Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Radiation Tidbits -
Radioactive Polonium-210

Written by: Yeung Siu-wai

The recent death of a Russian ex-spy in Britain has been linked to the presence of a radioactive polonium-210 in his body. What is Polonium? How can it cause death?



  1. What is Polonium-210?
  2. Where can Polonium-210 be found?
  3. How is Polonium-210 applied in industrial processes?
  4. What is the influence of Polonium-210 to health?
  5. What is 'Radiation Poisoning'?
  6. How much of Polonium-210 will be lethal?


  1. What is Polonium-210?

    Polonium is a chemical element with the symbol Po and atomic number 84. It is a silvery white metal. Over 25 isotopes of Polonium are known, with atomic masses ranging from 192 to 218. Polonium-210, the predominant isotope of polonium, is radioactive and emits alpha particles on decay. It has a rather short half-life of 138 days.

    TopBack to Top

     

  2. Where can Polonium-210 be found?

    Polonium occurs naturally in very low concentrations in the earth crust. The element was discovered by Mr. and Mrs. Curie in 1898 and was later named after Mrs. Curie's homeland of Poland (Latin: Polonia). Polonium-210, a naturally occurring isotope of Polonium, is found in all environmental media, such as in soil, air and even in human body, at very small amounts. Polonium-210 is also present in the fine tobacco hairs, coming from the phosphorus fertilizer used in growing tobacco plant. Due to its scarcity, Polonium-210 for commercial use is produced artificially in a nuclear reactor.

    TopBack to Top

     

  3. How is Polonium-210 applied in industrial processes?

    Polonium-210 can be used to eliminate static electricity in machinery, remove dusts from photographic film and camera lens, and provide heat energy for thermoelectric power devices in space applications.

    TopBack to Top

     

  4. What is the influence of Polonium-210 to health?

    The alpha particles released from Polonium-210 have a very low penetrating power and can be stopped easily by the outer layer of skin or a sheet of paper. It is unlikely that the particles can affect human body through direct irradiation. However the ionization power of alpha particles is very high. If Polonium-210 is taken into our body by inhalation or ingestion, the released alpha particles can directly damage the internal organs in the body. Even a small amount of intake may impair our health. A high acute dose of alpha radiation may result in 'Radiation Poisoning'.

    TopBack to Top

     

  5. What is 'Radiation Poisoning'?

    'Radiation Poisoning' is a form of damage to organic tissue due to excessive exposure to ionizing radiation. The term is generally used to refer to acute problems caused by a large dosage of radiation in a short period. The ionization process often results in chemical changes in living tissue, and damages the function and metabolism of the cells which can lead to injury in the organism. The latent period varies for different types of biological effects of radiation. The acute effect can appear from several hours to a few days, but the long-term effect may not appear after a few years. Different organs have different sensitivity to different types of ionizing radiation. The pathological symptoms are different.

    TopBack to Top

     

  6. How much of Polonium-210 will be lethal?

    The lethal dose for acute radiation exposure is generally about 4 Siverts (Sv). One Becquecel (Bq) of Polonium-210 causes a radiation dose of 0.51 micro Sivert (Sv) if ingested, and 2.5 Sv if inhaled. Since Polonium-210 has an activity of 1.66 x 1014 Bq per gram, a fatal dose of 4 Sv can be caused by ingesting about 5 x 10 -8 gram or inhaling about 1 x 10 -8 gram of Polonium-210.

    TopBack to Top

     



References

 

 


Previous Page
Next Page
Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

輻射小知識 -
放射性釙210元素

撰文 : 楊少蕙

最近一名俄羅斯前特工在英國中毒身亡,該事件被指與在死者體內發現的放射性釙元素有關。究竟釙元素是什麼? 它怎樣引致死亡?



  1. 釙210是甚麼?
  2. 哪裡可以找到釙210?
  3. 釙210可以應用在哪些工業程序?
  4. 釙210對身體有甚麼影響?
  5. 甚麼是「輻射中毒」?
  6. 多少份量的釙210可以致命?


  1. 釙210是甚麼?

    釙(Polonium)是一種化學元素,它的符號是Po,原子序數為84,它是呈銀白色的金屬。現時已知道釙元素有25個同位素,它們的質量數由192至218,釙210是當中顯著的一個同位素,具放射性特徵,會釋出放射性阿爾法粒子。其半衰期很短,只有138天。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  2. 哪裡可以找到釙210?

    地殼內含有非常低濃度的釙元素。1898年居禮夫婦在處理鈾礦時發現釙元素,她為紀念自己祖國波蘭(拉丁文 : Polonia),把這種新元素定名為釙。釙210是釙元素的一個同位素,在所有自然環境中,例如泥土、大氣以至人體都可以找到極少量釙210。煙草上的茸毛含有微量釙210,主要是來自土壤和菸草使用的磷肥。由於來源缺乏,商業用的釙210是在核反應堆人工製造的。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  3. 釙210可以應用在哪些工業程序?

    釙210可消除機器所產生的靜電、去掉照片底片和攝影機鏡頭上的污塵及在太空工業上為恆溫發電機提供熱能。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  4. 釙210對身體有甚麼影響?

    釙210釋放的阿爾法粒子穿透能力很弱,人類的皮膚或一張紙已能隔阻它,粒子經照射影響人體的機會很微,不過由於它的電離能力很強,如果人類吸入或進食含有釙 210 的物質,其釋放的阿爾法粒子就能直接破壞內臟細胞,即使所吸收的份量不多,也會損害身體健康,急性高劑量阿爾法輻射可以引致「輻射中毒」。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  5. 甚麼是「輻射中毒」?

    「輻射中毒」即是生物身體暴露在輻射中而出現病徵。一般是指在一個短時期內吸收到大劑量輻射,引致生物組織產生化學變化,破壞細胞的功能及新陳代謝,傷害生物機能。輻射對生物的損傷有潛伏期,急性效應可以在幾小時到幾天內出現,而遠期效應可能在幾年以後才出現。而生物內不同器官對輻射亦有不同的敏感度,病變過程快慢不一。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     

  6. 多少份量的釙210可以致命?

    一般而言,在極短時間內吸收到大約4希沃特(Sv)輻射劑量,可以致命。在進食或吸入1貝可 (Bq) 放射性活度的釙210以後,可以分別吸收到0.51微希沃特 (μSv) 和2.5微希沃特(μSv)輻射劑量,而每克釙210有1.66 x 1014貝可的放射性活度,故此如果進食了大約5 x 10 -8克或吸入大約1 x 10 -8 克的釙210,就會吸收到4希沃特(Sv)輻射劑量,可能引致死亡。

    回到頁首回到頁首

     





參考文獻

 

 

 


上一頁
下一頁
最近修訂日期: <2014年2月11日>