Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Radiation Tidbits -
Wireless networking communication products - how safe are they?

Written by: Yeung Siu-wai

As technology progresses and data demand over the wireless network increases, there are more and more communication products making use of electromagnetic waves to transmit data. While we are enjoying the convenience brought by these products, we are also facing the issue of how to use them safely.



  1. What kind of radiation will the wireless networking communication products bring to us?
  2. What are non-ionizing radiation and ionizing radiation?
  3. What are the sources of non-ionizing radiation?
  4. What potential impact on health does non-ionizing radiation bring?
  5. Is it safe to use a mobile telephone?
  6. What is the radiation level of Wi-Fi network?
  7. Does the radio frequency identification system (RFID) have any health effect on us?


  1. What kind of radiation will the wireless networking communication products bring to us?

    Wireless networking communication products, for example, mobile telephone and wireless Internet facilities, utilize electromagnetic waves as the transmission media. Therefore, they emit electromagnetic radiation during operation. In general, electromagnetic radiation can be classified as ionizing radiation and non-ionizing radiation. The electromagnetic radiation sent out by the wireless networking communication products belongs to non-ionizing radiation.

    TopBack to Top

     

  2. What are non-ionizing radiation and ionizing radiation?

    Non-ionizing radiation generally refers to electromagnetic waves of low energy. Common examples are ultraviolet, visible light, infrared, microwave and radiowave. The low energy of non-ionizing radiation only manages to cause molecules to vibrate and induce heating effect. Contrary to non-ionizing radiation, ionizing radiation refers to electromagnetic wave of stronger energy such as X-ray and gamma ray. Its energy is high enough to ionize an atom or molecule through atomic interactions. More information on ionizing radiation can be found in the previous 'Radiation Tidbits' in the Educational Resources.

    TopBack to Top

     

  3. What are the sources of non-ionizing radiation?

    Non-ionizing radiation can be classified as natural or man-made according to their sources. Natural non-ionizing radiation comes from phenomena of the nature such as lightning and solar heating. Man-made non-ionizing radiation mainly comes from our daily use of equipment which emits electromagnetic wave. Examples are television transmitter station, radar system, high-voltage electricity transformer station, microwave oven, computer monitor and mobile telephone etc.

    TopBack to Top

     

  4. What potential impact on health does non-ionizing radiation bring?

    The energy of non-ionizing radiation causes water molecules in the human body to rub against each other. This leads to an increase in body temperature and thus may bring damage to internal organs. The non-ionizing radiation may also perturb the human body's own weak electromagnetic field, causing stimulation of nerves and muscles. We are constantly exposed to various forms of non-ionizing radiation, which are emitted from natural and man made sources. At present, the Office of the Telecommunications Authority (OFTA) of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region has their code of practice to protect workers and the public against hazards from non-ionizing radiation. It was developed with reference to the standards set by the International Commission on Non-Ionising Radiation Protection (ICNIRP).

    Warning sign of radiofrequency radiation
    Warning sign of radiofrequency radiation is used to mark an area where the electromagnetic fields may exceed the limits recommended by the ICNIRP
    (Source of reference: OFTA)

    TopBack to Top

     

  5. Is it safe to use a mobile telephone?

    When people use mobile telephone, the phone will send out radio waves to the transmitter station. Generally speaking, there is less radiation when the mobile phone is in standby mode. The radiation level will be higher while conversing and will be greatest when the phone call is just put through. Because of its low power of transmission, a mobile phone generates only a small amount of radiation. Many studies have concluded that there is no evidence that mobile phones bring hazards to health when used under normal operation conditions.

    Mobile telephone is very popular nowadays

    With its multiple applications, mobile telephone is very popular nowadays

    TopBack to Top

     

  6. What is the radiation level of Wi-Fi network?

    Wi-Fi, the abbreviation of Wireless Fidelity, is a standard of wireless networking communication for supporting Internet service within a short range, usually about a hundred metres. Wi-Fi facilities send out non-ionizing radiation, but according to research, the intensity of radiation is less than 1% of that from common mobile telephone. Its effect to body tissue is very low and tends to be negligible. Currently, there are many commercial entertainment places in Hong Kong providing Wi-Fi facilities for customers connecting to the Internet with their personal digital assistant or portable computer. The Hong Kong Government also plans to offer free Wi-Fi facilities in about 350 government places progressively in the next two years.

    TopBack to Top

     

  7. Does the radio frequency identification system (RFID) have any health effect on us?

    The wireless radio frequency identification technology, known as RFID or the electronic label, is a kind of non-contact automatic identification technology. An RFID system consists of a transceiver with antenna, which emits and receives radio signal to and from a tag, and transfers the information to the data processor. The technology can be applied to tracking goods, obtaining real-time statistics of merchandizing goods and guarding against shop theft etc. With its multiple applications, RFID is gaining popularity in Hong Kong. For example, the Hong Kong Airport Authority (AA) adopts the RFID system for tagging and tracking passengers' baggage and many local public transport systems and retailers use smart card in payment system. According to studies, the intensity of radiation emitted by the RFID system is well below the ICNIRP guideline reference level, and the health effect if any is expected to be very low.

    RFID facility used in the pay system

    A form of RFID facility has come into widspread use for the payment of the public transport of Hong Kong

    TopBack to Top

     



References

 

 


Previous Page
Next Page
Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

輻射小知識 -
無線網絡通訊產品有多安全?

撰文 : 楊少蕙

隨著科技發展及使用無線網絡傳遞資訊的需求不斷增加,越來越多通訊產品依賴電磁波傳送數據。當我們享受這些產品帶來的方便時,我們亦要面對使用它們的安全問題。



  1. 無線網絡通訊產品會帶來甚麼輻射?
  2. 甚麼是非電離輻射和電離輻射?
  3. 非電離輻射有哪些來源?
  4. 非電離輻射對健康有什麼潛在的影響?
  5. 使用流動電話是安全的嗎?
  6. Wi-Fi網絡的輻射水平有多少?
  7. 無線射頻識別 (RFID) 系統對我們的健康有影響嗎?


  1. 無線網絡通訊產品會帶來甚麼輻射?

    無線網絡通訊產品,例如流動電話和無線上網設備,都是利用電磁波作為傳送媒介,所以它們在操作時會放出電磁輻射。一般電磁輻射可分為電離輻射和非電離輻射,而無線網絡通訊產品所放出的電磁輻射是屬於非電離輻射。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  2. 甚麼是非電離輻射和電離輻射?

    非電離輻射一般是指低能量的電磁波。常見的例子有紫外線、可見光、紅外線、微波及無線電波等。非電離輻射的低能量祇能夠引起分子振動和產生加熱效應。 電離輻射則與非電離輻射相反,它是帶有高能量的電磁波,例子有X光和伽瑪射線等,它有足夠高的能量與原子產生互相作用,令原子或分子中的電子游離。有關電離輻射更多的資料,可瀏覽在教育資源內的「輻射小知識」一欄。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  3. 非電離輻射有哪些來源?

    非電離輻射可以根據其來源分為天然和人為兩種。天然的非電離輻射源於自然現象例如閃電和太陽熱輻射等。人為的非電離輻射主要來自日常使用的一些會釋放電磁波的儀器,例子包括電視台發射站、雷達系統、高壓變電站、微波爐、電腦和流動電話等。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  4. 非電離輻射對健康有什麼潛在的影響?

    非電離輻射的能量使人體裡的水分子相互磨擦,令體溫增加,可能給體內器官帶來損害。非電離輻射也可能干擾人體本身的弱電磁場,刺激神經和肌肉。我們經常暴露於各式各樣天然和人為的非電離輻射,為此,香港特別行政區電訊管理局(OFTA)現時有一套業務守則,以減低工作人員和公眾人士受非電離輻射照射的危險,這守則是參考國際非電離輻射防護委員會 (ICNIRP) 而訂立的。

    射頻輻射警告標誌
    射頻輻射警告標誌是用來標明一個地方的電磁場
    可能超過國際非電離輻射防護委員會建議的限制
    (參考資料來源:電訊管理局)

    回到頁首回到頁首

  5. 使用流動電話是安全的嗎?

    當人們使用流動電話時,電話會向發射站傳送無線電波。一般來說,流動電話在待機時的輻射強度較小,在通話時會加大一些,並且在電話剛接通時達到最高。因為流動電話輸出的功率低,所以祇會產生微弱的輻射。很多研究指出,沒有證據可以證明流動電話在正常使用情況下對健康有害。

    流動電話用途廣泛,頗受大眾歡迎

    流動電話用途廣泛,頗受大眾歡迎

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  6. Wi-Fi網絡的輻射水平有多少?

    Wi-Fi,即 Wireless Fidelity 的縮寫,是一個無線網絡通訊的標準,用來支援短範圍(一般大約100米)內的互聯網服務。雖然Wi-Fi設施會釋放非電離輻射,但有研究結果顯示,其輻射強度祇及一般流動電話不足百分之一,對人體組織的影響很低,可謂微不足道。現時全港有很多私營消遣場所為顧客提供Wi-Fi設施,讓他們可以使用電子手帳和手提電腦無線上網。香港政府亦計劃未來兩年逐步在大約350個政府場地免費提供Wi-Fi無線上網設施。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  7. 無線射頻識別 (RFID) 系統對我們的健康有影響嗎?

    無線射頻識別技術,又稱作RFID或電子標籤,是一種非接觸式自動識別技術。一個RFID系統具備無線電收發機及天線,能夠向標籤發出無線電訊號,並收回來自標籤的訊息,再將訊息轉送到數據處理器。這種技術可應用於跟蹤貨物、統計商品銷售資料與防止店舖盜竊等。由於RFID的應用多元化,它在香港受歡迎程度逐漸增加,例如香港機場管理局使用RFID系統來標籤及追蹤旅客的行李,而多間本地公共運輸系統和零售商的電子收費系統都採用智能卡。根據研究,RFID系統發出的輻射強度遠遠低於國際非電離輻射防護委員會指引的參考水平,有可能帶出的健康影響也是很少。

    在香港公共運輸廣泛使用的一款RFID付款工具

    在香港公共運輸廣泛使用的一款RFID付款工具

    回到頁首回到頁首

     




參考文獻

 

 

 


上一頁
下一頁
最近修訂日期: <2014年2月11日>