Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. What is isostasy?
  2. What are the unusual gravity measurements?
  3. What are the models of isostasy?
  4. Is the Himalayas under isostatic equilibrium?
  5. What are the isostatic effects of sedimentation and erosion?
  6. What is gravity?
  7. How is gravity measured?
    Written by: LEE Boon-ying

  1. What is isostasy?

    Models of isostasy were proposed more than a century ago to explain unusual gravity measurements (what is gravity? how is it measured?) made in various parts of the Earth.  The concept of isostasy is that mountains are compensated by masses of smaller density under the mountains while oceans are compensated by masses of higher density under the water.  

    Viewed in this way, isostasy is simply based on Archimedes' principle --- an immersed object experiences a buoyant force equal to the weight of the displaced fluid.

     content Back to content

  2. What are the unusual gravity measurements?

    The unusual gravity measurements mentioned above are normally referred to as 'gravity anomalies'.  Simply put, it is the difference between a gravity measurement (corrected for various factors) and the theoretical value.

    Figure 1 shows plots of the gravity anomaly respectively over the mid-Atlantic ridge, the European Alps, and the continental margins of southeast Australia.  Strikingly, these plots indicate that over the oceans the anomaly is strongly positive, increasing in magnitude with depth, while over highly elevated terrain it becomes markedly negative. 

    figure1
    Figure 1


     content Back to content

  3. What are the models of isostasy?

    There are several models based on different assumptions regarding the compensation mentioned under the first question above.  The two most commonly mentioned models are:-

    (a)    Airy's model --- the crust is of variable thickness but of constant density and is thicker under elevated terrain than under depressions such as oceans.  The depth of the underlying 'roots' is related to the height of the overlying topography. 

    (b)    Pratt's model --- the crust is of variable density but its base is at a constant depth below sea level.  Topographic height is related to the crustal density at that point.

    Figure 2 presents schematic diagrams for the two models.  

    figure2
    Figure 2 Airy (left) and Pratt (right) models of isostasy [Source - Wikipedia] 

    While both models are based on assumptions that are not too realistic, they describe amazingly well the gravity observed over regions of variable terrain, which indicates that the isostasy concept is obeyed over much of the world.   

     content Back to content

  4. Is the Himalayas under isostatic equilibrium?

    No.  Isostasy can only explain part of the rise of the Himalayas. Scientists are still figuring this out.  Some propose that the Himalayas is being constantly pushed to ever greater heights by the northward movement of the Indian Plate (see here). 

     content Back to content

  5. What are the isostatic effects of sedimentation and erosion?

    Where sedimentation occurs, the weight of the sediment may cause the crust below to sink.  Similarly, where erosion occurs the crust may rebound.  

    Likewise, when ice sheets form the crust may sink.  Conversely, when they melt the crust may rebound, such as what is happening around the Baltic Sea and Hudson Bay area of Canada.  Specifically, Scandinavia and Scotland were under more than 300 metres of ice during the ice ages, and uplift is fastest in the northern Baltic where it is still going on at a rate of about a metre a century, i.e. roughly one centimetre per year.  Like a seesaw, with less burden of ice on the other side of the landmass, southern Baltic and southern England are now sinking.  [Unfortunately, climate change makes things worse --- global warming makes the oceans warmer, which raises the sea level due to thermal expansion.  Furthermore, the oceans are receiving more and more water from melting glaciers.  Both factors cause the sea level to rise.]    

     content Back to content

  6. What is gravity?

    Objects attract one another, for example the attraction between the Sun and the Earth, and that between the Earth and an object on the Earth's surface.  On the Earth's surface, there is another force, the centrifugal force, which arises from the Earth's diurnal rotation.  Gravity is the combined effect of the attraction (which we call gravitation) and centrifugal forces.  

    figure3
    Figure 3 (The ellipsoidal shape of the Earth is exaggerated to illustrate the forces.)

    Many of us are aware that the acceleration due to the Earth's gravity, g, is about 9.8 m/s2.  It varies with latitude and elevation.  For instance, the centrifugal force mentioned above is at a maximum at the equator, acts in the opposite direction and is about 1/3% of the gravitational attraction.  Also, g changes with elevation at a rate of about 3.1 x 10-6/s2.  

    Gravity also varies from place to place on the Earth's surface, reflecting the uneven distribution of mass in the Earth's crust and mantle.  There are also small short-term changes due to the changing attraction of the Sun and Moon.    

     content Back to content

  7. How is gravity measured?

    Gravity can be measured with a pendulum since the period of a pendulum depends only on its length and on gravity.  Gravity is therefore the measurement of a time interval and of length --- the period of the pendulum and its effective length.  There are other less common methods, e.g. by timing a free-falling object.

    The above refers to absolute measurement of gravity.  Gravity can also be measured in a relative manner using gravimeters, in which a weight is suspended from a coiled spring whose length changes in proportion to a change in gravity.  While they measure only changes in gravity, gravimeters are more sensitive to small changes as well as simpler and faster to operate.  For this reason, most gravity measurements are made using gravimeters that measure the gravity relative to a base station at which the absolute gravity has been measured.  Compared with pendulum apparatus, gravimeters are 3 or 4 orders of magnitude more precise.

    figure4
    Figure 4 - a photo showing the gravity measurement points on the verandah of the Hong Kong Observatory 1883 Building.  On record, the earliest gravity measurements at the Observatory were made in 1933-1935.

    Gravity is now routinely measured on board artificial satellites.  Simply, as a satellite passes over a gravity anomaly it is accelerated /decelerated in its orbit.  While the anomaly itself may be relatively small, the cumulative acceleration/deceleration of the satellite during successive passes becomes measurable.

     content Back to content

   Reference:

  1. Wikipedia.
  2. "Does anything eat wasps", New Scientist, Profile Books, p.158, 2005.
  3. "The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences", D.G. Smiths, Cambridge University Press, 1981.


Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 什麼是「地殼均衡說」?
  2. 異常的重力測量值是什麼?
  3. 「地殼均衡說」的模式是什麼?
  4. 喜瑪拉雅山是否處於地殼均衡的狀態?
  5. 沈積和侵蝕的地殼均衡效應是怎樣的?
  6. 重力是什麼?
  7. 重力是怎樣測量的?
    撰文:李本瀅

  1. 什麼「地殼均衡說」?

    「地殼均衡說」模式在一個世紀多前提出,解釋在地球各地測量重力得到的異常數據﹙重力是什麼? 怎樣測量重力?﹚。地殼壓力均衡的概念是密度平衡,即山脈下有較小密度的物質以平衡山脈的質量,而在海洋下則有大量較高密度的物質以平衡較小密度的海水。   

    從這個觀點考慮,「地殼均衡說」就是建立在「阿基米德原理」的基礎上 — 即物體浸沒在液體中所受到的浮力相等於它所排液體的重量。﹙或物體在液體中減少了的重量,等於所排液體的重量。﹚

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  2. 異常的重力測量值是什麼?

    上述經測量所得的奇特重力不同現象通常稱為「重力異常」。簡而言之,它是重力測量值﹙經各種因素作出校正後﹚與理論數值之間的差別。

    圖1分別顯示在大西洋中部的山脈上,歐洲阿爾卑斯山和澳洲東南方大陸邊緣的重力異常情況。很明顯,在海洋地區的重力異常是大正數﹙即測量值明顯超過理論值﹚,強度隨海洋深度增加,而在魏峨聳立的高原上則變成大負數﹙即測量值明顯小於理論值﹚。

    figure1
    圖 1


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  3. 「地殼均衡說」的模式是什麼?

    科學家為「地殼均衡說」提出幾個模式,以解釋上面第一條問題提及的密度平衡。兩個最常提及的型式是︰ -

    (a)  Airy 模式 — 地殼厚度不均,但密度均恆,地殼在高原地區下面比低窪地區﹙例如海洋﹚下較厚。深入地下「根部」的深度與在其上面地形的高度有關。

    (b)  Pratt 模式 — 地殼密度不均,但在海平面以下它的地基底部深度固定不變。地勢高度與在該處的地殼密度有關。 

    圖2展示說明兩個模式的示意圖。

    figure2
    圖2. 「地殼均衡說」常見模式︰Airy (左) and Pratt (右)  [來源 – Wikipedia]  

    雖然兩種模式是基於不太實際的假設,但是在描述不同地形地區上的重力觀測卻極其好,這表明世界上大部分地方均服從「地殼均衡說」概念。 

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  4. 喜瑪拉雅山是否處於地殼均衡的狀態?

    不。「地殼均衡說」只能解釋喜瑪拉雅山升高的部分原因。科學家仍在推測此中奧秘。一些科學家提出喜馬拉雅山之經常被推擠至更高的高度,是由於印度板塊﹙參考此處﹚向北移動所致。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  5. 沈積和侵蝕的地殼均衡效應是怎樣的?

    在沈積發生的地方,沈澱物的重量可能會引起在下面的地殼下沉。同樣,在侵蝕發生的地方,地殼會向上升。

    同樣地,當冰床形成時,地殼可能下沉。相反地,當冰床融化時,地殼會回升,例如波羅的海和加拿大赫德森海灣地區周遭正在發生的地殼升降現象。具體的例子如,斯堪的納維亞半島和蘇格蘭在冰河時期埋藏在冰下超過300米,但冰河期過後,波羅的海北面的地殼迅速上升,地殼現仍以每世紀大約一米(即大約每年一厘米)的速度上升。就好像一塊蹺蹺板一樣,大陸板塊另一邊的波羅的海南部和英格蘭南部由於冰雪負重較少,現正下沉。[不幸地,氣候轉變令情況惡化 --- 因為全球變暖使海洋暖化,海水因受熱膨脹而令海平面上升。此外,冰川融化將更多的水輸往海洋。這兩個因素都會引至海平面上升。]

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  6. 重力是什麼?

    物體彼此互相吸引,例如太陽和地球之間的引力,又如地球與地球上物體之間的引力。在地球表面上,有另一種力 — 由地球日夜不停自轉引起的「離心力」。重力是引力﹙我們叫地心吸力﹚和離心力抗衡的結果。

    figure3
    圖 3 (為便於說明,圖中地球的橢球形狀是被誇大的。)

    許多人都知道地球重力引起的加速度「g」大約是 9.8 m/s2。它隨緯度和高度變化。例如,以上提及的離心力在赤道上最大,並且與地球引力方向相反,大約是引力的1/3%。此外,「g」大約以 3.1 x 10-6/s2 的速率隨高度改變。  

    另一方面,重力在地球表面上也隨地點改變而有所變化,反映出地殼和地幔裡的質量分佈不均勻。此外,還有微小的短期變化是由於太陽和月球引力改變所產生的。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  7. 重力是怎樣測量的?

    由於鐘擺的週期只取決於它的長度和重力,可以利用鐘擺來測量重力。只須量度時間和長度便可﹙即鐘擺的週期和它的有效長度﹚。還有其他一些不常用的方法,例如透過量度自由落體的時間。

    以上提到是重力的絕對測量方法。相對重力可以用「比重計」測量,比重計利用螺旋形彈簧懸起一件重物,彈簧長度按重力變化的比例伸縮。由於比重計只測量重力變化,對微細變化更敏感,且操作更簡單和便捷。因此,比重計廣泛使用於測量重力,只須將測量值加諸一個基本站的已知絕對重力上便可。與鐘擺儀器相比,比重計的精確程度大3或4個等級。 

    figure4
    圖 4 – 照片顯示在香港天文台1883大樓走廊上的重力測量位置。紀錄最早於天文台進行重力測量,時間是1933-1935年。

    現時利用人造衛星上測量重力已屬例行公事。簡而言之,當一個衛星飛越重力異常地點時,它會在軌道上加速/減速。雖然一般重力異常值較小,但衛星反覆多次飛越同一位置時所累積的加速/減速是可以測量得到的。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

    參考︰

  1. Wikipedia.
  2. "Does anything eat wasps", New Scientist, Profile Books, p.158, 2005.
  3. "The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences", D.G. Smiths, Cambridge University Press, 1981.


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>