Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Radiation Tidbits - What is Caesium-137?

Written by: Wong Chi-wai

In early 2008, the reported loss of a Caseium-137 radiation source from a local hospital aroused the public's interest in radioactivity. This article shares with you more information about Caseium-137.



  1. What is Caesium-137?
  2. How is Caesium-137 used in hospital?
  3. Is Caesium-137 used in the Hong Kong Observatory?
  4. What is the effect of Caesium-137 on health?
  5. How to protect ourselves from exposure to Caesium-137?
  6. What are the other applications of Caesium-137?


  1. What is Caesium-137?

    Caesium (chemical symbol Cs) is a soft silvery-gold metal. Naturally occurring Cs-133 is a stable isotope, while other Cs isotopes are radioactive. Cs-137 is one of the by-products of nuclear fission process in nuclear bombs, nuclear weapon testing, and nuclear reactor operations. It emits gamma rays and because of its relatively long half-life of 30 years, Cs-137 causes long lasting effect to human body through intake of food or air contaminated by it or exposure to Cs deposited on the ground.

    TopBack to Top

     

  2. How is Caesium-137 used in hospital?

    Cs-137 is a commonly-used gamma source. Radiation sources are used in the calibration of medical radiotherapy devices for treating cancer. They are also used to calibrate radiation detection instruments for monitoring the radiation received by patients and radiation personnel. Regular calibration of these devices and instruments is required to ensure their accuracy.

    TopBack to Top

     

  3. Is Caesium-137 used in the Hong Kong Observatory?

    The Observatory uses Cs-137 for calibrating equipment used for environmental radiation monitoring. The radiation level of the Cs-137 calibration sources used by the Observatory is not high. They are either sealed or in epoxy matrix and their usage is under regulatory control. The Observatory personnel wear radiation badges to ensure the radiation they received is within safety limits.

    TopBack to Top

     

  4. What is the effect of Caesium-137 on health?

    The health effect of radiation depends on its intensity, exposure time and the kind of body cells being affected. In case the Cs-137 involved is a very strong radioactive source, it may acute radiation sickness e.g. nausea, fatigue, vomiting and loss of hair, or even death if the radiation dose arising from direct exposure to it reaches about 1 sievert. Handling of such strong sources requires professional or properly trained personnel. The Cs-137 calibration sources used by the Observatory are not strong sources. Intake of Cs-137 to the body results in the radioactive material being accumulated in the muscle tissue, and may increase the risk of cancer.

    TopBack to Top

     

  5. How to protect ourselves from exposure to Caesium-137?

    Radiation is present everywhere, a majority of which is naturally occurring. Protection from radiation can be done in three simple ways: distance, time and shielding. That is, stay as far away from a radiation source as possible, minimize the time spent with it, and use adequate shielding. In respect of shielding, lead is commonly used, e.g. lead shields and lead-lined clothing. If you visit a place involving the use of radiation, follow the recommended safety procedures and do not go into unauthorized areas.

    TopBack to Top

     

  6. What are the other applications of Caesium-137?

    Cs-137 is used to treat food, killing germs and microorganisms and thus lengthening the shelf-life. The process has the effect of suppressing sprouting and delaying ripening. The food after treatment by radiation contains no radioactivity or residual poisonous material. Cs-137 is also used in monitoring the weight, thickness and density of industrial products as well as spotting out cracks in welding and pipes.

    TopBack to Top

     



Reference

 

 


Previous Page
Next Page
Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

輻射小知識 - 甚麼是銫137?

撰文 : 黃智偉

本港一所醫院在2008年初發生了一宗遺失銫137輻射源的事件,引起公眾對放射性物品的關注。本文會向大家介紹銫137的一些資料。



  1. 甚麼是銫137?
  2. 銫137如何應用在醫院?
  3. 天文台有否使用銫137?
  4. 銫137對人類健康有什麼影響?
  5. 如何保護自己避免受到銫137的照射?
  6. 銫137有甚麼其他用途 ?


  1. 甚麼是銫137?

    銫(Cs)是一種呈銀色的軟金屬。它的同位素中,天然存在的銫133是一種穩定同位素,而其他銫同位素則屬於放射性。銫137是核彈、核武器試驗和核反應堆內核裂變的副產品之一,它會釋放伽瑪射線。因為銫137的半衰期較長,達30年,如果透過進食或呼吸,攝入了銫137,或受到沉降在地面上的銫137所照射,都會對身體有較持久的影響。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  2. 銫137如何應用在醫院?

    銫137是一種常用的伽馬輻射源。輻射源是用於校對醫治癌症的放射治療設備,也可以用於校對用來監測放射治療人員及病人所接受的輻射水平的輻射監測儀器。這些醫療設備和儀器需要定期校對,以確保它們的準確性。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  3. 天文台有否使用銫137?

    天文台使用銫137來校對環境輻射監測的儀器,所選用的銫137校對源,輻射水平不高,有密封式和軟膠兩種類型,並受管制使用。天文台的輻射工作人員會戴上輻射記錄佩章,以確保他們所收到的輻射是在安全範圍以內。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  4. 銫137對人類健康有什麼影響?

    銫137對人體的影響取決於其輻射強度,暴露時間和受影響的人體細胞種類等。如果涉及的銫137是一個非常高輻射的放射源,可能會引起急性放射病症例如:噁心,疲倦,嘔吐及毛髮脫落等,如果受到約1希沃特輻射劑量的直接照射,甚至可以引致死亡。處理如此高輻射的放射源需要專業或受過適當訓練的人員。天文台所用的銫137刻度源並不是強的輻射源。銫137進入人體會積聚在肌肉組織中,並有可能增加患癌症的風險。

    回到頁首回到頁首

  5. 如何保護自己避免受到銫137的照射?

    輻射無處不在,大部分都是天然存在的。有三個簡單方法可以減少受輻射影響:距離,時間和屏蔽。我們應盡量遠離輻射源、盡量減短接觸輻射源的時間和有足夠的屏蔽。我們通常用鉛來作屏蔽,例如鉛板或夾有鉛的衣服。如果你要進入一個使用輻射的地方,必須遵照安全程序,並不要進入未經許可的地區。

    回到頁首回到頁首

  6. 銫137有甚麼其他用途 ?

    銫137可以用來殺死食物內的細菌和微生物,從而增加食物儲存的時間,這方法有抑制發霉和保持新鮮的效果,經輻射處理的食物不會帶放射性或殘留有毒物質。銫137也用於監測工業產品的重量、厚度和密度,以及探測焊接點和金屬管道的裂縫。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     




參考文獻

 

 

 


上一頁
下一頁
最近修訂日期: <2014年2月11日>