Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. The coldest January since 1977 in Hong Kong 
  2. The freezing weather adversely affected the harvest of crops
  3. Sunspots and the earth climate
  4. The research results by the University of Reading at the beginning of 2010 
  5. Very few sunspots appeared in the period of "Maunder Minimum"
  6. Origin and southward advancement of cold air
  7. In the 24th solar cycle, will the warming trend of the earth slow down? 

    Written by: CHIU Hung-yu    March 2011


  1. The coldest January since 1977 in Hong Kong 

    Owing to the frequent replenishments of the winter monsoon, the monthly mean temperature of 13.7 degrees for the first month of 2011 was 2.4 degrees below normal, making it the coldest January since 1977.


     content Back to content

  2. The freezing weather adversely affected the harvest of crops

    At the beginning of 2011, unusual weather appears in many regions of the world. Unusually freezing cold weather affected China, Japan and Korea with record-breaking low temperatures. In addition, there were droughts in Russia as well as floods in Canada and Australia. These weather hazards brought about the underproduction of crops and in turn the rise of the price of wheat. These remind people of the following events.


     content Back to content

  3. Sunspots and the earth climate 

    .In 1801, British scientist, William Herschel, studied the change of number of sunspots during 1650 to 1800 and its effects. According to his analysis, rainfall became less when sunspots were sparse. So much so that sunspots determined indirectly the wheat prices in London. Hence, he attempted to correlate the yearly sunspot numbers and the prices of the grain. He proposed that an anti-correlation existed between the number of sunspots visible on the sun and the wheat prices. That was to say when there were little or no sunspots, the harvest of wheat was low and its price rose. In the contrary, when solar activity was active, the harvest of the grain was high and its price was low. He convinced himself that there might be a causal relationship between the sunspot cycle and the Earth's climate. This speculation matched with the improvement of agricultural production in the United Kingdom when the sunspot number rose during 1798 to 1804. Economists who were involved with the stock market followed up his study later on. They, however, found that the long-term results did not always show this anti-correlation.


     content Back to content

  4. The research results by the University of Reading at the beginning of 2010 

    Mike Lockwood is a professor of space environment physics at the University of Reading, UK. Professor Lockwood and his research team compared the levels of solar activity with the past 351-year temperature record in Central England. These data provided information that traced back to the beginning of the Maunder Minimum (see para. 5),

    Mike Lockwood opined that solar activity seemed able to modulate blocking events. When the solar activity was low, blocking events became more stable. In the winter between 2009 and 2010, a prolonged blocking situation of distorted upper-air westerly jet stream caused the long spell of freezing weather in Europe. The possible effect of "blocking events" on the Earth's climate was discussed in a previous article in the "HKO e-Bulletin on Educational Resources" of Issue No.28 (December 2010).


    content Back to content

     
  5. Very few sunspots appeared in the period of "Maunder Minimum"

    The period from 1645 to 1715 is often called the "Maunder Minimum" (Fig.1), when the solar activity was extremely inactive with only a few or even no sunspots for a long time. Europe experienced a series of severely cold winter in this period - the "Little Ice Age". "Little Ice Age" happened in the period approximately between 1550 (or perhaps as early as 1300) and 1850 A.D. During this period, it was generally colder than nowadays in Northern Hemisphere, especially in Europe. Since the temperature was relatively low, mountain glaciers advanced in many parts of the world. Some rivers froze and snow covered low altitude areas besides high mountains throughout the years.
     

    1 
    Fig.1  Maunder Minimum and the yearly averaged sunspot numbers during 1610-2009. 
    (Image source: Courtesy of NASA)


     content Back to content

  6. Origin and southward advancement of cold air

    Since there is a continuous cooling period of approximately half a year without sunshine on the Earth's north and south poles every year, a large amount of cold air accumulates near the polar regions. Figure 2 shows a blocking situation on the 500 hPa upper-air weather chart on 20 January 2011. The westerly jet was blocked and appeared in an unusually and extremely distorted form such that a large amount of extremely cold arctic air was guided to move southward, resulting in very cold weather in the vicinity. In the north, the regions affected by cold continental air-streams were cold and dry. When the cold air-stream met the moist air mass in the south, the weather could become snowy or freezing and extremely cold in some places. 


    2
    Fig.2  A blocking event in January 2011


     content Back to content

  7. In the 24th solar cycle, will the warming trend of the earth slow down?

    In 2001, a computer climate model of NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration of the United States) had reinforced a notion that existed for a long time. It indicated that low solar activity could have changed the atmospheric circulation in the Northern Hemisphere and triggered a "Little Ice Age" in several regions including North America and Europe during 1400s to 1700s.

    Mike Lockwood also studied solar activities with data for over 9,000 years. Solar activity tended to increase quite slowly and took more than 300 years from low (quiescent) to high (active). However, solar activity often dropped rapidly to fall from high to low in a little more than 100 years. The present decline in solar activity started in 1985 (Fig.1) and is now about "half way to a Maunder Minimum condition".

    3e
    Fig.3  Annual mean temperature recorded at the Hong Kong Observatory Headquarters from 1885 to 2008
    (Data during World War II from 1940 to 1946 is not available)

    The sunspot numbers were lower in the early half of the past 120 years (Fig.1). During the early half of the past 120 years, it was colder in Hong Kong than the later half (Fig.3). The positive correlation between the air temperatures of Hong Kong and the sunspot numbers also exists around 1970s. Although Fig.1 and Fig.3 show some degree of positive correlation between the air temperatures of Hong Kong and the sunspot numbers, greenhouse effect is still an overriding factor for the warming trend.

    Also, unusually cold winters occurred occasionally in various regions of the world in the past few years. During this period, very few sunspots were observed as it was not far from the last solar minimum in 2008. The present sunspots in the 24th solar cycle are less than anticipated. Furthermore, NASA has recently predicted that the sunspot number would be much smaller than the sunspot numbers of previous several solar cycles (by comparing Fig.1 and Fig.4). If this situation persists, will the trend of global warming be slowed down in the 24th solar cycles? To provide a more complete and convincing answer, subsequent observations of sunspots and more research are crucial.

    It must be pointed out that the cold winters discussed above refer to certain parts of the northern hemisphere.  For the Earth as a whole, the warming trend is unequivocal.  In fact, 2010 was the warmest year since instrumental record of temperature began more than 100 years ago.



    4 
    Fig.4  The sunspot number of solar cycle 24 predicted in February 2011 (Image source: Courtesy of NASA)


     content Back to content

   References:

  1. "The coldest January since 1977", What's New (1 Feb 2011), Hong Kong Observatory.
  2. "3.38 million people were mobilized to combat drought in Shandong", News of 10 Jan 2011, Wen Wei Po. (in Chinese only)
  3. "Hedge funds pushed up the wheat prices", News of 15 Feb 2011, Wen Wei Po. (in Chinese only)
  4. "Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences", by James H. Shirley and Rhodes Whitmore Fairbridge, Springer.
  5. "Sun, Weather, and Climate", by John R. Herman and Richard A. Goldberg, Scientific and Technical Information Branch, National Aeronautics and. Space Administration, 1978.
  6. "Low temperatures broke the records in China, Japan and Korea", News of 18 Jan 2011, Ming Pao. (in Chinese only)
  7. "China has experienced the coldest winter in the latest 23 years, with an average temperature of -4.7oC", News of 1 March 2011, www.chinanews.com (in Chinese only)
  8. "Low solar activity link to cold UK winters", Reading in the News (BBC News, 14 April 2010), University of Reading.
  9. "The possible effects on earth's climate by the solar spectral change in a solar cycle", by CHIU Hung-yu, HKO e-Bulletin on Educational Resources, Issue No.28 (December 2010).
  10. "Glossary", Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).
  11. "Glossary of Meteorology", American Meteorological Society.
  12. "Solar Cycle Prediction (Updated 2011/02/03)", Space Weather Prediction Center, NASA.
  13. "Solar Physics - Solar Cycle Prediction (Updated 2011/02/03)", Marshall Space Flight Center, NASA.
  14. "Climate Change in Hong Kong", Hong Kong Observatory , May 2009.
  15. "NASA Research Finds 2010 Tied for Warmest Year on Record", Research News of 12 January 2011, Goddard Institute for Space Studies, NASA.

    contentBack to content

Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 自1977年以來香港最寒冷的1月
  2. 寒冷冰凍的天氣嚴重影響農作物的收成
  3. 太陽黑子與地球氣候
  4. 2010年初雷丁大學﹙University of Reading﹚的研究結果
  5. 太陽黑子極少的「蒙德極小期﹙Maunder Minimum﹚」
  6. 冷空氣的源頭與南進
  7. 在太陽的第24個週期,地球暖化的趨勢會否減弱緩慢下來?

    撰文:趙孔儒     2011年3月



  1. 自1977年以來香港最寒冷的1月

    受頻密的冬季季候風補充影響,2011年1月平均氣溫為13.7度,較正常低2.4度,是香港自1977年以來最寒冷的1月份。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  2. 寒冷冰凍的天氣嚴重影響農作物的收成

    2011年初,全球多個地區出現異常天氣。中國、日本和韓國出現異常寒冷冰凍天氣,低溫均破紀錄。此外,俄羅斯乾旱、加拿大和澳洲有洪水。這些天氣災害引致農作物減產,導致小麥價格上漲。這使人們聯想起以下的事情。 

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  3. 太陽黑子與地球氣候

    在1801年,英國科學家威廉 · 赫歇爾﹙William Herschel﹚分析了太陽黑子數量(從1650至1800年的觀察)的變化及其影響,根據他的觀察,黑子稀少時雨量變少;正因如此,太陽黑子間接支配倫敦小麥的價格。因此,他試圖把每年的太陽黑子數量與穀物價格聯繫在一起,提出太陽上可見黑子的數量和小麥價格之間出現「反相關」﹙或「負相關」﹚性關係;即在太陽黑子少或沒有期間,小麥失收產量少,價格上漲;而在太陽活動活躍期間,穀物豐收且價格低廉。他相信太陽黑子週期和地球氣候之間可能存在因果關係。這個推測與英國農產量在1798年至1804年太陽黑子數上升期間的改善相符。不過,後來一些熟悉股市的經濟學家跟進他的研究,發現長期的結果顯示這個反相關性影響並非經常出現。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  4. 2010年初雷丁大學﹙University of Reading﹚的研究結果

    邁克 · 洛克伍德﹙Mike Lockwood﹚,是英國雷丁大學﹙University of Reading﹚的太空環境物理學教授。邁克 · 洛克伍德和他的研究小組比較了過去太陽活動的活躍水平,與英格蘭中部過去351年的溫度記錄。這些數據追溯到「蒙德極小期﹙Maunder Minimum﹚」 ﹙參閱第5段﹚的開始。

    邁克 · 洛克伍德認為太陽活動似乎可以調控阻塞事件。當太陽活動不活躍時,阻塞事件更穩定。在2009-2010年之間的冬季,一個持久阻塞而又扭曲的高空西風急流形態導致歐洲天氣長期冰凍。「阻塞事件」對地球氣候的可能影響已經在第二十八期﹙2010年12月﹚「香港天文台教育資源電子通訊」的一篇文章裡解釋過。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  5. 太陽黑子極少的「蒙德極小期﹙Maunder Minimum﹚」

    在1645年至1715年的這段期間,太陽活動極不活躍,太陽黑子長期只有很少或甚至沒有出現,常被稱為「蒙德極小期﹙Maunder Minimum﹚」﹙圖1﹚。在幾乎重叠的一個相近時期,歐洲經歷了一連串嚴寒的冬季,稱為「小冰河時期」或「小冰期」。「小冰期」大約發生在從公元前 1550年(或可能早在1300年)至1850年之間一段期間。在此期間,在北半球尤其是在歐洲,天氣普遍比現時寒冷,氣溫較低,高山冰川的範圍在世界很多地區蔓延擴展;不僅高山,一些低海拔地區甚至也終年積雪或被冰雪封鎖。

    1 
    圖1  蒙德極小期﹙Maunder Minimum﹚與在1610年至2009年期間的每年太陽黑子平均數。(圖像來源:NASA


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  6. 冷空氣的源頭與南進

    地球南北兩極每年都有連續半年時間不見太陽的冷卻期,在極區附近積存大量冷空氣。圖2顯示在2011年1月20日的 500百帕斯卡高空天氣圖,被阻塞的高空西風急流變得異常和極其扭曲的形態,引導大量極寒冷空氣從地球北極移向南面,在鄰近地區造成十分寒冷的天氣;受大陸性氣流影響,北方地區,北風凜冽,寒冷乾燥;當寒冷氣流遇到南方的潮濕空氣時,南方一些地區天氣可能變得大雪紛飛,天寒地凍。

    2
    圖2  2011年1月的阻塞事件


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  7. 在太陽的第24個週期,地球暖化的趨勢會否減弱緩慢下來?

    美國國家航空暨太空總署﹙NASA﹚一個在2001年的電腦氣候模型,再次証明了存在已久的理論,即從 15世紀到18世紀,太陽活動低或靜止,是可能曾經改變了北半球的大氣環流,並在幾個地區,包括北美和歐洲,引發了「小冰河時期」。

    邁克 · 洛克伍德也表示,過去超過 9000年的數據表明,太陽活動上升往往很慢,由低﹙沉寂﹚到高﹙活躍﹚期間需要超過300年;但太陽活動下降往往會很快,由高到低期間僅需要略多於 100年。目前的太陽活動下降是從1985年開始﹙圖1﹚,現時大約是返回「蒙德極小期」的半路中途。

    3c
    圖3  1885–2008年香港天文台總部錄得的年平均氣溫
    (1940至1946年間因二次大戰沒有數據)


    在過去120年,太陽黑子數的前半期比後半期低(圖1),香港天氣的前半期比後半期較冷(圖3)。大約在20世紀70年代,香港的氣溫與太陽黑子數也存在著「正相關」關係(圖1和圖3)。雖然圖1和圖3顯示了香港氣溫與太陽黑子數的某種程度「正相關」關係,但是溫室效應現在仍然是被理解為氣候變暖趨勢的一個重要因素。

    近幾年,因離剛剛過去的2008年太陽活動極小期不遠,太陽黑子的數量很少,世界各地異常寒冷的冬天也時有所聞。目前第24個太陽活動週期的太陽黑子數量,已經比當初預期的少。而且比較圖1和圖4 , NASA新近預測太陽黑子數量將會遠低於之前幾個太陽活動週期的太陽黑子數量。若果這種情況持續下去,地球暖化的趨勢在太陽的第24個週期期間,會否減弱緩慢下來呢?要提供更完整和令人信服的答案,後續太陽黑子的觀測和更多研究是極其重要的。

    必需指出,上面討論的異常寒冷的冬天是指北半球部份地區的情况;地球整體而言仍然是呈暖化的趨勢,2010年更是百多年來有儀器量度温度之後的最暖的一年

    4 
    圖4  2011年2月預測在太陽第24個活動週期的太陽黑子數目(圖像來源:NASA


     回到目錄 回到目錄

   參考:

  1. 自1977年以來最寒冷的1月」,新增項目 ( 2011年2月1日),香港天文台。
  2. 山東動員338萬人抗旱」,文匯報,2011年1月10日。
  3. 對沖基金加注炒高小麥」,文匯報,2011年2月15日。
  4. "Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences", by James H. Shirley and Rhodes Whitmore Fairbridge, Springer.
  5. "Sun, Weather, and Climate", by John R. Herman and Richard A. Goldberg, Scientific and Technical Information Branch, National Aeronautics and. Space Administration, 1978.
  6. 中日韓低溫破紀錄」,明報,2011年1月18日。
  7. 中國經歷近23年來最冷冬天 平均氣溫為-4.7oC」,中國新聞網, 2011年03月01日。
  8. "Low solar activity link to cold UK winters", Reading in the News (BBC News, 14 April 2010), University of Reading.
  9. 太陽光在太陽活動週期期間的光譜變化對地球氣候的可能影響」,撰文:趙孔儒,香港天文台教育資源電子通訊,第二十八期 (2010年12月)。
  10. "Glossary", Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).
  11. "Glossary of Meteorology", American Meteorological Society.
  12. "Solar Cycle Prediction (Updated 2011/02/03)", Space Weather Prediction Center, NASA.
  13. "Solar Physics - Solar Cycle Prediction (Updated 2011/02/03)", Marshall Space Flight Center, NASA.
  14. 香港氣候變化」,香港天文台, 2009年5月。
  15. ."NASA Research Finds 2010 Tied for Warmest Year on Record", Research News of 12 January 2011, Goddard Institute for Space Studies, NASA.

    回到目錄 回到目錄


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>