Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

The Hong Kong Observatory conducted a comprehensive review of the tropical cyclone warning system in 2006. During the review process, the Observatory reached out to different sectors of the community to consult their views. A public opinion survey was also carried out to gauge the public needs and expectations with respect to the warning system.

Starting from the tropical cyclone season in 2007, the Observatory implemented a series of measures with respect to the tropical cyclone warning system. In particular, the reference for the issue of No.3 and No.8 signals was expanded from the Victoria Harbour to a network of eight reference anemometers covering the whole of Hong Kong.

In 2013, the Observatory replaced Wetland Park by Lau Fau Shan as one of the eight reference anemometers in the tropical cyclone warning system.

With a view to improving the public understanding of the tropical cyclone warning system and encouraging a better use of the weather information provided by the Observatory, some salient points are given below in the format of questions and answers.

  1. What are the differences between the present tropical cyclone warning system and the old system just before 2007?

     

  2. In the present system, why only 8 anemometer stations but not all are chosen as the reference stations?

     

  3. What is the reason for replacing the reference station at Wetland Park by Lau Fau Shan?

     

  4. Why is the criterion for the issue of No.9 or No.10 signal different from that for No.3 or No.8 signal?

     

  5. Can the tropical cyclone warning system reflect winds in different regions of Hong Kong?

     

  6. What is the impact on wind speed when the rainband of a tropical cyclone moves across Hong Kong?

     

  7. How does the Observatory enhance the dissemination of regional wind information?

     

  8. Are aircraft operations affected by tropical cyclone warning signals?

     

  9. What should people do if they are in gales-affected region after HKO has issued the No.3 signal?

     

  10. Is it still needed to have arrangement of work suspension with the present building structures and mass transportation network?

     

  11. Is it possible for the Observatory to enhance the communication with the Education Bureau in inclement weather situations?

     


  1. What are the differences between the present tropical cyclone warning system and the old system just before 2007?

    The present tropical cyclone warning system has been in use since 2007.

    Comparing with the old tropical cyclone warning system before 2007, the present system has changed in the following aspects:

    (a) expand the reference for the issue of No.3 and No.8 signals from the Victoria Harbour to a network of eight reference anemometers near sea level covering the whole of Hong Kong (see Fig.1 and Note below);

    Figure 1
    Fig.1 Network of reference anemometers in the tropical cyclone warning system (from 2013)

     

     

    (b) issue No.3 or No.8 signal (as the case may be) when half or more anemometers in the reference network register or are expected to register strong winds or gale/storm force winds respectively and the wind condition is forecast to persist;

    (c) enhance dissemination of regional wind information. In tropical cyclone bulletins for the media, specifically indicate the locations where the winds are significantly higher than the general wind conditions in Hong Kong; and

    (d) issue an advisory in tropical cyclone bulletins that the traveling public should check with airlines before departing for the airport when weather conditions likely to cause significant disruptions to flight operations are expected.

    [Note: Lau Fau Shan station has replaced the nearby Wetland Park station as a reference anemometer station starting from 2013.]

    Back to content

  2. In the present system, why only 8 anemometer stations but not all are chosen as the reference stations?

    When devising the network of reference anemometer stations, consideration has been given to the terrain of Hong Kong being naturally separated by mountain ranges. The eight anemometers have been selected on account of their good exposure and geographical distribution. Together, they provide a broad picture of the wind condition in Hong Kong.

    Back to content

  3. What is the reason for replacing the reference station at Wetland Park by Lau Fau Shan?

    Wetland Park station has been working normally since its launch in November 2005. The station is located inside Wetland Park near Tin Shui Wai in the northwestern part of the New Territories. It is exposed to natural wetlands to its east, while some high-rise buildings are located to its far west (about 500 to 700 metres away). Generally speaking, the station is fairly well exposed. However, the density of buildings near the station has been increasing in recent years. Statistics over the years indicated that the monthly mean wind speed of Wetland Park station was on a gradual decreasing trend in the past few years. This revealed that the wind speed at Wetland Park would be decreasing under the influence of its changing surrounding environment including the construction of new buildings.

    In addition, there are planned construction projects about 300 metres to the west of the station. Buildings of 3 to 11 storeys, with the tallest one of about 50 metres high, will be constructed. This is expected to further reduce the exposure to the west of Wetland Park station. To ensure that the tropical cyclone reference anemometer network can continue to reflect the general wind condition over Hong Kong, it is necessary to review the reference station in the northwestern part of the New Territories.

    The Lau Fau Shan station is located next to the Wetland Park station. There has been no significant change in the mean wind speed at Lau Fau Shan in the past few years. The station is considered to be a suitable replacement of Wetland Park station.

    Back to content

  4. Why the criterion for the issue of No.9 or No.10 signal is different from that for No.3 or No.8 signal?

    As for No.9 and No.10 signals, they are normally meant to warn of direct or near direct hit of a typhoon. As there is enormous spatial variation of wind direction and speed near the eye of a typhoon, there is little point in making reference to winds at a single location in the consideration of signals. Thus, the HKO has all along made reference to the wind condition of the whole territory in deciding on the issue of No.9 and No.10 signals.

    Back to content

  5. Can the tropical cyclone warning system reflect winds in different regions of Hong Kong?

    Due to local topography and the built environment, wind condition in different parts of Hong Kong can vary appreciably. A numbered tropical cyclone signal can provide a general warning for the public, but it has an inherent limitation in communicating varying wind speeds at different locations. In the present system, regional wind information will be disseminated to assist people in making decisions for their arrangements.

    Back to content

  6. What is the impact on wind speed when the rainband of a tropical cyclone moves across Hong Kong?

    When the rainband of a tropical cyclone is close to or moves across Hong Kong, it is usually accompanied with squalls. Wind speed in places of Hong Kong may abruptly increase . After the passage of the rainband, the high wind speed brought about by intense gusts usually drops in the order of ten minutes. The situation is similar to that when a squall line moves across Hong Kong, bringing short-lived severe and potentially damaging squalls.

    Back to content

  7. How does the Observatory enhance the dissemination of regional wind information?

    Regional wind information are readily available on the Observatory website, MyObservatory and from the Dial-a-weather system. The information is updated every 10 minutes. The Observatory will liaise with the media to broadcast such information on an hourly basis when wind conditions at certain locations are significantly above the level indicated by the territory-wide warning signal under the present system.

    Back to content

  8. Are aircraft operations affected by tropical cyclone warning signals?

    The tropical cyclone warning system is designed for use by the public. Aircraft operations do not depend on tropical cyclone signals. In respect of wind, aircraft operations at the airport are mainly affected by crosswinds (i.e. winds blowing across the aircraft from the side) as well as windshear and turbulence, rather than wind speed per se. Even if the No. 8 signal is in force, if the wind is blowing along the runway, it may not affect aircraft operation. On the other hand, if the wind is blowing across the runway, it may exceed the operating limit of aircraft, thus affecting aircraft operation. The traveling public should check the latest flight information and the transportation conditions to and fro the airport before departing for the airport.

    Back to content

  9. What should people do if they are in gales-affected region after HKO has issued the No.3 signal?

    If the employees have difficulties in reporting for duty during severe weather situations, they should inform their supervisors or employers as soon as practicable. The employers should give prime consideration to employees' safety both in the workplace and during their journeys to and from work. They should also adopt a flexible approach in dealing with cases of absence or late for work due to inclement weather condition. On the student side, parents should pay attention to the announcements on school arrangements made by the Education Bureau, and use their discretion in deciding whether or not to send their children to school based on the condition in their regions. In addition, the Education Bureau and the Labour Department will help reinforce the relevant message to schools, parents and employers.

    Back to content

  10. Is it still needed to have arrangement of work suspension with the present building structures and mass transportation network?

    The Observatory issues tropical cyclone warning based on the wind condition in Hong Kong to alert people of the general wind condition over the whole territory. It also provides regional weather information to assist members of the public and various trades and industries to take appropriate precautionary measures and make proper work arrangements. At present, various trades, industries and organisations will make reference to the guidelines provided by the Labour Department and decide their work arrangements having regard to the nature and requirements of their operations when tropical cyclone warning is in force.

    Back to content

  11. Is it possible for the Observatory to enhance the communication with the Education Bureau in inclement weather situations?

    The Observatory has been keeping close liaison with the Education Bureau (EDB) during severe weather situations. The Observatory will provide EDB with the necessary weather information in support of their decision-making on class suspension. In addition, the Observatory has also implemented a dedicated webpage for schools in its website to provide regional weather information for reference.

    Back to content

 

Last revision date: <18 Mar 2013>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

香港天文台在2006年底全面檢討了熱帶氣旋警告系統。檢討過程中,天文台主動聯絡社會不同界別人士,諮詢他們的意見,另外又進行民意調查,評估市民對警告系統的需要及期望。

自2007年風季開始,天文台已實行了一系列與熱帶氣旋警告系統相關的措施,其中擴大了發出 3 號和 8 號信號的參考範圍,由維港擴展至涵蓋全港由8個參考測風站所組成的網絡。

在2013年,天文台以「流浮山」站替代「濕地公園」站作為熱帶氣旋警告系統的8個參考測風站之一。

為加深市民對熱帶氣旋警告系統的認識及鼓勵市民善用天文台發出的資訊,以下以問與答的形式列出一些重點注意的地方。

  1. 現時的熱帶氣旋警告系統跟2007年以前的有何不同?

     

  2. 在現時的系統下,為什麼只選取 8 個測風站作為參考點?為什麼不選用所有的測風站?

     

  3. 為何需要以流浮山站取代濕地公園站作為參考測風站?

     

  4. 為何發出 9 號或 10 號的參考條件跟 3 號或 8 號信號的條件不同?

     

  5. 熱帶氣旋警告系統能否反映香港不同地區風力?

     

  6. 當熱帶氣旋的雨帶經過香港時,對風速有甚麼影響?

     

  7. 天文台怎樣增強發布地區風力情況的資料?

     

  8. 航機運作是否會受熱帶氣旋警告信號所影響?

     

  9. 當天文台發出 3 號信號而有市民所處地區受烈風影響時,該市民應該如何應對?

     

  10. 以現有的建築環境及集體運輸網絡,停工安排是否仍然有需要?

     

  11. 在惡劣天氣情況時,天文台可否加強和教育局的聯繫?

     


  1. 現時的熱帶氣旋警告系統跟2007年以前的有何不同?

    現時的熱帶氣旋警告系統自2007年以來一直沿用至今。

    目前的熱帶氣旋警告系統,相比2007年之前的舊系統,轉變包括:

    (a) 擴大發出 3 號和 8 號信號的參考範圍:由維港擴展至由 8 個涵蓋全港接近海平面的參考測風站所組成的網絡(見圖一及以下附註);

    圖一
    圖一: 熱帶氣旋警告系統的參考測風站網絡 (自2013年起)

     

    (b) 在參考網絡內半數或以上的測風站錄得或預料錄得的風速達到有關的風速限值,且據預測風勢可能持續的情況下,則會發出 3 號或 8 號信號;

    (c) 加強地區風勢資料的發放。在媒體廣播熱帶氣旋報告時,特別指出風速顯著高於香港普遍風勢的地區;及

    (d) 在預料天氣可能令航空交通嚴重受阻的情況下,在熱帶氣旋報告中提醒旅客,應在前往機場前向航空公司查詢航班情況。

    [附註: 自2013年起,「流浮山」站替代鄰近的「濕地公園」站作為參考測風站。]

    回到目錄

  2. 在現時的系統下,為什麼只選取 8 個測風站作為參考點?為什麼不選用所有的測風站?

    天文台在制訂參考測風站網絡時,是考慮了本港被不同山脈自然劃分的地勢。而被揀選的個別測風站,則是基於它們處於較為空曠的位置及地理上的分布。所採用的參考測風站網絡已可廣泛地反映全港的風勢。

    回到目錄

  3. 為何需要以流浮山站取代濕地公園站作為參考測風站?

    濕地公園站自2005年11月啟用,至今一直運作正常。該站位於新界西北部鄰近天水圍的濕地公園內,其東面為較開揚的自然濕地,而西面遠處(約500至700米)則有高樓大廈,總體上開敞程度已相當不俗。但近年該站附近的樓宇密度有所增加,多年的數據分析顯示濕地公園站的月平均風速出現了緩慢下降的趨勢,表明濕地公園的風勢會逐漸受到附近環境變化包括新建築物的影響而下降。

    另外,該站以西300米範圍內已設定規劃項目。預計會興建3至11層高的建築物,最高的高度可達約50米,相信這將會進一步減低濕地公園測風站西面的開敞程度。為確保熱帶氣旋警告信號參考測風站網絡能在未來繼續有效地反映全港普遍的風勢,新界西北部的參考站是有需要重新檢視的。

    流浮山站毗鄰濕地公園站。而流浮山站的平均風速在過去數年無出現顯著變化,可用以取代濕地公園站。

    回到目錄

  4. 為何發出 9 號或 10 號的參考條件跟 3 號或 8 號信號的條件不同?

    需要發出 9 號或 10 號信號時,基本上是警告颱風正面或幾乎正面吹襲本港。基於颱風風眼範圍內的風向和風速存有極大的差異,在考慮發出信號時,並不適宜只根據一個地點的風力作為參考指標,故天文台一直是根據全港風勢決定是否需要發出 9 號及 10 號信號。

    回到目錄

  5. 熱帶氣旋警告系統能否反映香港不同地區風力?

    受地形及建築環境影響,香港各區風力有可能出現顯著差異。而熱帶氣旋警告系統是一個單一數字的系統,可為市民提供一個總體的警告,但無可避免是不能反映個別地區風力的差異。天文台在現時的系統下,已加強地區資料的發放,以便公眾作出適當安排。

    回到目錄

  6. 當熱帶氣旋的雨帶經過香港時,對風速有甚麼影響?

    當熱帶氣旋的雨帶接近或經過香港時,通常都會伴隨著狂風,本港部份地方的風速可能會突然颷升。而當雨帶經過後,強陣風所引致的高風速通常在十數分鐘或數十分鐘之後回落。這種情況跟颮線橫過香港時所帶來短暫的猛烈狂風相似,同樣具有相當的破壞力。

    回到目錄

  7. 天文台怎樣增強發布地區風力情況的資料?

    天文台現時通過網頁、「我的天文台」流動平台及「打電話問天氣」服務,為市民提供各區風勢資料。有關資料每隔 10 分鐘更新。天文台會與傳媒磋商,在現時的系統下,每小時廣播熱帶氣旋報告時,特別指出風速顯著高於香港普遍風勢的地區。

    回到目錄

  8. 航機運作是否會受熱帶氣旋警告信號所影響?

    熱帶氣旋警告系統是為公眾氣象服務設計的。熱帶氣旋警告信號與航機的運作沒有必然的關係。在風方面,飛機升降主要是受側風(即由飛機側面吹過來的風)以及風切變和湍流影響,而非風速本身。儘管 8 號信號生效,如果風是沿跑道方向吹過來,可以對飛機升降沒有影響。但如果風是從跑道側面吹過來,無論 8 號信號是否生效,也或會超過飛機運作的極限,因而影響航機運作。旅客在前往機場前,應先查詢最新航班資料及往返機場的交通情況。

    回到目錄

  9. 當天文台發出 3 號信號而有市民所處地區受烈風影響時,該市民應該如何應對?

    如果因天氣惡劣而無法上班,僱員應盡快通知所屬機構主管或僱主,而僱主應首要考慮僱員在工作地點及往返工作途中的安全,並靈活處理在天氣惡劣時遲到或缺勤的情況。學生方面,家長除了留意教育局宣佈學校安排外,可因應本區情況自行決定子女應否上課。教育局及勞工處亦會加強向學校、家長及僱主發放有關訊息。

    回到目錄

  10. 以現有的建築環境及集體運輸網絡,停工安排是否仍然有需要?

    天文台因應本港風力而發出熱帶氣旋警告,提醒市民香港的整體風勢,並提供有關個別地區的天氣情況,讓市民及各行業作出恰當的預防措施及工作安排。現時,不同行業及機構會參考勞工處發出的指引,並因應其本身的需要及具體運作情況,決定在熱帶氣旋警告生效下的工作安排。

    回到目錄

  11. 在惡劣天氣情況時,天文台可否加強和教育局的聯繫?

    在惡劣天氣情況下,天文台一向與教育局保持緊密聯繫,並提供天氣資料以協助教育局作出學校停課的決定。另外,天文台已在網站增設「學校天氣資訊網頁」專為學校提供分區天氣資訊,以作參考之用。

    回到目錄

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>