Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

An Abrupt Change of Weather due to the passage of a Severe Cold Front


    Written by: HO Ka-leong, Paul       December 2010


    The difference in heat absorption between land and sea is the major reason for the formation of typical monsoon during winter and summer.  In addition to the dynamical effect due to terrain, the Tibetan Plateau over western China has a significant effect on the monsoon.  An area of high pressure associated with cold air normally forms over the Tibetan Plateau, being of one of the sources of cold air in winter.  Cold air will basically follow an anticyclonic outflow to spread southwards over China.  The winter monsoon in the Northern Hemisphere generally prevails from December to February.  There will still be outbreaks of northeast monsoon in March, or even up to May or June, but the strength and frequency decreases as season progresses.

    Below is an example on the passage of a severe cold front and its associated winter monsoon bringing an abrupt and significant change of the weather in Hong Kong on 13 March 2009.  The surface weather chart in figure 1 delineates a cold front over southern China on the morning of that day.  The cold front was expected to reach Hong Kong in the afternoon on the same day.  Before the arrival of the cold front, the weather in Hong Kong was generally calm with light breeze, mainly from the west and temperatures rose to 25oC in parts of Hong Kong in the early afternoon.  With the passage of the cold front after 3:10 p.m., winds at the Hong Kong International Airport (HKIA) turned from westerly of about 5 knots (Figure 2) to north-northwesterly of over 25 knots (Figure 3) within 5 minutes.  Gale force winds were recorded in the western parts of the New Territories and the Lantau Island.  Temperatures at the HKIA dropped from about 24oC at 3:15 p.m. to about 17oC at 4:00 p.m. (i.e. a drop of 7oC in 45 minutes) and further down to about 14oC before midnight (Figure 4).  There was a sharp rise of air pressure from 1014 hPa at 3 p.m. to 1024 hPa at 9 p.m. (i.e. an increase of about 10 hPa in 6 hours) (Figure 5).  The onset of an intense winter monsoon will bring a significant change of weather within a short period of time.  Forecasters will provide not only the expected timing of the arrival of the cold front, but also the effect on the weather elements before and after the passage of the cold front to the public.  The public should take note of the weather forecast especially when there are significant weather changes.  The Hong Kong Observatory will issue the Cold Weather Warning to alert members of the public to the cold weather and its associated adverse health effect.


    1
    Figure 1    Surface weather map indicating a cold front over southern China on the morning of 13 March 2009.

    2
    Figure 2    Light westerly winds prevailing over Hong Kong at 3:10 p.m. on 13 March 2009 before the arrival of the cold front.

    3
    Figure 3    North-northwesterly winds of over 25 knots affecting the HKIA after the passage of the cold front on 13 March 2009. Gale force winds were recorded over the western parts of the New Territories and Lantau.

    4
    Figure 4    Temperatures at the HKIA dropping from about 24oC at 3:15 p.m. to about 17oC at 4 p.m. and further dropping to about 14oC before midnight (red line) with the passage of cold front on 13 March 2009.

    5
    Figure 5    A rise of the atmospheric pressure from 1014 hPa at 3 p.m. to 1024 hPa at 9 p.m. on 13 March 2009.


    content Back to content
Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

強冷鋒過境帶來的天氣突變


   撰文:何家亮      2010年12月

    由於海陸吸收熱能量的差異,產生了冬季和夏季的典型季候風天氣。在中國西部的青藏高原對季候風的影響,既有熱力作用,又有地形動力作用。冬季的青藏高原是其中一個冷空氣的來源,並形成冷高壓,冷空氣基本上會以反氣旋式外流向南擴散。北半球的冬季一般是由 12月至2月,但是冬季季候風的爆發在3月也時有發生,甚至乎到五、六月也可能發生,祇不過其強度和發生次數隨季節轉變而減少罷了。

    以下的例子是發生在2009年3月13日,一道強冷鋒及其相關的冬季季候風為香港帶來明顯的天氣突變。從圖一的地面天氣圖可以看到一道冷鋒在當日早上已到達華南地區,預料這道冷鋒會在同日下午橫過香港。冷鋒到達香港前,香港的天氣仍相當平靜,吹輕微的偏西風,香港部份地區錄得攝氏25度高溫。當冷鋒在下午 3時10分後橫過香港時,香港國際機場在5鐘內由5海浬左右的偏西風(圖2)轉吹超過25海浬的西北偏北風(圖3) ,新界西及大嶼山西部更錄得烈風。香港國際機場的氣溫由下午3時15分的攝氏24度急降至下午4時的攝氏17度(即在45分鐘內下跌7度) ,並再進一步下跌至午夜前的攝氏14度(圖4);大氣壓力也由下午3時的1014百帕迅速上升至晚上9時的1024百帕 (即6小時內上升大約10百帕)(圖5) 。因此,強烈的冬季季候風可在短時間內引致天氣出現突變。預報員除為市民提供預計冷鋒到達的時間外,還預測冷鋒到達前後的天氣轉變。市民應留意天氣預報,尤其是有明顯的天氣轉變時。香港天文台亦會發出寒冷天氣警告來提醒市民天氣寒冷及其對健康帶來的壞影響。

    1
    圖1    地面天氣圖顯示一道冷鋒在2009年3月13日早上已到達華南地區。
     
    2
    圖2    2009年3月13日下午3時10分在冷鋒到達前香港大部份地區吹輕微偏西風。

    3
    圖3    香港國際機場在2009年3月13日冷鋒橫過後轉吹超過25海浬的西北偏北風,新界西及大嶼山西部更錄得烈風。
     
    4
    圖4    紅線顯示氣溫在2009年3月13日冷鋒過境後由下午3時15分錄得的攝氏24度下降至下午4時的攝氏17度,之後再逐步下跌至午夜前的攝氏14度。
     
    5
    圖5    紅線顯示大氣壓力在2009年3月13日由下午3時錄得的1014百帕上升至晚上9時的1024百帕。


    content回到內容

       
最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>