Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Sounds in the atmosphere

Written by: CHEUNG Ping

sound in the atmosphere

 

There are many kinds of sound in the atmosphere: rain drops falling on the ground, the wind howling, and the familiar sound of thunder associated with lightning.

Because temperature and wind greatly influence the spread of sound in the air, they produce interesting effects similar to the optical phenomenon of mirage. Through analysis of the sonic signal, we can therefore estimate the atmospheric conditions such as the temperature and/or the wind distribution aloft.

Beside the sound we encounter everyday, there are other sounds in the atmosphere. Humans can hear sounds from 20 Hz to 20,000 Hz. Those below 20 Hz, which we call infra-sound, are inaudible. Because weather systems are generally large in size, many of them generate infra-sound. Atmospheric acoustics is the study of propagation of sound waves in the atmosphere. Listed in it is the study of infra-sonics, which focuses on inaudible, low-frequency sounds.

Even before World War I, the detection of infra-sound had been employed in locating strong explosions. It was a hot topic during the cold war period to monitor nuclear tests in the atmosphere. The "Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty" required that a global network of infra-sound sensors be installed to monitor abnormal explosions in the air. It was because of the detection network that scientists found out that the nature is full of infra-sounds. Apart from well-known sources like earthquake, tsunami, volcano eruption, many weather systems including typhoon, thunderstorm, tornado, and even clear air turbulence also produce infra-sound.

The wave length of infra-sound is quite long: typical infra-sound from the eye of a typhoon has a 4 to 8 second cycle (0.25 to 0.125 Hz), meaning that its wavelength is a few kilo-metres long! One of the interesting properties of infra-sound is that it can travel a long distance in the air without much decay. This enables continuous monitoring of the atmosphere on a large scale. When combined with other remote sensing data, it can provide additional information regarding the atmospheric structure. Know the various hazardous weather systems by their infra-sonic properties will help understand their behaviour and make better forecast. This has recently become an important topic in the study of infra-sonics.


Last revision date: <22 Jan 2013>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

大氣的聲音世界

撰文:張冰

大氣中的聲音

 

大氣中有各種各樣的聲音:風聲、雨聲、和最為人熟知由閃電造成的雷聲。由於風和溫度都對聲音的傳播速度有很大影響,也會產生類似光學上的海市蜃樓那樣的現象,因此,透過分析聲音訊號,亦可估算當時大氣的性質如溫度的高低或風力的分布。

除了我們日常聽到的聲音,大氣中還存在很多人耳無法聽到的低頻聲音。人的聽覺極限為20赫茲至2萬赫茲,低於20赫茲的音波稱為次聲,我們人類便無法聽到。由於天氣系統的尺度通常較大,所以很多天氣現象都會產生人耳無法聽到的次聲。研究聲音在大氣中傳播特性的科學稱為大氣聲學,當中的次聲學便是專注於人耳無法聽到的低頻聲音。

早在第一次世界大戰前,次聲已用於偵測爆炸的位置,在冷戰期間亦被用來監測大氣中的核試驗。全球正在推動的”全面禁止核試驗條約”中,便要求在全球範圍內設立次聲監測網,以監察在大氣中有否異常的大規模爆炸。因為有了這些探測網,科學家們得以發現大量自然現象都會產生不同特性的次聲。除了地震,海嘯,火出爆發等等,各種氣象系統如颱風,雷暴,龍捲風甚至晴空湍流都會產生次聲。

次聲波的波長很長,例如颱台風眼所產生的次聲振動週期約4-8秒(0.25 – 0.125赫茲),波長便可達數公里。次聲波的特點是衰減小,可作長距離傳播,因此能夠對大氣進行大範圍連續不斷的監察,當結合其他的遙感資料一起使用,更可提供額外的關於大氣結構的數據。認識並利用次聲方法來預測各類危險天氣的活動規律,成為近代次聲學研究的重要課題。


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>