Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version


Tropical Cyclone Activity in the Western North Pacific and the South China Sea

There is much variability from one year to another in where tropical cyclones form or dissipate over the western North Pacific and the South China Sea, as well as in which directions do they choose to move and with what speed. This is attributable to the stochasticity inherent in the atmosphere. However, long-term records do seem to show relatively 'quiet' and 'active' periods in tropical cyclone activity (see Figure below). This cyclical behaviour seems to be linked to inter-annual and inter-decadal oscillations in the atmosphere.

On the inter-annual time scale, the most prominent influence on tropical cyclone activity is that due to the 3-year cycle associated with El Nino and La Nina events. That only 2 tropical cyclones affected Hong Kong during the strong El Nino event in 1997 compared to 8 during the strong La Nina event of 1999 should still be fresh in our minds. In 2002, 2003 and 2004, respectively 7, 8 and 8 tropical cyclones occurred over the northern part of the South China Sea, all below the long-term average of 12. Thus, these 3 years may be regarded as a 'quiet' period.

On inter-decadal time scales, tropical cyclone activity over the western North Pacific seems to have a periodicity of about 18 years. This may be related to the Pacific Decadal Oscillation (see http://topex-www.jpl.nasa.gov/science/pdo.html). Thus, it is likely that the periodic patterns observed in tropical cyclone activity in the western North Pacific and the South China Sea are related to the oscillations of different periods in the atmosphere.

 

Figure 1(a) Time series of the annual number of tropical cyclones 
 in the western North Pacific
Figure 1(b) Time series of the annual number of tropical cyclones 
 in the South China Sea

Figure 1. Time series of the annual number of tropical cyclones in the (a) western North Pacific and (b) South China Sea (10-25°N, 105-120°E). Red lines denote the mean annual number in 'quiet' and 'active' periods.
Last revision date: <27 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF


西北太平洋及南海熱帶氣旋活動

西北太平洋與南海上每年的熱帶氣旋活動,如生成與消散的時間和位置,移動的方向和速度,都有一定的隨機性。但總的來看,這活動可以說是據有相對的"平淡期"和"活躍期" (見下圖)。這"平淡期"和"活躍期"是與大氣的年際(interannual)和十年間(interdecadal)變化有關的。

在年際變化來說,最明顯的是與厄爾尼諾相關的三年左右的週期。你可能還記得在1997年當厄爾尼諾出現時,只有兩個熱帶氣旋影響香港,而在1999 年拉尼 娜出現時,則有八個熱帶氣旋影響香港。2002,2003,2004這三年,南海上出現的熱帶氣旋分別為7,8,和8個,都比長期平均的12個少,這幾年可以說是處於"平淡期"。

十年間變化方面,在西北太平洋上,熱帶氣旋活動較明顯的週期是18年左右,這可能是與太平洋十年間振盪(Pacific Decadal Oscillation,簡稱PDO,見http://topex-www.jpl.nasa.gov/science/pdo.html)相連的。大氣內不同週期的振盪,是西北太平洋與南海熱帶氣旋活動呈週期性變化的原因之一。

圖一
圖二


圖一 (a)西北太平洋和(b)南海(10-25°N, 105-120°E)的熱帶氣旋年數目時間序列。紅色線代表"活躍期"和"平淡期"的年平均熱帶氣旋數目。


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月14日>