Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version
The Science of Thunder and Lightning
Episode Three: Why does lightning always come before thunder?


   Written by: LEE Lap-shun


    The God of Thunder was empowered by the Jade Emperor to punish bad people on the Earth.  Once, the God of Thunder mistakenly killed a kind-hearted woman.  The Jade Emperor, having looked into the matter, raised the woman from death and named her the Goddess of Lightning.  He also dictated that whenever the God of Thunder stroke the Earth, he must let the Goddess of Lightning release light first to distinguish the right from wrong and prevent injustice.  

    The above is just a Chinese legend.  In nature, a lightning flash and the associated thunder occur at almost the same time in a thunderstorm.  A person on the ground sees the lightning flash before hearing the thunder because light at a speed of around 300,000,000 meters per second travels much faster than sound which moves at 340 meters per second.  If one is 1,000 meters away from the thunderstorm, he/she would see the flash almost instantly after lightning occurs as it takes just a few microseconds, while the thunder arrives only after about 3 seconds (1,000 meters divided by 340 meters per second).

    figure1
    A person at 1 km away from the thunderstorm
    hears the thunder about 3 seconds after seeing the lightning flash.
    (Objects in the diagram are not to scale)

    As a rule of thumb, by counting the seconds between the flash and the thunder and dividing the number by 3, you can estimate your distance from the thunderstorm in kilometers.  For example, if you hear the thunder 9 seconds after seeing the flash, the thunderstorm should be about 3 kilometers away from you.  If you see a flash and hear a thunder clap almost simultaneously, the storm must be very near you. Seek shelter immediately.

    Lightning always comes with thunder.  If you see a lightning flash but cannot hear any thunder, the thunderstorm is most likely be quite far away from you.  The thunder clap must have been deflected up the sky.  The longer the sound travels, the more it will be deflected away from the ground.  Typically, thunder is seldom heard beyond 15 kilometers from the storm.

Last revision date: <20 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF
「行雷閃電」的科學
第三章:為什麼總是先閃電後打雷?

   撰文:李立信


    天上的雷公受命於玉帝,負責懲罰凡間的壞人。有一次,雷公錯手把一名善良的婦人轟死,後來玉帝查明真相,將她起死回生,並封為電母。玉帝更下令雷公以後打雷之前,要先讓電母發出閃電,照明是非善惡,以免冤情再生。

    以上當然只是傳說而已,在自然界的雷暴中,閃電和打雷幾乎同一時間發生。一個在地上的人先看到閃電才聽到雷聲,是因為光以大約每秒三億米的速度前行,遠快於聲音每秒340米的傳播速度。一個距離雷暴1000米的人,在閃電發生後幾乎即時(數微秒而已)便看到閃光,但大約3秒後才聽到雷聲(1000米除以每秒 340米)。

    Figure1
    一個距離雷暴1000米的人看見閃電後約3秒才聽到雷聲
    (圖中物件並不依比例)

    大家可以記住一個簡單的通則,只需將閃光和雷聲之間的秒數除以3,便可估計你和雷暴相距多少公里。舉一個例子,如果你看到閃電後9秒才聽到雷聲,雷暴應離你大約3公里。如果你幾乎同一時間看到閃電及聽到雷聲,雷暴一定非常接近,你要立即找地方躲避了。

    打雷總是伴隨著閃電,如果你看到一道閃電,但卻聽不到雷聲,雷暴很可能離你頗遠,雷聲已折射往上空。聲音行走的距離愈長,偏離地面愈遠,在一般情況下,很少可以聽到來自15公里以外的雷暴所發出的聲音。
最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>