Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

    Written by: CHAN Chik-cheung   September 2010

  1. Generally speaking, the effects of ionizing radiation to human bodies (which are invariably detrimental to health) can be classified into two categories: "Deterministic effects" and "Stochastic effects".

    Deterministic effects

    Based on a large number of experiments involving animals and other researches, further supplemented by theoretical studies, it was discovered that certain effects on human beings will always occur when the radiation doses absorbed by a human being reaches a certain level, the "threshold". The severity of these effects will increase with increasing radiation doses. However, below the threshold, the effect will be absent.  This kind of effects is called "deterministic effects".  Examples are cataract and  erythema. The International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP) considers that if the annual radiation doses to the lens of the eyes of radiation workers are restricted to 150 mSv, cataract is unlikely to occur during his/her life assuming a working period of 50 years. 

    Deterministic effect is analogous to hitting somebody's head with your fist.  When you hit him very gently, there is basically no effect on him.  If you increase the force a little, there is still no effect on him.  However when you increase the force to a certain point, he will feel painful.  As you further increase the force, he will be injured.  Pain and injury are bound to occur when the force is increased to a certain extent.

    Stochastic effects

    Studies also show that certain effects may or may not occur when somebody is exposed to ionizing radiation. These are called stochastic effects. The probability of having the effects is proportional to the radiation dose absorbed. There is no threshold in that even the smallest amount of radiation absorbed may slightly increase the chance of stochastic effect. On a contrary, the severity of stochastic effects is independent of the absorbed radiation dose. One example is radiation induced cancer. ICRP considers that the chance of contracting fatal cancer will increase by 5/100,000 for 1 mSv of radiation dose absorbed.

    Stochastic effect is analogous to winning the Mark Six. When you bet on Mark Six,  there is no guarantee that you will win.  You may or may not win.  When you put on more bet, the chance you will win also increases.  Again, there is no guarantee that you will win with more bet. On the contrary, reducing your bet does not mean that you will not win.  You still have a chance to win albeit the chance is smaller.

     
      Back to content

Last revision date: <22 Jan 2013>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

    撰文:陳積祥     2010年9月


  1. 一般來說,輻射照射對人體所做成的效應﹙全都是對健康有害的﹚,通常分為「確定性效應」和「隨機性效應」兩大類。

    確定性效應

    通過大量的動物實驗和其它實驗研究,再加上理論探討,科學家發現當劑量增加到一定水平﹙即「劑量閾值」﹚後,一些有害的效應就一定出現,在劑量愈大時,對人的損害愈嚴重。但當劑量低於「劑量閾值」時,這類效應就察覺不到。這類效應稱為「確定性效應」。例子有白內障和皮膚損傷等。國際輻射防護委員會﹙ICRP﹚認為,只要把輻射工作者的眼晶體所受的劑量限制在每年150毫希以下,他們的一生﹙假設工作五十年﹚都不會出現因輻射誘發的白內障。

    確定性效應有如你用拳打某人的頭,當你輕輕打他時,他基本沒有影響。如你稍為加大力度,對他仍沒影響。但如你繼續加大力量到某個程度時,他就會感覺到痛楚。如你仍繼續加大力量,他可能會受傷。當你用的力度超過某個程度時,痛楚和受傷是一定會出現。

    隨機性效應

    實驗研究亦顯示,在一定的照射條件下,某些對人體的效應,有可能出現,也可能不出現,這種效應稱為隨機性效應,它發生的機率與劑量有關,但不存在劑量閾值。即使人體吸收的輻射劑量十分少,隨機性效應仍有些微機會出現。而隨機性效應的嚴重程度是不受吸收劑量的大小影響。輻射引致的癌病是一個例子。國際輻射防護委員會﹙ICRP﹚認為,每1毫希的輻射劑量會令人患致命癌症的機會增加5/100,000。

    隨機性效應有如買六合彩。當你投注時,無人能保證你一定中獎,你有可能中,也可能不中。如你加大注碼,你中獎的機會就增加,但仍不能保證你一定中獎。相反,你減少注碼時,不表示你不會中獎,祇是中獎的機會不大。


      回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>