Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

The 2008 South China snow storm and the cold weather of Hong Kong - a retrospect

  1. The south China snow storm in 2008
  2. The formation of freezing rain
  3. Conditions favourable for formation of freezing rain
  4. How did the snow storm occur?
  5. Why was the weather cold and cloudy in Hong Kong during the same period?
  6. Why was there no freezing rain in Hong Kong?
  7. The longest cold weather warning of Hong Kong
Written by: YIP Choi-hung, CHIU Hung-yu    December 2009


  1. The south China snow storm in 2008

    In early 2008, south China suffered from a severe snow storm. The snow storm occurred mainly in provinces like Guizhou, Hubei, Hunan and Jiangxi (Figure 1). Because of the relatively drier air mass in the north, precipitation was less in northern China than in southern China. Despite the colder temperatures, provinces in northern China was comparatively free of snow. There was extensive freezing rain in southern China (Fig.1), rendering the road surface icy and slippery, and causing traffic accidents or disruption. It also froze on power lines, significantly increased their weight and causing the power transmission tower to crash down. There were serious electricity blackouts in many cities.

     figure 1
    Fig.1   The weather of southern China on 28 January 2008. (The weather symbols on the weather chart were used internationally based on "World Meteorological Organization Publication No.306 Part A".)

    content Back to content


  2. The formation of freezing rain

    The formation process of freezing rain begins when snow flakes fall from clouds at high altitudes (Fig.2). When the snow flakes fall through a layer of warm air with temperature higher than the freezing point, they completely melt and form rain droplets. As the rain droplets continue to fall and enter a layer of air with subfreezing temperatures, the rain drops do not freeze instantly but become supercooled.  When the supercooled rain drops eventually reach any subfreezing object on the ground, they will freeze immediately.  This kind of precipitation is called freezing rain.

     figure 2
    Fig.2  The formation of freezing rain (T is in degrees Celsius) 

    content Back to content

  3. Conditions favourable for formation of freezing rain

    Freezing rain usually forms when a subfreezing air stream meets with a warm air mass. By virtue of their different densities, the subfreezing cold air stream undercuts the warm air stream which is displaced aloft (Figure 2). An inversion layer will then be established.  Lack of condensation nuclei in the atmosphere is also an essential condition for freezing rain to form.

    content Back to content

  4. How did the snow storm occur?

    The extensive snow storm was related to the La Nina event, during which sea surface water over the central and eastern tropical Pacific was persistently cooler than normal. This caused the atmospheric circulation to deviate from its normal pattern, and specifically, outbreaks of cold air became more frequent. While the cold air stream spread towards the south incessantly, warm moist air originated from the South China Sea and even as far away as in the Indian Ocean was continually transported to southern China.  The cold and warm air streams met over southern China and in the areas south of Chang Jiang, causing long period of precipitations including freezing rain and snow. As time progressed and the snow storm continued to unfold, a calamity was in its making. 

    content Back to content

  5. Why was the weather cold and cloudy in Hong Kong during the same period?

    The formation of the snow storm of southern China bears some common features with the cold and cloudy weather in Hong Kong starting mid-January 2008. The upper air temperature and wind direction over Hong Kong on 29 January 2008 would provide the clues. An inversion appeared below 800m (Fig.3) over Hong Kong, where the temperature increased with height. Hence, it was warm and moist near the top of the inversion but cold below the inversion. Figure 4 shows the winds below 800m over Hong Kong. Warm and moist southerly winds appeared aloft while cold northerly winds appeared at low altitudes. In fact, the inversion was more or less a permanent feature during the spell of cold and cloudy weather in Hong Kong.

     figure 3
    Fig.3  An inversion appeared below 800m above Hong Kong. (It was warm and moist in the upper part of the inversion and cold below.) 

    figure 4
    Fig.4  Northerly and southerly winds appeared at different altitudes. (Southerly winds in higher altitudes and northerly winds in lower altitudes.) 

    content Back to content

  6. Why was there no freezing rain in Hong Kong?

    There was no freezing rain in Hong Kong because the ground temperature was higher than the freezing point (Fig.5). Let’s take the atmospheric temperature profile over Hong Kong on 29 January 2008 8a.m. (Fig.3) as an illustration. The atmospheric temperatures below 4000m were well above the freezing point.

     figure 5
    Fig.5  Daily mean (red) and minimum (blue) temperatures at Hong Kong Observatory 

    content Back to content

  7. The longest cold weather warning of Hong Kong

    Although there was no freezing rain in Hong Kong, the weather was cold with some rain. The cold weather warning was in force continuously for 594.5 hours and spanned 26 days during the period from 24 January 2008 to 18 February 2008.  This is the longest warning since the cold weather warning service was launched in 1999. During the period in which the cold weather warning was in force, the minimum daily temperatures of Hong Kong were mostly below 12 degrees Celsius (Fig.5). 

    content Back to content


       References:

    1. 歷史上的雪災:二千年前已有雪災記錄 -中國天氣網站
    2. 拉尼娜是雪災"罪魁禍首" 至少持續至春末 - 中國評論新聞網
    3. Press release (13 February 2008), Hong Kong Observatory
    4. 2008年初華南沿岸地區持續寒冷的天氣分析和預報技巧 - 唐宇煇、李月嬋 & 陳世倜,香港天文台,2009年第23屆粵港澳氣象科技研討會
Last revision date: <01 Apr 2014>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

2008年華南雪災與香港的寒冷天氣回顧

  1. 2008年中國華南雪災
  2. 凍雨是怎樣形成的?
  3. 凍雨形成的條件
  4. 雪災怎樣形成?
  5. 香港為何同時出現陰冷天氣?
  6. 為什麼香港沒有出現凍雨?
  7. 香港最長的寒冷天氣警告
   撰文:葉彩雄  趙孔儒     2009年12月


  1. 2008年中國華南雪災
    在2008年初,中國華南地區遭受了一次嚴重雪災。這場冰雪災的主要災區在貴州、湖北、湖南及江西等省份﹙見附圖1﹚。由於中國北方空氣乾燥,降水量比南方少,天氣更冷的北方省份反而不受影響。由圖1可以看到,華南不少地區曾下凍雨。凍雨不但令公路路面結冰而變滑,導致交通事故或中斷;它亦在輸電?上結冰,大大增加了輸電塔負載重量,輸電塔因負載過重而倒毀,破壞了輸電網絡運作。

     圖1
    圖1  2008年1月28日中國華南地區的天氣狀況 (圖中國際通用的天氣觀測符號是基於聯合國世界氣象組織"WMO Publication No.306 Part A"制定的。)

    content回到內容

  2. 凍雨是怎樣形成的?
    在凍雨形成過程裡,開始時是以雪花的形式從高空雲層落下﹙見附圖2﹚。在下降過程中,雪花遇到溫度高於冰點的暖氣流層而完全融化為雨滴,當雨滴繼續下降時,在地面上空遇到溫度低於冰點的冷氣流層,此時雨滴不再凝結,而是形成過冷雨滴。過冷雨滴一旦接觸到地面上低於攝氏零度的任何物體,就會立刻凝結成冰。這種降水天氣現象稱為凍雨。

     圖2
    圖2  凍雨的形成 (T乃攝氏度)
     
    content 回到內容

  3. 凍雨形成的條件
    凍雨通常與冷暖氣流相遇有關,地面上需要有低於冰點的冷氣流進入暖氣流下方﹙見附圖2﹚,形成逆溫層,加上大氣裡缺乏可作為凝結核的微粒 ,是形成凍雨的必要的條件。
     
    content 回到內容

  4. 雪災怎樣形成?
    這次大範圍的雪災與拉尼娜現象有關,即是由於熱帶太平洋中部及東部的海水表面溫度低於正常,大氣環流變異,引起冷空氣活動反常地頻繁。在北方冷空氣連續不斷向南移的同時,來自南海以至印度洋的濕暖空氣又源源不斷地向華南地區輸送,冷暖氣流在華南、長江以南一帶交匯,導致長時間大量降水,包括下凍雨和落雪,最終釀成這次冰雪災。
     
    content 回到內容

  5. 香港為何同時出現陰冷天氣?
    從2008年1月中旬開始影響香港的陰冷天氣,其成因與華南雪災有些相似。只要看看2008年1月 29日香港上空氣溫及風向的分佈,便一目了然了。圖3顯示香港上空在800米以下出現逆溫層,氣?隨?高度不降反升,形成上面濕暖,下面寒冷的配置。圖4 顯示香港上空800米以下的氣流,在上方吹?的是比較濕暖的南風,但是在近地面的低空卻吹?寒冷的北風。事實上,在這次陰冷天氣期間,香港上空也持績出現逆溫層。

     圖3
    圖3  香港上空在800米以下出現逆溫層﹙在逆溫層上面濕暖,下面寒冷﹚

     圖4
    圖4  不同高度的上空出現南北氣流﹙南風在上面,北風在下面﹚
     
    content 回到內容

  6. 為什麼香港沒有出現凍雨?
    香港沒有落凍雨,是因為地面溫度高於冰點﹙見附圖5﹚。再以2008年1月29日上午8時香港上空的大氣溫度分布為例﹙見附圖3﹚,4000米以下的大氣氣溫都遠高於冰點。

     圖5
    圖5  天文台錄得之日平均及最底溫度
     
    content 回到內容

  7. 香港最長的寒冷天氣警告
    香港雖然不下凍雨,但天氣還是寒冷有雨。天文台在2008年1月24日至2月18日的26天以內連續發出寒冷天氣警告,長達594.5小時,是自1999 年創立寒冷天氣警告以來最長的一次。寒冷天氣警告生效其間,香港的最低氣溫大部份時間在攝氏12度以下﹙見附圖5﹚。
     
    content 回到內容


       參考:

    1. 歷史上的雪災:二千年前已有雪災記錄 -中國天氣網站
    2. 拉尼娜是雪災"罪魁禍首" 至少持續至春末 - 中國評論新聞網
    3. 天文台2008年2月13日發出的新聞發佈
    4. 2008年初華南沿岸地區持續寒冷的天氣分析和預報技巧 - 唐宇煇、李月嬋 & 陳世倜,香港天文台,2009年第23屆粵港澳氣象科技研討會
最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>