Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Winter monsoon - from the perspective of Strong Monsoon Signal


    Written by: CHEUNG Ping       December 2010


    Winter monsoon normally blows from the north or from the east. The Strong Monsoon Signal (SMS) will be issued when winds associated with the monsoon are over or are expected to exceed 40 kilometres per hour anywhere near sea level in Hong Kong. Depending on the time of the season, and the juxtaposition of various weather systems, surges of cold air will arrive in Hong Kong as northerlies, northeasterlies or easterlies. The SMS will alert the public of the direction most exposed to high winds.  Below, we shall see how the wind direction given in the SMSs can shed light on some seasonal properties of the winter monsoon.

    Number of occurrence of strong monsoons from different directions
    December January February
    Northerlies 68 63 31
    Easterlies 35 29 72
    Table 1: Statistics of the wind direction as indicated in the SMSs issued by the Observatory during January 1971 to October 2010. The occurrence of strong northeasterly winds was much less frequent and therefore its statistics were not shown.

    Table 1 reveals that in winter, the occasions of cold air arriving in Hong Kong from the north are about twice of that from the east; and that this ratio reverses towards the end of the season. There, in fact, is a reason for this.

    1
    Figure 1Surface weather chart on 27 February 2008

    2
    Figure 2: Surface weather chart on 24 February 2008

    In winter, cold air accumulating over Siberia spreads outward, and the cold air mass moves to the east while it extends towards the south. Figure 1 and figure 2 show a typical surface weather map for a northerly surge, and an easterly surge, respectively on 27 February 2008 and 24 February 2008. The Observatory issued SMS on both days. With significant cold air outbreaks, surges extend southward rapidly and the high pressure area associated with the air mass will be situated to the north or northwest of Hong Kong, bringing northerly winds to the territory. When the outbreaks are weaker, or being affected by other weather systems, the cold air mass would have normally moved over to eastern China. The cold air will then reach the south China coastal areas passing through the Taiwan Strait, bringing easterlies to Hong Kong. Strong northerlies in winter will bring dry air and significant drop in temperatures due to large thermal difference between the coastal and inland areas. Whereas for easterlies, part of the cold air mass is over the seas and modified by the warmer sea waters, temperature drop is generally less and the air is less dry. However, because of less surface friction over waters, and the establishment of an easterly ridge over the coastal areas of southeast China due to terrain effect, winds from the east could easily reach strong force, necessitating the issuance of SMS even under weaker cold surges.


    3
    Figure 3: Number of SMS plotted monthly
    (Jan 1971 - Oct 2010)

    Figure 3 shows the distribution of the northeast monsoon when other seasons are also considered. Cold air may reach the south China coastal areas commencing in autumn, dominated by easterly surges. During the peak season of the northeast monsoon, the majority will be northerly surges. In spring, easterlies take over again and the number of the northeast monsoon in Hong Kong drops quickly.

    Even though the above analysis is based fully on the statistics of Strong Monsoon Signals and the northeast monsoon cases are not exhaustive, they are indicative guidance on the understanding of the process of strong cold air outbreaks over the South China coastal areas.


    content Back to content
Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

從強烈季候風信號出發看冬季季候風


   撰文:張冰      2010年12月

    冬季季候風一般從北面或東面吹來。當本港任何接近海平面的地方的季候風之平均風速已經或將會超過每小時 40公里,天文台便會發出強烈季候風信號。在冬季不同時間,隨著各天氣系統的配合,冷空氣可從北面、東北面或東面抵達香港,而天文台亦會在強烈季候風信號中提醒市民哪個方向較為當風。從天文台發出強烈季候風信號所警示時的風向,我們可以看到強烈冬季季候風的一些季節特性。

    不同方向強烈季候風出現次數
    十二月 一月 二月
    北風 68 63 31
    東風 35 29 72
    表一: 在1971年1月至2010年10月期間天文台發出的強烈季候風信號所警示風向的統計。由於強烈東北風的數目明顯較少,故沒有顯示。

    表一的統計數據顯示,在嚴冬時節冷空氣沿北路扺達香港的次數比沿東面來的約多一倍,而近季尾則剛好相反。這並不是沒有原因的。

    1
    圖一:2008年2月27日地面天氣圖   

    2
    圖二:2008年2月24日地面天氣圖

    在冬天,集結在西伯利亞地區的冷空氣向外擴散,寒潮向南伸展的同時亦向東移動。圖一及圖二顯示典型的北風潮及東風潮的地面天氣形勢,分別發生在2008年2月27日及2月24日,這兩天天文台都有發出強烈季候風信號。冷空氣爆發強烈並向南急速伸展時,與冷氣團相關的高壓區位於香港以北或西北,為本港帶來北風。而當冷空氣爆發較弱或受其他天氣系統影響時,冷氣團的重心通常已移至中國東部,冷空氣往往會沿台灣海峽扺達華南沿岸,並為本港帶來東風。冬天吹大北風時,由於沿岸及內陸地區溫差大,本港溫度會明顯下降,空氣乾燥。當本港吹東風時,因為部分冷氣團已移到海上並受到較暖的海水調節,溫度的跌幅較小,濕度亦較高。由於東風沿水路吹來,摩擦阻力較小,加上受因地形效應而在中國東南沿岸地區形成的東風脊影響,東風潮風力可以相當大,所以即使部分較弱的冷空氣爆發亦需要發出強烈季候風信號。

    3
    圖三:強烈季候風信號按月分佈圖表
    (根據1971年1月至2010年10月資料)

    如果連同其他季節發出的強烈季候風信號來看,東北季候風的分佈則如圖三所示。入秋以後開始有冷空氣到達華南沿岸地區,多以東風為主。進入冬季後,東北季候風高峰期以北風寒潮為主打,到春天時東北季候風又是東風佔多數,而發生的次數則迅速下降。

    上述均以分析強烈季候風信號發出的日子為基礎,並不包括所有影響本港的東北季候風。但對於瞭解抵達華南沿岸地區的較強冷空氣爆發過程,具有一定指示作用。


    content回到內容

       
最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>