Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

What is 'Fujiwhara Effect'?

Written by : HUNG Fan-yiu

'Fujiwhara effect' is named after Dr. Fujiwhara of Japan who performed a series of experiments and observations on water vortices from 1921 to 1923. He discovered interaction between two cyclonic vortices when they were close to each other. The vortices would rotate cyclonically about an axis connecting their centres. The two vortices also had a tendency to approach each other and then merge together.

In meteorology, 'Fujiwhara effect' applies to the interaction of two tropical cyclones. In general, two tropical cyclones may start to affect each other when the distance between them is around 12 latitude degrees (about 1350 kilometers). When this occurs, The tropical cyclones will rotate around one another in a counter-clockwise direction (in Northern Hemisphere) about their geometric centre. The centre needs not be the middle of the axis. The stronger cyclone tends to have a dominant effect on the track of the weaker one. The interaction will end when: there is a stronger influence of a large scale weather system from outside, one of the tropical cyclones weakens or the two cyclones merge. Research by the Observatory shows that if the distance between the two tropical cyclones is 1200 kilometers or more, the chance of merging is slim.

Figure
Figure 1: The interaction of two tropical cyclones.

 

Figure 2 and 3 show the tracks of tropical cyclones Wukong and Sonamu in August 2006. It is evident that Wukong had a counter-clockwise movement during 14 and 15 August under the influence of Sonamu.

Figure
Figure 2: Tracks of tropical cyclones Wukong and Sonamu in August 2006. The time shown in the figure is Coordinated Universal Time.

 

Figure
Figure 3: Wukong moved counter-clockwise relative to Sonamu.

 

Tropical cyclones appear in the Northwestern Pacific every summer. It is not rare to have two tropical cyclones there at the same time. When 'Fujiwhara effect' occurs, we may see changes in the tropical cyclones' movement and speed. This will increase difficulties when their tracks are forecast.

Reference:

  1. 《2000年在西北太平洋上雙熱帶氣旋相互作用實例的探討》,陳營華、何嘉玲,香港天文台,2001年
  2. 《颱風講義》,丁一滙,國家海洋環境預報研究中心,1985年

 

Last revision date: <01 Apr 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

什麼是「藤原效應」?

撰文:孔繁耀

「藤原效應」源於日本藤原(Fujiwhara)博士於1921至23年一系列的渦旋實驗及觀測。他發現兩個距離很近的氣旋性渦旋會受到對方的影響,互相沿著兩者中心所形成的軸線心,呈氣旋性方向移動。兩個渦旋並有彼此接近及合併的趨勢。

在氣象學上,「藤原效應」應用於雙熱帶氣旋的相互作用上。一般來說,兩個熱帶氣旋相距約12緯距(約1350公里)時便可能產生相互影響。當這效應出現時,兩熱帶氣旋會沿著軸心依逆時針方向(在北半球)相互旋轉(圖一)。軸心並非一定在軸線的中間位置,較強的熱帶氣旋會支配著較弱的熱帶氣旋的路徑。雙熱帶氣旋的相互作用會因受外圍大尺度天氣系統更強的影響、其中一方減弱或被合併而結束。天文台的研究顯示若雙熱帶氣旋維持在1200公里以上的距離,其合併的機會不大。

圖
圖一:熱帶氣旋的相互作用

 

「藤原效應」一個例子是2006年8月熱帶氣旋悟空和清松的相互影響(圖二及三)。從圖中可見悟空受到清松的影響,於14及15日有明顯的逆時針方向移動路徑。

圖
圖二:2006年8月熱帶氣旋悟空和清松的路徑。
圖上顯示的時間為協調世界時間。

 

圖
圖三:悟空繞著清松相對作逆時針轉動

 

每年夏季,西北太平洋均會有熱帶氣旋出現,而兩個熱帶氣旋同時出現的情況並非罕見。當「藤原效應」發生時,熱帶氣旋往往會改變移動方向及速度,令預測其移動路徑難度增加。

參考:

  1. 《2000年在西北太平洋上雙熱帶氣旋相互作用實例的探討》,陳營華、何嘉玲,香港天文台,2001年
  2. 《颱風講義》,丁一滙,國家海洋環境預報研究中心,1985年

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年5月19日>