Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

   Written by: CHIU Hung-yu      March 2010

  1. Atmospheric drag could slow down the motion of a satellite when its orbit is low enough to be affected by the friction of Earth's atmosphere. A low Earth-orbiting satellite is often placed just above the Earth's atmosphere (Fig.1), where there is almost no air to drag on the satellite and reduce its speed. For example, the Hubble Space Telescope (HST) has a low altitude orbit and operates at an altitude of 610 km with an orbital period of 97 minutes.

    satellite drag inactive solar activity
    Fig.1  Orbit of a low Earth-orbiting satellite (not to scale)

    The sunspot cycle 24 has begun in January 2010 and the solar activity will increase gradually. When there are intense solar activities bringing intense solar winds towards the earth, the upper atmosphere of the earth will heat up and expand to enclose the orbits of some low Earth-orbiting satellites in it (Fig.2). It will produce greater frictional drag against the motion of the satellite.


    satellite drag solar active
    Fig.2  Intense solar activities cause the expansion of the earth's upper atmosphere (atmosphere exaggerated for ease of explanation.)

    The drag would slow down the orbiting speed of the satellite. It will cause the satellite to de-orbit, decrease in altitude and eventually burn up in the atmosphere through its voyage back to the earth by gravitational force. Re-boosts in advance to maintain its orbit could extend the operational period of a satellite if it has enough fuel.

    Furthermore, the atmospheric density and composition in the lower atmosphere were also dependent on local time besides the solar activity. Scientists found that the atmospheric density below 200km was higher at nighttime. Thus, satellites operating at very low altitude orbits would experience even more frictional drag at nighttime.


    Back to content

    References:

  1. "Satellite Drag and the Hubble Space Telescope", NASA.
  2. "An Upper Atmospheric Model for Solar Minimum Conditions", by V.P. Bhatnagar and A.P. Mitra, Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, Volume 23, Issue 2 (March 1966) pp. 233244.
  3. "Solar Cycle 24 Begins", NASA.
    Back to content

 


Last revision date: <21 Feb 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

   撰文:趙孔儒     2010年3月

  1. 當衛星的軌道低得足以被地球大氣阻力影響時,衛星會減速。一個環繞地球的低軌道衛星,經常要放置在略高於地球大氣層的軌道上﹙圖1﹚,那處幾乎沒有空氣阻礙衛星移動和降低它的速度。例如,哈勃太空望遠鏡﹙HST﹚在一個週期為 97分鐘和離地面高度610 公里的低空軌道運行。

    satellite drag inactive solar activity
    圖1︰  低軌道衛星的軌道(圖中物件並不依比例)

    太陽黑子第24個週期已經在2010年1月開始,太陽活動將逐漸增加。當激烈的太陽活動把強烈的太陽風帶到地球時,地球的上層大氣會變熱升溫膨脹擴大,將一些在低軌道運行的地球衛星包圍住﹙圖2﹚,對衛星的運動產生較大摩擦阻力。 

    satellite drag solar active
    圖2︰  激烈的太陽活動使地球的大氣膨脹﹙圖中大氣層被誇大以便於說明﹚

    阻力將減低衛星在軌道上的速度,使它離開軌道,並且在地球引力作用下下墜,降低高度,最終在返回地球的旅途中,墮落在大氣層內燒掉。如果衛星有足夠燃料,可提前重新啟動引擎推進,提升高度,以保持它的運行軌道,延長它的工作期限。

    此外,在更低層的大氣裡,除太陽活動以外,空氣密度和組成,也依當地的時間日夜變更。科學家發現在大氣層內,高度低於200 公里的大氣,密度在夜間較高。因此,運行在非常低軌道的衛星,夜間將會遇到更大的大氣摩擦阻力。


    回到目錄

   參考:

  1. "Satellite Drag and the Hubble Space Telescope", NASA.
  2. "An Upper Atmospheric Model for Solar Minimum Conditions", by V.P. Bhatnagar and A.P. Mitra, Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences, Volume 23, Issue 2 (March 1966) pp. 233–244.
  3. "Solar Cycle 24 Begins", NASA.
    回到目錄


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>