Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
Tracking of tropical cyclones (3)

 
    Written by: CHAN Chik-cheung    December 2010

    Apart from satellite and radar, surface observations are also useful information in locating tropical cyclones, especially for those weaker ones whose centres are not well defined on satellite pictures.

    Both ship and land observations in the vicinity of a tropical cyclone are useful.  The inflow angle method is the most commonly used method.  Here, the basic assumption is that the tropical cyclone is a circularly symmetric weather system.  The principle is that because of friction with surface, the air inside the circulation of the storm flows at an inflow angle towards the centre of the tropical cyclone.  The inflow angle ranges from 15 to 30 degrees and is loosely taken to be 20 degrees most of the time.

    The method is, with a minimum of three surface wind observations, (1) to draw a line making an inflow angle with the direction of the surface wind observation, (2) to draw a line perpendicular to the line in (1), and the centre of the tropical cyclone is at the centre of the polygon bounded by lines constructed by (2).

    However, this method cannot always be used as ship observations are scarce over the ocean and may not be available in the vicinity of tropical cyclones.  In applying this method, the wind observations must be used with care as they may be affected by other pressure systems such as the northeast or southwest monsoon. 
      

    1
    Figure 1.  Locating tropical cyclone using the inflow angle method
     
      content Back to content
Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF
追蹤熱帶氣旋(3)

 
    撰文:陳積祥    2010年12月


    除衛星和雷達外,地面觀測亦是追蹤熱帶氣旋的有用資料,特別是追蹤一些較弱而其中心在衛星雲 圖上不是清晰可辨的氣旋。

    熱帶氣旋附近的船舶和陸上觀測均有用。流入角方法最為常用,此方法假設熱帶氣旋是圓形對稱的 天氣系統,原理是︰由於氣流和地表表面的磨擦,氣旋中心以外的空氣以一個流入角流向氣旋中心,流入角介於15至30度之間,為方便使用,通常當作20度。

    當熱帶氣旋環流內有3個(或以上)風速風向的觀測時,方法是﹙1﹚於每一個觀測劃一條與風向成流 入角的直線,﹙2﹚再劃與﹙1﹚成直角的線,所形成的多邊形的中心即為熱帶氣旋中心。

    由於海上觀測稀少,熱帶氣旋附近並不常有船舶觀測,此方法並非所有時間都可以使用。而且,使 用風向觀測時,小心它可能受其他氣壓系統如東北季風或西南季風的影響。

    1
    圖 1︰使用流入角方法定位熱帶氣旋 

     content 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>