Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Changes in Typhoon Nuri during landfall in Hong Kong

   Written by: LUI Wing-hong    December 2009


Since 1960, about 18 tropical cyclones have made their passage over the territory of Hong Kong.  Amongst them was Super Typhoon Hope in 1979.  Hope made landfall over the eastern part of the New Territories and its eye was clearly discernible on the Hong Kong Observatorys weather radar before landfall (Figure 1).  Another example was Typhoon Nuri in 2008 which passed very close to the Hong Kong Observatory Headquarters.  Nuri made landfall over the eastern part of Hong Kong and weakened into a severe tropical storm on 22 August 2008.  Radar observations indicated that its eye was not well organized then (Figure 2).  Moreover, the circulation of Nuri re-organized itself resulting in complicated changes in its track which could be accurately determined from the network of automatic weather stations operated by the Hong Kong Observatory.

 fig1
Figure 1   Radar image of Super Typhoon Hope at 1 p.m. on 2 August 1979 when its eye was about 45 km east of the New Territories.

 fig2
Figure 2    Radar image of Nuri at 4:48 p.m. on 22 August 2008.

The track of Typhoon Nuri over Hong Kong is shown in Figure 3.  Nuri moved northwestwards over the northern part of the South China Sea on 22 August and made landfall near the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology in Sai Kung that afternoon.  As the pressure is low near the centre of a tropical cyclone, the winds spiral inwards towards the centre in an anticlockwise direction (in the southern hemisphere, the rotation is clockwise).  When Nuri was about to make landfall, winds over the northeastern part of the New Territories were east to northeasterlies, with southwesterlies over the southeastern part of Hong Kong and northerlies over other parts of the territory (Figure 4).  

 fig3
Figure 3      Track of Nuri over Hong Kong on 22 August 2008.

fig4 
Figure 4  Wind distribution around Hong Kong as at 4:40 p.m. on 22 August 2008.

After making landfall, Nuri was affected by mountains to the northwest of its centre and its circulation re-organized itself. The original centre moved northwestwards and dissipated rapidly.  A new centre soon formed near Tseung Kwan O (Figure 5) and turned to move westwards across the Victoria Harbour.  Winds at Tseung Kwan O changed from northerlies to light winds, and then becoming east to southeasterlies.  As the cyclonic circulation of Nuri passed through Hong Kong, many weather stations recorded the turning of wind direction and a temporary decrease in wind speed.
 
fig5
Figure 5  Wind distribution around Hong Kong as at 5:00 p.m. on 22 August 2008.

The Observatory operates two Doppler weather radars, one at Tai Mo Shan and another at Tates Cairn.  A Doppler radar is capable of measuring the approach (or departing) speed of raindrops, providing indirectly information on the radial wind speeds.  With both radars operating at the same time, they can provide information on the upper-level winds.  Before the landfall of Nuri, the dual Doppler radar winds showed that there were two circulation centres at an altitude of one kilometre (Figure 6), one centre near Tates Cairn and another over the southern part of Hong Kong Island.  The centre to the north persisted for a while before dissipating, while the centre to the south remained to the southwest or west of the surface centre, indicating that the centre of Nuri was tilting to the west or southwest in the vertical as it passed through Hong Kong.  Thus, Nuri did not possess a distinct and vertically aligned eye as in a well-developed tropical cyclone, such as that shown in the radar image for Super Typhoon Hope in Figure 1.  The complicated track of Nuri over Hong Kong was the result of a weakening tropical cyclone interacting with the terrain.    

fig6 
Figure 6   Dual Doppler wind field at an elevation of one kilometre as at 4:43 p.m. on 22 August 2008.  The two circulation centres of Nuri are marked as X.

As a summary, minute-by-minute surface wind and pressure information from automatic weather stations is very useful in determining the tracks of tropical cyclones passing through Hong Kong, enabling the accurate tracking of weaker tropical cyclones without a distinct eye.  

 

Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF
颱風鸚鵡登陸香港期間的變化

   撰文:呂永康    2009年12月


自1960年以來,約有18個熱帶氣旋在香港境內經過,其中包括1979年的超強颱風荷貝。荷貝在新界東部登陸,登陸前其風眼在天文台天氣雷達上清晰可見(圖1)。另一個例子是2008年的颱風鸚鵡。鸚鵡在非常接近天文台總部處經過。2008年8月22日,鸚鵡在香港東部登陸時已減弱為強烈熱帶風暴,雷達圖像顯示其風眼不甚完整(圖2)。此外,鸚鵡的環流重整,使到其路徑出現複雜的變化。這些路徑的變化可以從天文台操作的自動氣象站網絡準確訂定。

 圖1
圖1  超強颱風荷貝於1979年8月2日下午1時的雷達回波圖像,當時荷貝的風眼集結在新界以東約45公 里。

 圖2
圖2   鸚鵡於2008年8月22日下午4時48分的雷達回波圖像。

圖3顯示颱風鸚鵡橫過香港時的路徑。鸚鵡於8月22日在南海北部向西北移動,下午在西貢區科技大學附近登陸。由於熱帶氣旋中心附近的氣壓頗低,氣流由反時針方向作螺旋式轉入中心部份(在南半球,氣流則作順時針方向轉動)。當鸚鵡即將登陸前,新界東北部吹東至東北風,港島東南部附近吹西南風,而本港其它地區吹偏北風(圖 4)。

圖3 
圖3   鸚鵡橫過香港時的路徑圖。

圖4
圖4  2008年8月22日下午4時40分香港各區風向及風力分佈圖。

鸚鵡登陸後,受到西北面的山脉影響,其環流重整,原有的中心向西北移動並迅速消散。一個新的中心隨即在將軍澳附近形成(圖5),並由東向西移動橫過維多利亞港。將軍澳的風向由初時的北風轉為微風,然後轉為東至東南風。由於鸚鵡的氣旋性環流經過香港,多個氣象站均錄到風向轉變及風力暫時減弱的現象。
 
圖5
圖5  2008年8月22日下午5時正香港各區的風向及風力分佈圖。

天文台在日常業務中,利用位於大霧山及另一在大老山上的兩台多普勒天氣雷達監察天氣。多普勒天氣雷達能夠量度雨點移近(或遠離)雷達的速度,間接地提供徑向風速的資料。當兩個雷達同時運作時,可以提供其共同覆蓋範圍內的高層風向及風速資料。鸚鵡登陸前,雙多普勒雷達的資料顯示在一公里的平面高度的風場上(圖6)有兩個旋轉中心,一個在大老山附近,另一個在香港島南部。較北的中心只維持了短時間然後消散,在南面的中心一直維持在地面中心西南或以西,顯示鸚鵡的中心在橫過香港時是隨着高度向西或西南傾斜的。所以,鸚鵡並沒有一個發展成熟熱帶氣旋常有的清晰及垂直發展的風眼,例如,圖1所顯示的超強颱風荷貝雷達圖像的風眼。鸚鵡經過香港時的複雜路徑是由於一個正在減弱中的熱帶氣旋與地形相互作用所引致。

 圖6
圖6  2008年8月22日下午4時43分左右一公里高度上的雙「多普勒」雷達風場。X 為鸚鵡的兩個環流中心。

總括來說,自動氣象站每分鐘不斷提供地面風向及風力、氣壓等資料,對訂定熱帶氣旋經過香港時的路徑非常有用,並可以準確地訂定強度較弱沒有清晰風眼熱帶氣旋的路徑。


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>