Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

The Mars Hoax

A bogus e-mail letter circulated on the Internet during the summers of 2005 and 2006 tried to mislead people into thinking that Mars would look as big as the full Moon to the naked eye in late August.    The bogus letter has reappeared this year.

The story goes back to August 2003 when Mars made a historical close approach to Earth and thus attained its maximum visual brightness.    There was a saying that when Mars reached the point closest to Earth on 27 August 2003, it would appear to the naked eye as big as the moon when viewed through a 75 times magnification telescope.    Apparently that qualifier was dropped from the bogus letter resulting in an amazing statement.

Even when Mars is at its closest and brightest, it still looks like a tiny orange star, nowhere near as big and bright as the full Moon.

On 27 August 2007, Mars will be far away from Earth, at a distance three times that of the 2003 approach and one-eighteenth as bright.    It will definitely not be as magnificent as the bogus letter claims.

Last revision date: <24 Feb 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

有關火星的互聯網惡作劇

        2005 和 2006 年的夏天,有一個惡作劇電子郵件在互聯網上流傳,企圖誤導人們相信在 8 月底以肉眼觀看的火星會像滿月那麼大。今年這個電子郵件又再出現了。

        事情的來由要追溯至 2003 年 8 月,當時火星是在歷史上最接近地球的位置,亮度亦自然最大。當時有報導說當火星在 2003 年 8 月 27 日最接近地球時,觀測者使用 75 倍的望遠鏡 觀看火星,放大了的火星影像會像用肉眼觀看滿月的大小一樣。顯然後來的惡作劇電子郵件去掉了使用望遠鏡這個前提,從而有一個驚人的說法。

        縱使在最接近地球和最光亮時,火星仍只會像顆橙色的小星星,不可能像滿月那麼大和那麼亮。

        2007 年 8 月 27 日,火星距離地球頗遠,其距離會是 2003 年最接近地球時的 3 倍,而亮度僅是當時的十八份之一,絕不會如惡作劇電子郵件所說的那麼壯觀。

最近修訂日期: <2014年2月24日>