Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
Combined Effect of Tropical Cyclone and Northeast Monsoon


    Written by: CHAN Chik-cheung    March 2010

    Have you come across the phase "combined effect of a tropical cyclone and the northeast monsoon"? This phase is sometimes used in weather bulletins or tropical cyclone warning bulletins issued by the Hong Kong Observatory. To help you better understand the phase, its meaning is explained here. 

    A tropical cyclone can give rise to, among other things, strong winds. Likewise, strong wind is one of the effects of northeast monsoon. The combined effect of a tropical cyclone and the northeast monsoon to a place means the effect experienced by this place when it is affected by both the tropical cyclone and the northeast monsoon simultaneously. One of the combined effects is stronger winds.

    In this article, the concept of isobar is used to explain the combined effect. The meaning of "isobar" is explained in a previous article. Suffice to recap that one can deduce wind speed from isobars in weather charts. Everything else being equal, winds tend to blow harder (gentler) where isobars are closer together (further apart). Technically, the distance apart between two isobars depicts the pressure gradient of the areas around. The pressure gradient is tight (slack) when the isobars are closer together (further apart). Tighter pressure gradient results in stronger winds.

    When a tropical cyclone affects a place, the weather map shows that isobars around the place are packed together with very tight pressure gradient (Figure 1). Similarly, a northeast monsoon will also bring tight pressure gradient to a place (Figure 2). When the place is being affected by both a tropical cyclone and the northeast monsoon, the pressure gradient around the place as revealed by the small distance between isobars are indeed tight (Figure 3).

    The daily weather chart of 12 October 2009 (Figure 4) shows a good example of the combined effect of Tropical Storm Parma and the northeast monsoon to Hong Kong and its vicinity. Under the combined effect of the northeast monsoon and Parma, Hong Kong was windy from 11 to 14 October.  The Strong Monsoon Signal was in force for 37 hours 20 minutes from 0250H, 11 October to 1610H, 12 October.

    fig1 
    Fig.1  A tropical cyclone affecting Hong Kong

    fig2 
    Fig.2  A northeast monsoon affecting Hong Kong

    fig3 
    Fig.3  A tropical cyclone and the northeast monsoon affecting Hong Kong at the same time

    fig4 
    Fig.4  Both Tropical Storm Parma and the northeast monsoon affecting Hong Kong on 12 October 2009


      content Back to content
Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF
熱帶氣旋與東北季候風的共同影響


    撰文:陳積祥    2010年3月


    你曾聽過「熱帶氣旋與東北季候風的共同影響」這個詞組嗎?它間中會在天文台發出的天氣報告或熱帶氣旋警告中使用,本文嘗試解釋這個詞組以加強市民對它的理解。

    熱帶氣旋可帶來強風;同樣東北季候風亦會帶來強風。一個地方受熱帶氣旋與東北季候風的共同影響是指該地方同一時間受兩者影響,其中一個效應是較強的風力。

    本文採用等壓線來解釋熱帶氣旋與東北季候風的共同影響。等壓線這個概念在以前一篇文章介紹過,這裡祇需重溫我們能從天氣圖的等壓線估算風速:在相同情況下,相鄰等壓線愈緊密(愈疏),風力也愈強(愈弱)。從技術上來說,兩條等壓線的距離顯示出該地區的氣壓梯度,相鄰等壓線愈緊密(愈疏),則氣壓梯度愈高(愈低),風力愈強(愈弱)。

    當一個熱帶氣旋影響一個地方時,天氣圖上該地方附近的等壓線緊密(圖一),顯示氣壓梯度較高。同樣,受東北季候風影響的地方氣壓梯度亦較高(圖二),當該地方受熱帶氣旋與東北季候風的共同影響時,其附近地區的等壓線非常緊密,可知其氣壓梯度很高(圖三)。

    2009年10月11日是一個很好的例子(圖四)。當時香港受熱帶風暴芭瑪與東北季候風的共同影響,香港從10月11至14日風勢都頗大,而強烈季候風信號更從10月11日2時50分生效至10月12 日16時10分, 前後歷時共37小時20分鐘。

fig1 
圖1  熱帶氣旋影響香港

fig2 
圖2  東北季候風影響香港

fig3 
圖3  熱帶氣旋和東北季候風同時影響香港

fig4 
圖4  在2009年10月11日,熱帶風暴芭瑪與東北季候風共同影響香港。

     content 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>