Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Radiation Tidbits -
Non-ionizing radiation - an invisible partner in weather observation

Written by: Yeung Siu-wai

Non-ionizing radiation (NIR) consists of electromagnetic waves which do not have enough energy to remove electrons from atoms when they interact with matters. Examples of NIR are ultraviolet radiation, visible light, infrared radiation, microwave and radio wave. There are many applications of NIR in daily life, such as wireless communication mentioned in a previous article of this series. In this episode, we will discuss how NIR is used in weather monitoring by the Observatoy.


  1. Radar
  2. LIDAR
  3. Meteorological satellite
  4. Upper-air weather measurement


(1)     Radar - Radar is an acronym for RAdio Detection And Ranging. The Observatory uses weather radar to detect the location and intensity of rain. Radar emits microwave pulses which penetrate clouds but are reflected by rain droplets. The location and intensity of the rain can thus be determined based on the strength and travel time of the reflected pulses.

Weather radar at Tai Mo Shan
Weather radar at Tai Mo Shan

TopBack to Top

(2)     LIDAR - LIght Detection And Ranging (LIDAR) systems are employed by the Observatory in detecting windshear near the Hong Kong International Airport. Unlike conventional weather radar which uses microwave, a LIDAR emits infrared radiation to detect the movement of dust particles or aerosols (suspended particulates) in the air. LIDAR operates best under rain-free conditions and reveals weather phenomena invisible to the human eye such as windshear and turbulence.

LIDAR at the Hong Kong International Airport
LIDAR at the Hong Kong International Airport

TopBack to Top

(3)     Meteorological satellite - Meteorological satellites carry onboard sensors which detect different kinds of radiation emitted from the earth. Cloud images are available day and night through sensing the infrared radiation emitted from the cloud tops. High and low clouds can be differentiated because the energy spectrum of the infrared radiation emitted by the cloud top is related to its temperature, which is cooler for high cloud and warmer for low cloud. The identification of high clouds is especially useful in locating highly convective weather systems such as tropical cyclones.

Satellite infrared imagery of Typhoon Hagupit taken on 23 September 2008
Satellite infrared imagery of Typhoon Hagupit taken on 23 September 2008
[The imagery was originally captured by Multi-functional Transport Satellite-1R (MTSAT-1R) of Japan Meteorological Agency (JMA)]

TopBack to Top

(4)     Upper-air weather measurement - The Observatory conducts upper-air weather measurements at the King's Park Meteorological Station twice a day. In an upper-air sounding, a helium-filled balloon carries a radiosonde and a global positioning system (GPS) receiver up through the sky. Equipped with pressure, temperature and humidity sensors, the radiosonde sends back all measured data to the ground station using radio wave for communication. The GPS receiver detects microwave signals from GPS satellites to track the ascent path, information of which can be used to deduce the wind direction and wind speed at different altitudes.

Both the radiosonde and GPS receiver make use of NIR when probing 
the upper atmosphere
Both the radiosonde and GPS receiver make use of NIR when probing the upper atmosphere

TopBack to Top

 

 


Next Page
Last revision date: <20 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

輻射小知識 -
非電離輻射–看不見的天氣觀測伙伴

撰文 : 楊少蕙

非電離輻射是一種電磁波,當它與物質接觸時,其能量不足以將電子從物質的原子移走。非電離輻射的例子有紫外線、可見光、紅外線、微波和無線電波,在日常生活的應用很廣泛,如本系列其中一篇 文章提到的無線通訊。今期我們會討論非電離輻射在天文台天氣觀測上的應用。


  1. 雷達
  2. 激光雷達
  3. 氣象衛星
  4. 高空天氣觀測


(1)     雷達 – 雷達一詞是英文 RAdio Detection And Ranging 縮寫 RADAR 的中文音譯,表示以無線電波作探測及定距。天文台利用天氣雷達探測降雨的位置和強度,雷達發出的微波脈沖能穿透雲層,但會被雨點反射。雷達根據反射回來的脈沖強度和移動時間,便能計算雨點的位置和強度。

位於大帽山的天氣雷達
位於大帽山的天氣雷達

回到頁首回到頁首

(2)     激光雷達 – 天文台利用激光雷達來探測香港國際機場附近的風切變。有別於傳統的天氣雷達,激光雷達並非使用微波,而是射出紅外線輻射來探測空氣中塵粒或氣溶膠(懸浮粒子)的移動情況。激光雷達在無雨的情況下最能發揮作用,即使肉眼看不到的天氣現象,例如風切變及湍流也無所遁形。

在香港國際機場的激光雷達
在香港國際機場的激光雷達

回到頁首回到頁首

(3)     氣象衛星 – 氣象衛星攜帶的感應器能探測來自地球的不同輻射。氣象衛星感應從雲頂發出的紅外線輻射能不分晝夜製作雲圖。雲頂發出的紅外線輻射能量譜與雲頂的溫度有關,由於高雲較冷、低雲較暖,因此能夠區分高雲和低雲。辨認高雲對於確定強烈對流天氣系統,例如熱帶氣旋的位置,尤其有用。

在2008年9月23日拍攝的颱風黑格比紅外線衛星圖片
在2008年9月23日拍攝的颱風黑格比紅外線衛星圖片
[圖像接收自日本氣象廳的多用途輸送衛星-1R (MTSAT-1R)]

回到頁首回到頁首

(4)     高空天氣觀測 – 天文台每日兩次在京士柏氣象站進行高空天氣觀測。在探測過程中,氦氣球攜帶著無線電探空儀和全球定位系統 (Global Positioning System, GPS) 接收器升空。無線電探空儀配備有氣壓、溫度和濕度感應器,利用無線電波把所有測量數據傳回地面的接收站。GPS 接收器則接收 GPS 衛星的微波訊號,從而追蹤到氣球上升的路徑,利用這些資料可推算不同高度的風向和風速。

無線電探空儀和GPS接收器利用非電離輻射在大氣高層進行探測
無線電探空儀和GPS接收器利用非電離輻射在大氣高層進行探測

回到頁首回到頁首


 

 

 


下一頁
最近修訂日期: <2014年2月11日>