Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

The northeast monsoon and its effects to the weather of southern China in autumn


    Written by: HO Pak-sing       December 2010


    The northeast monsoon in China is basically attributed to the cold air and high pressure area residing over the Asian Continent in the latter part of a year.  The air that flows from high to low pressure regions is called the northeast monsoon.  In normal circumstances, the northeast monsoon starts to affect southern China in autumn.

    In Hong Kong, autumn usually begins from mid-September to late October.  Since autumn this year (2010), several surges of the northeast monsoon and their replenishments had affected Hong Kong.  Local temperatures dropped from over 30oC in summer to around 20oC.  Hot weather was replaced by mild conditions with winds turning from southwesterlies/southeasterlies to northeasterlies/northerlies.  One would find that cumulonimbus clouds and the associated showers became rare, while stratocumulus clouds would occasionally bring rain to the territory.  All these changes are related to the northeast monsoon. 

    From early to mid-September, the subtropical ridge(1) shifts southwards from 29-30 to 24-25 degree North (latitude) in concert with the weakening of the summer monsoon, while the cold high pressure system establishes itself over northern China.  Northerly winds at the 850 hecto-pascal (hpa) level (around 1500 metres above ground) spread from Changjiang region southeastwards, signifying the establishment of the northeast monsoon.  By the end of September (around the Autumnal Equinox), cold air from the north could ride over the Nanling mountain and intrude into Guangdong.  In early October, the subtropical ridge further retreats to the south, dry and cold air from the north could then frequently reach the coastal areas of southern China.  The daily mean temperature during this period goes below 23oC with dry and windy weather.

    Apart from bringing about changes in winds and temperatures, the northeast monsoon can also affect tropical cyclones over the South China Sea.  If the northeast monsoon happens to meet the warm and moist air associated with tropical cyclones, windy and rainy weather could follow and is often called "Wet Cold Dew Wind" (WCDW) weather in Mainland China.  One such example is the heavy rain episode at Hainan in early October this year.  The heavy rain severely affected the harvest of late crop and vegetable.  The interval between two WCDW occasions is usually 6 to 8 days, being shorter in northern Guangdong and longer in the south.  During a WCDW occasion, the average daily rainfall is in general in the order of 30mm but it could be over 100mm in the close proximity of a tropical cyclone.  The northeast monsoon helps to intensify the rain-bands associated with the tropical cyclone and significantly raises the probability of daily rainfall over 100mm in the Hainan province and the coastal areas of Guangdong.  Similar weather affected Hong Kong between 10 and 11 October 2010.  At that time, the combined effect of a low depression area and the northeast monsoon brought over 50mm of rainfall to Shatin in Hong Kong (Fig.1).  The Strong Monsoon Warning Signal was in force during that period.  Although a low pressure area instead of a tropical cyclone is involved in this occasion, it is a good example of the interaction of the northeast monsoon with warm and moist air associated with the low pressure area, bringing an intense rainband to southern China.

    1
    Fig 1: Weather chart for 1400 HKT 10 Oct 2010

    Apart from enhancing the rainbands of tropical cyclones, the northeast monsoon can also affect their movement.  Tropical cyclones over the South China Sea around the autumn equinox frequently makes landfall along the coastal areas of Guangdong and the Hainan province.  Typhoon Damrey (25/9/2005), Tropical Storm Francisco (24/9/2007) (Figures 2 and 3), and Typhoon Ketsana (28/9/2009) are a few examples.

    2
    Fig 2: Weather Chart (with observation) for 0800 HKT 24 Sep 2007
     
    3
    Fig 3: Track of Tropical Storm FRANCISCO

    Tropical cyclone usually moves along the southern edge of the subtropical ridge in October and November, crossing the Bashi Strait or Balintang Channel or the northern part of Philippines and entering the South China Sea.  They would then be steered to the southwest by the strengthening northeast monsoon to affect the coastal areas of Guangdong.  When the tropical cyclone encounters the northeast monsoon, it usually moves on a westward track and makes landfall to the west of the Pearl River Delta region or coastal areas of Hainan.  However, there are exceptions and Severe Typhoon Megi in 2010 was an example.  Movement of tropical cyclones in summer is usually dominated by the steering flow at the 500hpa level (around 6000 metres above ground) while the role of the 850hpa level flow becomes more prominent in autumn.  Because of the different air flow at different altitudes, the track of a tropical cyclone is not straight forward.  Between 20 and 22 October 2010, the effect of the northeast monsoon to the movement of Megi over the South China Sea presented a challenge to weather forecasters (Figures 4 and 5).  It eventually took a northerly track and landed on the coast of Fujian, bringing severe damages to nearby areas.  Fortunately, there was  no major impact to Hong Kong. 


    4
    Fig 4: Weather Chart (with observation) for 0800 HKT 21 Oct 2010
     
    5
    Fig 5: Track of Sever Typhoon MEGI


    References:

      The references in Chinese only, are available here.
      .

    content Back to content
Last revision date: <19 Feb 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

東北季候風及其在秋季對華南天氣的影響


   撰文:何柏勝      2010年12月

    影響中國之東北季候風的形成是由於在冬半年亞洲大陸上的空氣溫度低、氣壓高,氣流從高壓區流向低壓區,稱為東北季候風。一般的情况下,東北季候風在秋天開始影響華南。

    香港入秋多在9月中至10月下旬。今年﹙2010年﹚剛入秋已先後有數次東北季候風及其補充抵港,氣溫由盛夏的攝氏30多度明顯下降到20度左右。天氣由炎熱變得和暖,風向亦普遍由西南/東南轉為東北/北。抬起頭來,你會發覺天上大量「積雨雲」的情况已不多見,驟雨也減少,反而偶有「層積雲」帶來雨水。 這一切背後的原因都和東北季候風有著緊密的關係。

    9月初至中旬夏季季候風減弱,而副熱帶高壓(1)﹙簡稱副高﹚脊線平均位置從北緯29-30度南移到北緯 24-25度,華北低層的冷高壓系統加強,在高空850百帕斯卡層﹙大約在地面以上1500米﹚的偏北氣流從長江北岸向東南移,東北季候風便開始建立。大約到9月下旬秋分時節,北方冷空氣南下越過南嶺,侵入廣東。到10月初寒露季節時,副高再度南撤,乾燥的冷空氣頻繁南侵到華南沿岸,日平均氣溫下降到23度以下,形成乾燥的大風天氣。

    其實除了背景風場和氣溫的變化外,在中國南海的熱帶氣旋亦會受東北季候風的影響,例如東北季候風恰好遇上熱帶氣旋帶來的暖濕氣流,便會產生出風雨交加的天氣,在國內稱為「濕寒露風」。今年海南島10月初便經歷「濕寒露風」天氣,大雨為患,日照少,影響晚稻和蔬菜產量。通常兩次濕寒露風過程間有一定的間歇期,平均是6至8天。在粵北時間會較短,而南部則較長。在濕寒露風過程中,很多時平均日雨量是30毫米,如遇上熱帶氣旋很近時,則可超過100毫米。由於冷空氣的激發作用,可使熱帶氣旋的風雨區向偏北擴展,使廣東沿岸和海南省日雨量超過100毫米的機率大增。今年10月10日下午至 10月11日早上香港懸掛强烈季候風信號,在這兩日間在廣東沿岸的低壓區和季候風的共同效應為本港沙田帶來超過50毫米雨量﹙圖1﹚。雖然造成這次暴風雨不是熱帶氣旋而是低壓區,但基本上是它帶來的暖濕氣流與東北季候風的互動而產生影響華南的雨帶。

    1
    圖 1:等壓線天氣圖 ﹙附氣象資料﹚ 2010年10月10日 下午二時

    東北季候風除可與熱帶氣旋互動而產生雨帶外,亦可影響它們的路徑。秋分期間在南海的熱帶氣旋,在廣東沿岸至海南登陸次數比其他地區明顯偏高,而且大多在廣東西部或海南省登陸。例子有 : 颱風達維﹙Typhoon DAMREY﹚﹙25/9/2005﹚,熱帶風暴范斯高﹙Tropical Storm FRANCISCO﹚﹙24/9/2007﹚﹙圖2 和 3﹚,和颱風凱薩娜﹙Typhoon KETSANA﹚﹙28/9/2009﹚。

    2
    圖 2:等壓線天氣圖﹙附氣象觀察資料﹚2007年9月24日 早上八時
     
    3
    圖 3:熱帶風暴范斯高移動路徑圖

    10月至11月熱帶氣旋沿副高南緣移動,穿過巴士海峽或巴林塘海峽或菲律賓北部進入南海,被在這季節日漸增強的東北季候風壓向西南方向,這時的熱帶氣旋多會影響廣東沿岸。 當東北季候風和熱帶氣旋遭遇後,熱帶氣旋大多繼續西行至珠江三角洲以西至海南省沿海一帶登陸。話雖如此,但也有例外。在夏季熱帶氣旋的路徑以高層500百帕斯卡﹙大約在地面以上6000米﹚引導氣流為主導,而秋季則以850百帕斯卡引導氣流較為明顯, 因上下層引導氣流的不一致,令路徑複雜多變。如今年10月20日至10月22日早上期間,強颱風鮎魚﹙Severe Typhoon MEGI﹚和東北季候風同時出現,移動路徑很難預測﹙圖 4和 5﹚。最終它北上,在福建沿岸登陸並造成很大破壞,但對香港卻沒有很大影響。

    4
    圖 4:等壓線天氣圖﹙附氣象觀察資料﹚2010年10月21日 早上八時
     
    5
    圖 5:強颱風鮎魚移動路徑圖


    參考文獻:

    1. 天氣圖解讀及天氣預報基礎課程講義,香港天文台
    2. 廣東氣候,廣東省氣象局資料室,廣東科技出版社
    3. 東亞季風,陳隆勛、朱乾根、羅會邦,氣象出版社


    content回到內容

       
最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>