/pubrm.htm.

Emergency monitoring and assessment of radiation levels
Figure 4. Emergency monitoring and assessment of radiation levels in Hong Kong

 

For more information, please visit the Radiation Monitoring, Assessment and Protection web page.

 

Last revision date: <06 Jun 2013>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

香港輻射監測與評估

引言 :

香港天文台於1961年開始監測大氣中可能影響市民健康的放射性物質,並作為國際測量網的一部分,測定大氣中放射性塵埃及其他污染物的全球遷移情況。

環境輻射監測 :

一九八零年代後期天文台因應在大亞灣興建廣東核電站,將原有的輻射監測工作,擴展為一項全面性的環境輻射監測計劃。該計劃的監測範圍包括所有可能影響香港市民的照射途徑,即(一)排放於空氣中的放射性物質的直接照射;(二)沉積在地面上的放射性物質的直接照射;(三)吸入空氣中的放射性物質及(四)攝入受輻射污染的食物及食水。這計劃能有效地監測香港環境輻射水平的變化,包括分別於1994年及2002年開始投產的廣東核電站及其鄰近的嶺澳核電站可能帶來的轉變。

輻射監測網絡
圖1. 香港境內輻射監測網絡的十二個固定監測站位置

天文台設立了一個由十二個固定監測站組成的輻射監測網絡(圖 1),實時測量空氣及土壤中放射性物質的直接照射,並把測量結果每分鐘傳回天文台總部。此外,每個監測站亦設有各種儀器,作日常輻射監測和應急輻射監測之用。為了在發生事故時能快速應變,天文台在香港最接近大亞灣的平洲設立了一套自動伽馬譜法系統,自動收集空氣樣本並作實時實地的輻射測量。測量結果亦會自動傳送回天文台。

收集空氣樣本
圖 2. 天文台員工收集大氣飄塵樣本

至於監測食物及環境樣本方面,天文台在其他政府部門的協助下,定期收集空氣、水、泥土和食物中代表性的樣本(圖 2),並在位於京士柏的輻射實驗室進行分析工作(圖 3)。

輻射測量室
圖 3. 天文台位於京士柏的輻射實驗室

根據過往多年環境輻射監測計劃的測量結果,廣東核電站及嶺澳核電站的運作並沒有為香港輻射水平帶來可測量到的增加。

應急監測及評估 :

雖然機會極微,但萬一大亞灣發生核事故,天文台便會加強輻射監測的工作(圖 4)。

除了使用輻射監測網絡外,天文台更會在境內進行空中及地面輻射巡測,以確定本港是否受放射性物質影響,並進一步偵測其污染程度及分佈情況。

天文台使用一套安裝在政府飛行服務隊直升機上的專門輻射測量儀器進行空中巡測。此外,天文台會利用一輛裝上測量儀器的輻射巡測車進行地面巡測。所有的測量數據會實時傳送回天文台總部。同時,天文台亦會在不同地點收集環境樣本,並將樣本送到京士柏的輻射實驗室進行放射性分析。

在核事故後果評估方面,天文台應用一套電腦模式,根據現有的輻射及氣象數據,模擬放射性物質的移動及擴散情況。天文台會參考評估結果,並聯同衞生署和機電工程署,就事故對市民的可能影響,向特區政府建議適當的應對措施。

事故應對策劃:

為確保應急措施在發生核事故時能有效運作,天文台會定期進行演練,並將有關措施加以改良。而儀器及通訊設施方面也會作定期的測試,以保證運作正常。

測量結果及刊物 :

輻射監測網絡所錄得的每小時平均數據會實時在天文台網站發放,而數據摘要亦會以月報形式發表。至於環境輻射監測計劃的測量結果,則以年報形式發表。以上的報告和天文台在輻射監測及評估方面的研究成果可在天文台的網頁上瀏覽,網址是 http://www.weather.gov.hk/publica/pubrmc.htm

輻射應急監測及評估
圖 4. 香港的輻射應急監測及評估

 

如需更詳盡之資料,請參看輻射監測、評價及防護之網頁

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年3月25日>