Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Records of Felt Earth Tremors in Hong Kong

 

Since the Hong Kong Observatory recorded locally felt earth tremors in 1905, a total of 179 earth tremors of various intensities were registered. Since the Hong Kong Short-period Seismograph Network went into operation in 1979, 70 locally felt earth tremors were recorded, around two per year on average.

 

No locally felt earth tremor had ever caused any casualty since records began. Most of these earth tremors were of intensity V(5) or below on the Modified Mercalli Scale. The strongest tremor was of intensity VI to VII (6 - 7) which occurred in 1918 and was caused by an earthquake near Shantou about 300 kilometres from Hong Kong. The 1918 tremor caused minor damage to a few buildings, which was the only event with damage on record. The latest earth tremor of higher intensity was of intensity V to VI (5 - 6) that occurred in 1994, and was caused by an earthquake over the southern part of Taiwan Strait.

 

Most of the earthquake epicentres that caused felt tremors in Hong Kong were situated outside the territory in areas near Taiwan, the northern part of the South China Sea, Heyuan and Yangjiang of Guangdong, the border between Guangdong and Fujian, Beibu Wan and the Philippines etc. Since 1979, there were altogether seven locally felt tremors with epicentres located in Hong Kong, at Maipo (once in 1983), over the sea east of Lantau Island (twice in 1982 and three times in 1995 respectively) and near Tai Lam Chung Reservoir (once in 2014) . All these tremors were of Intensity below V(5).

Last revision date: <01 Aug 2016>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

香港有關過去地震的記錄

 

香港天文台 1905 年開始記錄本港有感地震,至今共有 179 次強度不等的有感地震記錄。而由 1979 年香港短週期地震台網投入運作起計算,天文台共錄得 70 次有感地震,平均每年大約 2 次。

 

1905 年以來,香港的有感地震從未引致任何傷亡,其中絕大部份的地震烈度為「修訂麥加利地震烈度表」的 V(五) 度以下,最高記錄則是 1918 年由距離香港 300 多公里汕頭附近發生的地震所引起的 VI 至 VII(六至七) 度。1918 年的地震令到香港少數建築物的牆壁出現輕微損毀,是有史以來唯一在香港引起損毀的地震。近年香港震感較強的一次地震發生於 1994 年,烈度為 V 至 VI(五至六) 度,震中位於台灣海峽南部。

 

香港有感地震的震中位置大部分都在香港境外,例如台灣、南海北部、廣東河源及陽江、粵閩交界、北部灣以及菲律賓等。1979 年至今震中位於本港境內的地震共有 7 次:1983 年在米埔(1次), 1982 年(2次)與 1995 年(3次)在大嶼山以東海域,及2014年(1次)在大欖涌水塘附近,這些境內地震引起的震動均屬輕微,烈度在 V(五) 度以下。

 

最近修訂日期: <2016年8月1日>