Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

  1. Q: If solar activities become active, what are the effects to the Earth's atmosphere?
  2. Q: When the sun is active, would the Earth be heated up and lead to temperature rise?
  3. Q: In the long run, is there any effect to the Earth's climate?
  4. Q: Is there any effect to the weather of a small city like Hong Kong?

    Written by: LAM Hok-yin, David      September 2010


  1. Q: If solar activities become active, what are the effects to the Earth's atmosphere? 

    A: When the sun becomes active, the occurrences of phenomena such as solar flares, coronal mass ejection become frequent.  The amount of high-energy particles and extreme shortwave radiation released, such as X-rays and UV, will also increase.  These phenomena affect the ionosphere of the Earth's atmosphere the most.  It can disturb Earth's magnetic field, affect communications and create auroras.

      Back to content

  2. Q: When the sun is active, would the Earth be heated up and lead to temperature rise?

    A: The atmosphere of the Earth can absorb and scatter the solar radiation.  In simple words, the atmosphere can absorb radiation of different wavelengths of the solar spectrum.  However, it absorbs the radiation mainly in the long wave and extreme short wave regimes.  The energy released from solar activities is mainly extreme short wave radiation; and will be absorbed by the gases in the upper atmosphere.  The extra amount of radiation reaching the ground level will be minimal.  Thus the effect to the temperature at ground level is negligible.

      Back to content

  3. Q: In the long run, is there any effect to the Earth's climate?

    A: A research suggested that the particles from cosmic rays in outer space can reach the Earth easily during a weak solar activity period.  The particles can act as condensation nuclei and cloud forms easier.  Hence, the effect is the decrease in temperature and increase in rainfall.  However, take Hong Kong as an example, years with above-average rainfall seem to be unrelated to the strength of the solar activity.  In addition, the issue of anthropogenic climate change in the past years complicated the problem.  As such, there is not enough evidence to prove that solar activities can affect the long term climate of the Earth.

      Back to content

  4. Q: Is there any effect to the weather of a small city like Hong Kong?

    A: The short-term weather of a city should not be related to the activities of the Sun.  Weather only relates to the weather system in different scales, such as ridges of high pressure, troughs of low pressure, typhoons, etc.

      Back to content

Last revision date: <22 Jan 2013>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

  1. 問:如太陽活動變得活躍,對地球大氣有甚麼影響?
  2. 問:太陽活動活躍時,地球不會被加熱而導致溫度上升嗎?
  3. 問:長時間而言,對地球的氣候有甚麼影響?
  4. 問:對香港這麼小的一個城市的天氣又有否影響?
    撰文:林學賢     2010年9月


  1. 問:如太陽活動變得活躍,對地球大氣有甚麼影響?

    答:太陽活動變得活躍時,太陽耀斑爆發、日冕物質拋射等現象變得頻繁,太陽風中的高能粒子會增多,太陽釋出的極短波輻射(如X-射線、紫外線)也會增多。這些現象對地球大氣層中的電離層影響最大,對地球磁場產生擾動,影響通訊和造成極光。

      回到目錄

  2. 問:太陽活動活躍時,地球不會被加熱而導致溫度上升嗎?

    答:地球的大氣層有吸收和散射太陽輻射的作用。簡單來說,大氣吸收太陽光譜內不同波段的輻射,但主要吸收長波和極短波輻射,太陽爆發釋出的能量主要是極短波輻射,所以會被大氣高層的氣體吸收,到達地面的輻射量不多,因此對地面的溫度影響微不足道。

      回到目錄

  3. 問:長時間而言,對地球的氣候有甚麼影響?

    答:曾有研究認為太陽活動較弱時,外太空宇宙射線的粒子能較易到達地球大氣,提供凝結核,令雲較容易產生,令地球溫度降低,增加降雨。但以香港為例,多雨的年份與太陽活動週期強弱似乎沒有關係,加上近年人為氣候變化令問題複雜化,故暫時沒有充份研究證明太陽活動會對地球長時期的氣候有甚麼影響。

      回到目錄

  4. 問:對香港這麼小的一個城市的天氣又有否影響?

    答:太陽活動多寡,對一個城市的短期天氣而言,應該是沒有關係的。天氣只會跟大氣中不同尺度的天氣系統有關,如高壓脊、低壓槽、颱風等。

      回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>