Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. How can the sun produce so much energy? 
  2. What is nuclear fusion?
  3. What is the mode of nuclear reaction for the sun's energy production?
  4. Why nuclear fusion does not occur readily? 
  5. What are the conditions favourable for the occurrence of nuclear fusion?
  6. Is the entire sun undergoing nuclear fusion? 
  7. Why can the sun produce an enormous amount of energy in the form of light and heat? 

    Written by: CHIU Hung-yu    September 2010


  1. How can the sun produce so much energy? 

    Although the sun is so far away from the earth, its continuous emission of light and heat enables living things to sustain and evolve on earth for billions of years. The sun is a huge volume of gases that are mostly hydrogen. The massive hydrogen provides billion of years of incessant fuel for solar nuclear fusion to continuously produce a huge amount of energy.

     content Back to content

  2. What is nuclear fusion?

    Nucleus fusion is also called the nucleosynthesis or thermonuclear reaction. It is a process of nuclear reaction in which two or more light atomic nuclei are combined into a heavier atomic nucleus. Since a small part of the mass is converted into energy in the course of nuclear fusion, the mass of resulting heavier atomic nucleus is slightly less the original total mass of the lighter atomic nuclei. Therefore, nuclear fusion can produce a huge amount of energy by virtue of the mass - energy equivalence (E=mc2) proposed by the famous physicist, Albert Einstein. Hydrogen bomb, which releases a huge amount of energy from nuclear fusion during detonation, is a good example of converting mass into energy.  

     content Back to content

  3. What is the mode of nuclear reaction in the sun's energy production? 

    The American physicist, Hans Bethe (born in Germany), based on his research results, pointed out that the most important nuclear reaction in a bright star is a "carbon - nitrogen cycle". However, the nuclear reactions in comparatively dimmer stars such as our sun, are mainly the "proton-proton (hydrogen nucleus - hydrogen nucleus) chain reaction". Because of Hans Bette's contributions in the nuclear reaction theory and particularly the discovery of stellar energy generation, he received the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1967.

     content Back to content

  4. Why nuclear fusion does not occur readily? 

    Since atomic nuclei consist of positively charged protons, they repel each other by virtue of electrostatic force. Under high temperature condition, particles possess sufficient kinetic energy to overcome the electrostatic repulsion and approach each other. The subsequent collisions among atomic nuclei provide the opportunities of nuclear fusion to occur. However, particles can recoil and separate without undergoing nuclear fusion after collision (called elastic collision). In fact, many collisions among atomic nuclei are elastic in nature without any resultant nuclear fusion.  George Gamow proposed that for any given temperature, there is a narrow range of energies known as the "Gamow window" where nuclear fusion is most likely to occur.


     content Back to content

     
  5. What are the conditions favourable for the occurrence of nuclear fusion? 

    Besides a suitably high temperature, the number or chance of mutual collisions among atomic nuclei will increase when the gaseous density is high. Since only a small portion of the collisions can result in nuclear fusion, both high temperature and high density are necessary conditions for nuclear fusion to occur.

    1 
    Fig. 1: The forces counteracting each other in the sun's interior


     content Back to content

  6. Is the entire sun undergoing nuclear fusion?

    The sun is a huge volume of gas and its total mass is very great. As a result of gravitational force, the pressure will be greater when it is closer to the center of the sun. Therefore, the solar core is a highly compressed region in which nuclear fusion can occur under the high-density, high-temperature conditions.  On the other hand, both the density and the temperature are much lower in the sun's outer layer where occurrence of nuclear fusion is unfavourable. Hence, nuclear fusion mainly occurs and persists deep inside the sun near its center - the solar core region (Fig. 1).  In other words, nuclear fusion does not occur in the entire sun.


     content Back to content

  7. Why can the sun produce an enormous amount of energy in the form of light and heat?

    The sun contains massive hydrogen that serves as a lasting supply of fuel for the generation of large amount of energy through persistent nuclear fusion in the solar core region.

    The sun acts as if it is a self-regulating nuclear power reactor.  The force of gravity, gas pressure and radiation pressure of the sun interact to maintain a state of dynamic equilibrium (Fig. 1). For example, when the nuclear reaction slows down, less energy is produced and the temperature decreases. The sun's great volume of gas will shrink, resulting in an increase of density and temperature in the solar core region, which in turn speeds up the reaction of nuclear fusion. On the other hand, if the nuclear reaction becomes faster, more energy is produced. The sun's great volume of gas will expand, resulting in a decrease of density and temperature in the solar core region. The reaction of nuclear fusion will eventually slow down.

    To summarize, the sun's nuclear fusion reaction occurs in an orderly manner.  In the process, hydrogen is consumed, energy is produced, and there is a steady release of light and heat.


     content Back to content

   References:

  1. "The Nobel Prize in Physics 1967 - Hans Bethe", Nobelprize.org, The Nobel Foundation.
  2. "Cosmic alchemy in the laboratory", Michael Wiescher, Physics 2, 68 (2009), American Physical Society.
  3. "Nucleosynthesis", NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
  4. "Quantum Generations: A History of Physics in the Twentieth Century", by Helge Kragh, Princeton University Press, 1999.
  5. "Stars", NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)

    contentBack to content

Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 太陽如何可以產生這麽多的能量呢?
  2. 核聚變是什麼?
  3. 太陽產生能量的核反應模式是什麼?
  4. 為什麼核聚變不容易發生?
  5. 在甚麽條件下核聚變才可發生?
  6. 是否整個太陽都處於核聚變反應之中?
  7. 太陽為什麼可以恆常產生巨大的能量,穩定地發出光和熱?

    撰文:趙孔儒     2010年9月



  1. 太陽如何可以產生這麽多的能量呢?

    太陽離地球那麽遠,卻可以長年累月不斷發光發熱,讓地球生物可以延續生命,新生不息。太陽是一個巨大氣團,絕大部份是氫氣,因此擁有大量氫元素供核聚變產生大量持續不斷的巨大能量。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  2. 核聚變是什麼?

    核聚變,又稱核融合,也叫熱核反應。它是一個核反應過程,把兩個或以上的較細小的輕原子核結合成為一個較重的原子核。由於部份質量在核聚變過程中轉換成為能量,因此所產生的較重原子核比原先輕原子核的總質量略小。所以根據著名物理學家阿爾伯特 · 愛因斯坦﹙Albert Einstein﹚的質量與能量轉換公式﹙E=mc2﹚,核聚變能產生巨大能量。氫彈引爆時所釋放出的巨大能量就是由核聚變所產生的,是一個把質量轉換成能量的好例子。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  3. 太陽產生能量的核聚變反應是以什麼模式進行?

    美國物理學家(在德國出生)漢斯 · 貝特﹙Hans Bethe﹚的研究指出,在非常明亮的恆星,最重要的核反應是「碳-氮循環」;而在太陽和相對較為暗淡的恆星,核反應主要是「質子-質子﹙氫核-氫核﹚鍊式反應」。因為漢斯‧貝特在核反應理論的貢獻,特別是關於恆星產生能量的發現,他獲得了1967年的諾貝爾物理學獎。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  4. 為什麼核聚變不容易發生?

    由於原子核有質子帶正電,各個原子核之間存在靜電作用力,互相排斥。在高温狀態下,粒子從熱運動中獲得必需的動能,用於克服靜電排斥力,以便能夠達到近距離互相碰撞。原子核相碰提供了融合的機會。但粒子碰撞之後可以分開,不一定結合發生核聚變。且原子核之間的相碰有很多都只是彈性粒子碰撞,有緣瞬間相聚而無份融合的。另外,按照「伽莫夫窗口﹙Gamow window﹚」有關實現核反應的能量要求顯示,粒子或原子核的動能要高但亦需限制在一定範圍之內才有利於核聚變發生和進行。

     回到目錄 回到目錄

  5. 在甚麽條件下核聚變才可發生?

    除了合適的高溫條件,在高密度狀態下,原子核互相碰撞的次數或機會率會增多。因為只有很小部份碰撞能成功產生核融合,所以核聚變需要在高温和高密度狀態下才能發生。

    1 
    圖1:太陽內部相互抗衡的力量


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  6. 是否整個太陽都處於核聚變反應之中?

    太陽是一團巨大氣體,總體質量很大。由於重力作用,越接近太陽中心,壓力越大。所以太陽核心區域是處於高度壓縮的狀態下,密度和温度很高,可以產生核聚變。但在太陽的表層,密度小很多,温度也較低,不利於產生核聚變。所以核聚變主要在太陽的核心深處或核心附近區域出現和進行﹙圖1﹚,而不是普遍地在整個太陽發生。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

  7. 太陽為什麼可以恆常產生巨大的能量,穩定地發出光和熱?

    太陽擁有大量氫元素,可以長期供給太陽核心區域持續不斷地進行核聚變,產生大量的能量。

    太陽能夠穩定地產生巨大能量,是由於太陽的重力、氣體壓力和輻射壓力的互相調節,保持平衡和穩定所得到的結果﹙圖1﹚。例如當核反應變慢,產生的能量減少,溫度下降,太陽的氣團會收縮,導致太陽核心區域的密度和温度增加,以加快核融合反應。另一方面,若核反應變快,產生的能量增多,太陽的氣團會膨脹,降低太陽核心區域的密度和温度,使核融合反應變慢。

    因此太陽的核融合反應可以有秩序地進行,消耗氫元素,穩定地提供能量發出光和熱。


     回到目錄 回到目錄

   參考:

  1. "The Nobel Prize in Physics 1967 - Hans Bethe", Nobelprize.org, The Nobel Foundation.
  2. "Cosmic alchemy in the laboratory", Michael Wiescher, Physics 2, 68 (2009), American Physical Society.
  3. "Nucleosynthesis", NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)
  4. "Quantum Generations: A History of Physics in the Twentieth Century", by Helge Kragh, Princeton University Press, 1999.
  5. "Stars", NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration)


     回到目錄 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>