Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
What You Need to Know about Ultraviolet (UV) Radiation
Episode two: Myths about protection against UV radiation


  1. Myth 1: Darker sunglasses offer more protection from UV radiation
  2. Myth 2: You can't get sunburn on a cloudy day
  3. Myth 3: You can't get sunburn while in the water
  4. Myth 4: Sunscreens protect me so I can sunbathe much longer
  5. Myth 5: If you take regular breaks during sunbathing you won't get sunburn
  6. Myth 6: If you don't feel the hot rays of the sun you won't get sunburn
        Written by: LEUNG Wai-hung

      Human exposure to UV radiation may result in acute and chronic health effects on the skin, eye and immune system. Although most people are aware of the need to take protective actions against sunburn, there are some common misconceptions about UV radiation and the ways of protection:

    1. Myth 1: Darker sunglasses offer more protection from UV radiation

      The most important thing to look for in sunglasses is how much UV radiation they filter out.  It should be noted that there is no relationship between the colour of sunglasses and their UV filtering action.  When one wears sunglasses the pupil widens as there is less light reaching the eye.  If the sunglasses have poor UV protection, the amount of UV radiation getting into the eyes may even be greater than not wearing sunglasses at all.  For adequate protection, one should wear sunglasses that are able to block at least 98% of the UV radiation.

       content Back to content

    2. Myth 2: You can't get sunburn on a cloudy day

      Up to 80% of solar UV radiation can penetrate thin cloud cover.  There are also occasions when broken clouds enhance UV radiation by reflection from their sides.  For example, on 23 February 2009, the UV index reached as high as 10 at around 1 p.m. even though the sky was covered by low level broken clouds.  Therefore, in case of doubt, it is advisable to check the latest UV index through radio, television, the Observatory's website and Dial-a-Weather system (1878200).


      figure1
      Photo showing the cloudy
      condition at Tsim Sha Tsui
      at 1 p.m. on 23 February 2009
      figure2
      UV index measured
      on 23 February 2009  
       content Back to content

    1. Myth 3: You can't get sunburn while in the water

      Water offers only minimal protection from UV radiation.  At half a metre under water, the UV radiation level is still 40% as intense as at the surface.  Also, the part of body above water is additionally exposed to ultraviolet rays reflected from the water surface.

       content Back to content

    2. Myth 4: Sunscreen lotion protects me so I can sunbathe much longer

      Sunscreen lotion should not be used to increase sun exposure time but to increase protection during unavoidable exposure. The protection provided by sunscreen lotion depends critically on their correct application.  For more about sunscreen lotion and sunburn protection, please check out "Sunburn and SPF".

       content Back to content

    3. Myth 5: If you take regular breaks during sunbathing you won't get sunburn

      UV radiation exposure is cumulative.  The total health damage you get will be the sum of the effect of individual exposure.  Therefore, to protect yourself the objective is to reduce exposure to UV radiation as far as practicable. This could decrease the chance of skin cancer.

       content Back to content

    4. Myth 6: If you don't feel the hot rays of the sun you won't get sunburn

      Sunburn is caused by UV radiation which cannot be felt.  The heating effect is caused by the sun's infrared radiation and not by UV radiation.  Therefore, even if you don't feel the warmth, you may also get sunburn.


      figure2
      The electromagnetic spectrum
       content Back to content

       Reference:

    1. "Global Solar UV Index: A Practical Guide", World Health Organization, 2002.

    Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF
紫外線知識你要知
第二章:防曬謬誤


  1. 謬誤一:深色的太陽眼鏡防禦紫外線較好
  2. 謬誤二:多雲情況下不會曬傷
  3. 謬誤三:在水中不會被曬傷
  4. 謬誤四:塗上太陽油,就能長時間曬日光浴
  5. 謬誤五:間歇性曬太陽,便不會曬傷
  6. 謬誤六:在陽光下如果不覺熱就不會曬傷
         撰文:梁偉鴻

      太陽的紫外線可能會對皮膚、眼睛和免疫系統造成急性及慢性的損害。雖然大多數人都知道在陽光下需要採取防曬措施,但亦有一些常見的謬誤:

    1. 謬誤一:深色的太陽眼鏡防禦紫外線較好

      選擇太陽眼鏡時最重要是注意鏡片過濾紫外線的能力,而太陽眼鏡的顏色與它過濾紫外線的功能無關。戴上太陽眼鏡後,由於到達眼晴的光線減少了,瞳孔自然會放大,假若太陽眼鏡沒有足夠的防紫外線功能,透過瞳孔進入眼球的紫外線反而會比不戴太陽眼鏡多。所以應該佩帶能夠過濾至少98%紫外線的太陽眼鏡,以確保足夠的防護。

       content 回到目錄

    2. 謬誤二:多雲情況下不會曬傷

      高達80%的太陽紫外線能穿透稀薄的雲層。雲層的邊緣有時能反射紫外線,令紫外線強度增加。例如在2009年2月23日下午1時,當時天空被低層的零散雲塊覆蓋,但紫外線指數仍能達到10。市民若不肯定紫外線的強度時,應透過電台、電視台、天文台網頁或「打電話問天氣」﹙1878200﹚查閱最新的紫外線指數。


      figure1
      在2009年2月23日下午1時
      攝於尖沙咀的照片
      顯示當時天色多雲
      figure2
      在2009年2月23日錄得的
      紫外線指數
       content 回到目錄

    1. 謬誤三:在水中不會被曬傷

      水只能阻擋小部份的紫外線,水面的反射會令紫外線強度增加,水深半米地方的紫外線強度仍維持在水面的40%。另外,身體露於水上更加會受水面反射的紫外線所照射。

       content 回到目錄

    2. 謬誤四:塗上太陽油,就能長時間曬日光浴

      塗上太陽油的目的不是為了延長曝曬時間,而是在無法避免陽光照射情況下提供保護。須注意,要正確地使用太陽油才能發揮它的保護能力,有關太陽油及其他防曬注意事項,請參考「曬傷和SPF」。

       content 回到目錄

    3. 謬誤五:間歇性曬太陽,便不會曬傷

      紫外線對健康的影響是累積的。紫外線可以做成的損害,是每次曬太陽加起來的總和。因此,應該盡量減少暴曬,減低患上皮膚癌的機會。

       content 回到目錄

    4. 謬誤六:在陽光下如果不覺熱就不會曬傷

      紫外線不會令皮膚有熱的感覺,但會引致曬傷。在陽光下我們感覺到的熱力是來自太陽的紅外線而非紫外線。因此,即使你感覺不到陽光的熱力,仍有機會曬傷。


      figure2
      電磁波譜
       content 回到目錄

       參考:

    1. "Global Solar UV Index: A Practical Guide", World Health Organization, 2002. ﹙只有英文版本﹚

    最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>