Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version


    Written by: CHEUNG Sai-kit     September 2010

    This article is about how ionizing radiation is produced from radioactive decay. To learn more about the basics of ionizing radiation, please visit the Hong Kong Observatory website: 
    http://www.weather.gov.hk/education/dbcp/radiation/eng/r7.htm

    Alpha (α) decay is the disintegration of a heavier nucleus (with higher atomic number) into a lighter nucleus (with lower atomic number) through the emission of an alpha particle. The emitted alpha particle (or alpha radiation) is a Helium-4 nucleus with two neutrons and two protons. Nearly all of the Helium in the atmosphere of the Earth is the by-product in alpha decay of heavy radionuclides like Uranium-238 and Thorium-234. There are two natural forces that are relevant to an alpha decay in a nucleus. The first one is the electromagnetic repulsive force between the protons in the alpha particle and those in the rest of the nucleus, which causes the instability of a nucleus. The second one is the 'strong' attractive force1 that confines the nucleons (protons and neutrons) to a small core. The balance between these two forces comprises a well-like nuclear barrier that forbids an alpha particle to leave the nucleus, just like a rigid impenetrable wall (see the diagram below).

    Normally, an alpha particle in the nuclear well does not have enough energy to overcome the barrier. Here comes the puzzle - if an alpha particle cannot overcome the barrier, how can it escape from a nucleus in an alpha decay? This problem was solved by the theoretical physicist George Gamow in 1929 by using quantum theory. The answer is that the alpha particle can penetrate the wall! In the microscopic world, a particle is able to pass through a barrier. This strange phenomenon is known as 'quantum tunneling effect'2, and the probability of occurrence of this effect is tiny yet non-zero! As an alpha particle in a nucleus repeatedly bounces against the repulsive barrier at very high frequency, ultimately it will escape from the nucleus. Notwithstanding the small tunneling probability, it does not take long to observe a radioactive decay because there are already an enormous number of radionuclides in a small radioactive substance. For example, there are almost 2.5x1018 nuclei in each mg of Uranium-238 substance, thus on average there are 0.4 billion disintegrations in one second!
     

    1
    Figure:  A trapped alpha particle repeatedly bounces against the wall of the nuclear barrier. The alpha particle has a non-zero probability to pass through the barrier, and thus eventually it will escape from the nucleus.

    Remarks:

  1. The 'strong' attractive force here refers to the strong nuclear force, which is the strongest among the four fundamental forces in nature. It is 60 times stronger than the electromagnetic force in a nucleus but its range of influence is also much shorter.
  2. The occurrence of quantum tunneling relies on the wave nature of a particle. According to quantum mechanics, the probability to find a particle in any region is proportional to the integration of the squares of wave amplitude in that region. As the quantum wave of an alpha particle in a nucleus extends to the region outside the barrier, the probability to find the alpha particle outside is not zero.

    References:

  1. "Alpha decay", Wikipedia.
  2. "The New Quantum Universe", by T. Hey and P. Walters, Cambridge University Press, 2003.
  3. "Introductory Nuclear Physics", by K.S. Krane, Wiley, 1987.
  4. "Introduction to Nuclear and Particle Physics", by A. Das and T. Ferbel, John Wiley and Sons, 1993.


  5.  Back to content Back to content

Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF


    撰文:張世傑     2010年9月


    這篇文章是關於電離輻射如何由放射性衰變中產生出來,如果你想知道有關電離輻射的介紹,請參考香港天文台有關網頁:
    http://www.weather.gov.hk/education/dbcp/radiation/chi/r7.htm

    α衰變是一些較重(即擁有較大原子數)的原子核透過放射一個α粒子,變成較輕(即擁有較小原子數)原子核的分裂過程。被放射出來的α粒子(或α輻射)是一 個擁有兩個中子和兩個質子的氦-4原子核。在地球大氣中的氦幾乎全部都是由一些較重的放射性核素如鈾-238和釷-234,在α衰變中放射出來的副產物。 原子核中有兩種自然力和α衰變有關。 第一種力是α粒子內的質子和原子核內其餘的質子之間的電磁排斥力,它是使原子核變得不穩定的原因。第二種力是將核子(包括質子和中子)限制在細小核心的 『強』吸引力1。這兩種力之間的平衡構成了一個井形的核子屏障,禁止α粒子離開原子核,就像一道牢不可破 的堅固牆壁(見下圖)。

    在一般情形下,一個α粒子是沒有足夠的能量越過核屏障的。但是難題就來了:如果α粒子不能越過屏障,為何它能夠在α衰變中從原子核中逃脫出來呢?這個問題 是由理論物理學家喬治‧伽莫夫(George Gamow)在1929年利用量子理論解決的,答案就是α粒子能夠穿越牆壁!原來在微觀世界中,粒子是能夠穿透屏障的。這個奇異的現象稱為量子穿隧效應 2,它發生的機會率雖然極小,但卻不等如零!由於原子核內的α粒子不斷以高頻率撞擊核屏 障,它最終都能夠逃離原子核。雖然穿隧的機會率很小,但是我們並不 需要等待很長的時間,才能觀測到一次放射性衰變。這是因為在小量的放射性物質內,已經有數量龐大的放射性核素。舉例來說,每毫克的鈾-238物質內包含了 大約2.5x1018個原子核,所以平均每秒鐘便有4億個原子核發生分裂!

     
1
圖︰一個被囚禁的α粒子會不斷撞擊核屏障的牆壁。
由於α粒子穿透屏障的機會率不等於零,所以它最終都會逃離原子核。

    註:

  1. 這裡的『強』吸引力所指的是強核力,是自然界四種基礎力之中最強的。在原子核中 它比電磁力強60倍,但是它的有效範圍也短很多。
  2. 量子穿隧效應跟粒子的波動性質有關。根據量子力學,在任何區域內找到某個粒子的機會率,是與這個粒子的波幅的平 方在這個區域內的積分成正比。由於原子核內 的α粒子的量子波延伸到屏障外的區域,所以在外面找到它的機會率並不等於零。

    參考:

  1. "Alpha decay",維基百科。
  2. "The New Quantum Universe", by T. Hey and P. Walters, Cambridge University Press, 2003.
  3. "Introductory Nuclear Physics", by K.S. Krane, Wiley, 1987.
  4. "Introduction to Nuclear and Particle Physics", by A. Das and T. Ferbel, John Wiley and Sons, 1993.


  5.  回到目錄 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>