Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
Tropical cyclone names in the western North Pacific


    Written by: CHAN Chik-cheung    September 2009

    For over a half-century, the US military weather forecasters have named tropical cyclones forming in the western North Pacific. The names used were almost exclusively English feminine names through 1978.  But beginning in 1979 men's names were used with women's names in an alternating manner.

    Starting from 1 January 2000, tropical cyclones in the western North Pacific are named from a new list of names. The new names are words originating in Asia or Pacific islands, and were contributed by members of the World Meteorological Organization's Typhoon Committee. Fourteen nations or regions contributed ten names each to make up a total of 140 names. The new names will be allotted to tropical cyclones reaching tropical storm strength by the Tokyo Typhoon Centre of the Japanese Meteorological Agency.

    These new names have two major differences from the past name lists. Firstly, the names are mostly not names of people.  The majority are names of flowers, animals, birds, trees, or even foods, etc, while some are descriptive adjectives. Secondly, the names are not allotted to the tropical cyclones in alphabetical order of the names, but rather, in alphabetical order of the contributing nations or regions.

    According to the convention of the Typhoon Committee, the country or region which has suffered serious human casualties and economic losses from a tropical cyclone can propose to remove the name of the tropical cyclone from the name list. Sometimes names are removed for other reasons, such as cultural considerations. For example, "Durian" was once a tropical cyclone name but was removed from the list because of the severe damage it incurred. Typhoon Durian crossed the central part of the Philippines in November 2006. Heavy rain associated with Durian triggered widespread mudslides in the region. Over 570 people were killed and 746 missing.  "Durian" was later removed from the list and replaced by the new name "Mangkhut". 


     content Back to content


Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF
西北太平洋的熱帶氣旋名字


    撰文:陳積祥    2009年9月


    在超過半個世紀之前,美國軍方的天氣預報員曾為西北太平洋的熱帶氣旋命名。最初,這些名字皆為女性的英文名字,但自1979年起,男女英文名字交替應用。

    2000年1月1日開始,西北太平洋的熱帶氣旋使用新的名單。新名單內皆為亞洲或太平洋島國的名字,由世界氣象組織的颱風委員會的會員提供,14個國家或地區各自提供10個名字,組成了共140個名字的名單。日本氣象廳的東京颱風中心負責為區內達到熱帶風暴強度的熱帶氣旋按名單加上名字。

    新名單與以前有兩大分別。首先,新名字大多數並不是人名,當中有幾個男女名字,但主要是花卉、動物、鳥類、樹木或甚至食物的名稱,更有少數的形容詞;其次,名字並不是根據其英文字母的次序而排列,而是根據提供國家或地區的英文字母的次序而排列。

    根據颱風委員會慣例,對於一些造成重大人命傷亡和經濟損失的熱帶氣旋,其名字可由受影響的國家或地區建議停用;有時,名字亦會因其他原因如文化原因而停用。例如,「榴槤」就是因為它帶來的損失而被停用。颱風「榴槤」於2006年11月橫過菲律賓中部,暴雨引起廣泛地區山泥傾瀉,超過570人喪生,746 人失蹤。其後,「榴槤」被新名字「山竹」所取代。

     content 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>