Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

    Written by: LEUNG Wai-hung     September 2010

  1. In July and August 2010, severe forest fires occurred in the western part of Russia.  Smoke from many fire sources over an extensive area can be seen from the satellite picture (Figure 1).

    In 1986, parts of the western Russia, Belarus and Ukraine were contaminated by the fallout from the Chernobyl accident.  If the forest woods were burnt by the fires, radioactive materials might be released into the atmosphere. According to the analysis of the Institute of Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety in France, however, the polluted substances transferred from soil to woods have a rather low level of radioactivity.  It is expected that the radioactivity arising from burning of the forest woods would be similar to that of natural radon gas in the air.  Therefore, the fires would not pose any radioactive hazard to the residents nearby.  Nevertheless, it should be noted that the toxic smoke and particulates produced by the fires were harmful to health.

    Besides, people were concerned about whether the nuclear facilities in Russia would be affected by the forest fires. The fires had once raged near Savor, a town in western Russia with major nuclear research facilities (Figure 2). According to media reports, Russian officials said that Sarov was not affected by the fires and all explosives and radioactive substances had been temporarily removed from the town.  An 8-kilometre trench was also dug by the Russian army to prevent the fires spreading to Sarov.

    Readers may be interested to know whether the particulates released by the Russian forest fires pose any threats to Hong Kong.  The location of the fires was more than 6000 kilometres northwest of Hong Kong.  Figure 3 shows the trajectories of air reaching Hong Kong from June to August 2010. As there was no air mass coming from the northwest during the period, Hong Kong was not affected by the particulates.

    1
    Figure 1  Satellite picture showing smoke from a number of fire sources over the western part of Russia.  The red spots in the picture depicted suspected locations of the fire. (Source of image: NASA/GSFC, MODIS Rapid Response System, http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov/gallery/, image time: 11 August 2010, 09:25UTC/17:25HKT)
     
    2
    Figure 2  Map showing location of Sarov and the western part of Russia. (Source of image: Google Maps)

    2
    Figure 3  Backward trajectory of air mass reaching Hong Kong from June to August 2010

  1. References:

  2. "MODIS Rapid Response System", Goddard Space Flight Center, NASA.
  3. Institut De Radioprotection Et De Sureté Nucléaire (Institute of Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety), France.
  4. CNN World News.
  5. BBC News.


  6.   Back to content

Last revision date: <22 Jan 2013>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

    撰文:梁偉鴻     2010年9月


  1. 在2010年7月和8月,俄羅斯西部地區發生嚴重山林大火,火場面積龐大,從衛星雲圖可看到多處火頭冒出的濃煙﹙圖一﹚。

    俄羅斯西部、白俄羅斯和烏克蘭部份地區在1986年切爾諾貝爾核電廠洩漏輻射而受污染。如這些地區受到山火波及,林木燃燒時便會把放射性污染物釋放到空氣 中。但根據法國放射保護和核安全研究所的分析指出,從泥土進入植物的污染物放射性水平頗低,預料因燃燒林木所釋出的物質放射性水平和自然界中存在的氡氣放 射性差不多。因此,山火不會對鄰近地區的居民造成輻射污染的威脅,但是燃燒所產生的有害濃煙及微粒會直接影響健康。

    另外,人們亦擔心俄羅斯境內核設施的安全是否受山火威脅。大火曾一度逼近俄羅斯西部城市薩洛夫(Sarov),此處為俄國主要的核研究設施所在地(圖 二)。據報導,俄羅斯當局表示薩洛夫並沒有受到山火波及,他們已從薩洛夫暫時移離所有放射性及爆炸性物資。軍隊亦掘了一條長8公里的坑道,阻止火勢向薩洛 夫蔓延。

    讀者或有興趣知道這次俄羅斯山火釋放出的微粒會否影響香港。俄羅斯發生山火的地點在香港西北超過6000公里。圖三顯示2010年6月至8月抵達香港之氣 團路線圖,並沒有從西北面過來的。因此不會對香港造成影響。

    1
    圖一︰衛星圖像顯示俄羅斯西部有多處火頭冒出濃煙,紅點表示懷疑發生山火的位置。(圖片來源: NASA/GSFC, MODIS Rapid Response System, http://rapidfire.sci.gsfc.nasa.gov/gallery/, 拍攝時間: 2010年8月11日09:25UTC/17:25HKT)

    2
    圖二︰俄羅斯西部地區及城市薩洛夫(Sarov)位置圖。(圖片來源: Google Maps)

    3
    圖三︰2010年6月至8月抵達香港之氣團路線圖


    參考:

  2. "MODIS Rapid Response System", Goddard Space Flight Center, NASA.
  3. Institut De Radioprotection Et De Sureté Nucléaire (Institute of Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety), France.
  4. CNN World News.
  5. BBC News.


  6.   回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>