Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

    Written by: CHAN Ying-wa     September 2010

  1. Nuclear fusion powers the stars.  The Sun through nuclear fusion provides heat energy for the Earth so that it can attain suitable temperatures for the breeding of life.

    With the growing concern on global warming in recent years, scientists are pursuing actively new energy technology so as to cut down the reliance on the use of fossil fuels.  Nuclear fusion is an ideal choice as it can provide clean energy with no release of carbon dioxide and long-lived nuclear waste is not produced.  The fusion fuel used is Deuterium (D) and Lithium (Li).  Deuterium is an isotope of Hydrogen.  Water provides large amount of Deuterium while Lithium can be found in a lot of different matters in our planet.  In simple terms, nuclear fusion can proceed as follows:

    equations
       

    For the D-T fusion fuel to merge as in reaction (1) above, it is necessary to provide a very high temperature environment (15 million oC).  In such high temperatures, the D-T fusion fuel will be ionized to become plasma which is composed of high speed positively charged ions and negatively charged electrons.  To avoid the D-T plasma going unstable, one of the methods is to employ a strong magnetic field to confine its motion.

    As early as in 1946, scientists have begun developing nuclear fusion technology, in particular, the magnetic confinement method to control the movement of plasma.  In the late 70s of the last Century, the European started the Joint European Torus (JET) project and the related nuclear fusion power plant was constructed in the United Kingdom (Figure 1).  In the 1990s, the plant successfully produced a fusion power of 16 Megawatt, lasting for a few seconds.

    1 
    Figure 1:    The inner structure of the fusion reactor of the Joint European Torus project
    (Source of photo: EFDA-JET)

    In 2007, a much larger scale project called "International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER)" began.  The project's aim is to produce 500 Megawatt fusion power lasting for around 8 minutes within the 21st Century.  The fusion reactor is now being built at Cadarachea in southern France.  It is hoped that this project can enable further breakthrough of the nuclear fusion technology, easing the future energy crisis faced by mankind.

  1. References:
     
  2. "Fusion: the energy of the Universe", by Gary M.McCracken and Peter Stott, Complementary Science Series, Elsevier Academic Press, 2005.
  3. "Nuclear Energy: An introduction to the Concepts, Systems, and Applications of Nuclear Processes", by Raymond L. Murray, 6th edition, Elsevier Academic Press, 2009.
  4. "Fusion for energy" website
  5. "JET" (Joint European Torus) website


  6.   Back to content

 

Last revision date: <21 Feb 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

    撰文:陳營華     2010年9月


  1. 核聚變被喻為恆星的能量泉源。太陽透過核聚變所產生的能量,提供地球所需的熱能以達至合適的溫度來孕育生命。

    近年面對全球暖化問題,科學家正努力開拓新的能源技術以減少使用化石燃料。核聚變是一理想選擇,因它提供潔淨的能源,不排放二氧化碳及不產生長壽命的核廢 料,當中所使用的燃料為氘﹙Deuterium, D﹚及鋰﹙Lithium, Li﹚,氘為氫的同位素。水含大量的氘,而地球蘊藏不少含鋰的物質。簡單來說,核聚變包含以下過程:
     
程式

  1. 要D-T核聚變燃料進行程式﹙1﹚的合併過程,需提供非常高的溫度﹙攝氏1千5百萬度以上﹚,而高溫的環境使D-T核聚變燃料處於等離子狀態,充滿著高速 的離子和電子。要避免D-T等離子的流動出現不穩定情況,其中一種方法是利用極強的磁場來控制其流動變化。

    早於1946年,科學家已開始研發核聚變技術,特別是採用磁力來控制等離子流動的方法。上世紀70年代末,歐洲開展「聯合環形加速器」﹙Joint European Torus,簡稱JET﹚計劃,在英國建造了相關的核聚變反應堆﹙圖1﹚,並於90年代成功地產生約16兆瓦的能量,維持數秒。
     
1
圖1    「歐洲聯合環形加速器」的內部結構
﹙圖片來源:EFDA-JET﹚。

  1. 2007年,一個更大規模的「國際熱核實驗反應堆」計劃﹙International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor,簡稱 ITER﹚正式展開,目標是在21世紀內透過核聚變科技產生高達500兆瓦的能量,維持約8分鐘。現時已在法國 南部城市Cadarache建造相關的核聚 變反應堆。期望這計劃能使核聚變技術得到進一步的突破,以舒緩未來人類所面對的能源危機。
     
  1. 參考:
     
  2. "Fusion: the energy of the Universe", by Gary M.McCracken and Peter Stott, Complementary Science Series, Elsevier Academic Press, 2005.
  3. "Nuclear Energy: An introduction to the Concepts, Systems, and Applications of Nuclear Processes", by Raymond L. Murray, 6th edition, Elsevier Academic Press, 2009.
  4. "Fusion for energy" website
  5. "JET" (Joint European Torus) website


  6.   回到目錄

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>