Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

        Written by: MOK Hing-yim   December 2009

      Influenza epidemics, which can mainly be classified into A type and B type, occur throughout the world.  The activity of influenza has a clear and consistent seasonal distribution in the temperate regions with annual winter peaks.  In contrast, the temporal pattern of influenza is more variable in the tropical and subtropical regions, where multiple peaks can occur at different periods within a year.  To understand the seasonal variation of influenza activity in Hong Kong, the Observatory collaborated with the Microbiology Department of the Chinese University of Hong Kong to conduct a study on the relationship between weather and influenza activity in Hong Kong. The study analysed the information of the laboratory-confirmed influenza A and B cases admitted to the Prince of Wales Hospital and the Observatory's weather data recorded at Sha Tin from 1997 to 2006.

      The study found that in general there were more influenza A than influenza B associated admissions in Hong Kong. The two types of influenza showed a different relationship with weather conditions. Influenza A had two seasonal peaks in Hong Kong which occurred respectively in winter/spring months (February to March) and summer months (June to July). This observation is in contrast with the situation in temperate regions where only a single winter peak is observed annually.  Influenza B also had a clear winter/spring peak, but its activity during the summer months was more variable.

      It was also found that cold and humid conditions were associated with a higher level of activity of both influenza A and B in winter/spring months. In contrast, hot and humid conditions in summer months were associated with a higher level of activity of influenza A, but the association was not obvious for influenza B.

      Furthermore, for influenza A, a shift in the relative magnitude of the two seasonal peaks was observed.  In the early part of the study period (1998-2000), the magnitude of the winter/spring peak of Influenza A was higher than the summer peak. Towards the latter part of the study period (2004-2006), the magnitude of the summer peak had become larger than the winter/spring peak (see figure).

      figure1
      Number of weekly admissions associated with influenza A to the Prince of Wales Hospital from 1997 to 2006

       content Back to content
    Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

    撰文:莫慶炎    2009年12月


    流行性感冒(下簡稱流感)是世界各地最常見的疾病之一,而大部份的流感可分為甲型或乙型兩類。在温帶地區,流感的活躍度有很清晰的季節性,每年在冬天都會出現一個高峰。相反,在熱帶及亞熱帶地區的情况比較複雜,每年都可能出現超過一個高峰,出現的時間每年亦會不相同。為了了解流感活躍度在香港的季節性變化,天文台與香港中文大學醫學院微生物學系進行了「香港天氣與流感活躍度之關係」的研究。分析了1997年至2006年經沙田威爾斯親王醫院實驗室確診的甲型及乙型流感入院個案,以及天文台在沙田區錄得的天氣數據。

    研究發現,香港因患上甲型流感而入院的人數一般較乙型流感多,而兩類流感的活躍度與天氣的關係則各有差異。在香港,甲型流感有兩個季節性高峰,分別為冬季/春季(二月至三月)及夏季(六月至七月)。這個現象有別於甲型流感在溫帶地區每年只在冬季出現一個高峰的情況。乙型流感方面,於冬季/春季亦有一個明顯的高峰,但每年夏季的活躍度則有較大的差異。

    研究又發現,甲型及乙型流感在冬季/春季期間高度活躍,這與寒冷及潮濕的天氣有關。而在夏天,炎熱及潮濕的天氣與甲型流感的高活躍度有關,但與乙型流感活躍度的關係則不明顯。

    另外,甲型流感在兩個季節高峰的相對強度亦出現變化。在早期(1998年至2000年),冬季/春季流感高峰強度明顯高於夏季,但到了近年(2004年至2006年),夏季流感高峰強度卻高於冬季/春季(見下圖)。

圖1
1997年至2006年威爾斯親王醫院每週甲型流感入院人數

     

     回到目錄 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>