Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version


    Written by: CHIU Hung-yu       March 2011


    Stratus is one type of low level clouds. Its cloud base is below 2 kilometers. Stratus consists of tiny water droplets.

    Stratus appears grey or greyish white in sheets of layer clouds with fairly uniform cloud base without reaching the ground. Stratus sometimes appears in the form of ragged patches too. The cloud base usually is only around three hundred metres or less above ground. It could often mask the middle parts of mountains or the tops of high buildings (Fig.1).

    If the ground temperature drops, the humidity in the air will increase causing the clouds to thicken downward. The low stratus could also develop over cold sea surface when the air is moist and the wind is light or calm. When the cloud base reaches the ground or sea surface, the stratus becomes fog (Fig.2). Vice versa, the air humidity drops when the ground is heated by the sunshine. The thick fog will become thinner. Then, it will be lifted up above the ground and become low stratus.

    Stratus usually appears in rainy or foggy days when the lower atmosphere is very moist and the air near the earth surface contains a lot of water. Since stratus is generally relatively thin, stratus itself alone will not rain. However; when the layer of stratus is thicker or under the conditions that the cloud base is very low and the earth surface is very moist, it may drizzle or may generate light rain. If the clouds split into fragments, the clouds appearing in the form of broken pieces are called stratus fractus or fracto-stratus (Fig.3 and Fig.4).

     
    1
    Fig.1  Stratus (Photo: Courtesy of Hong Kong Observatory staff)


    2
    Fig.2  Stratus and sea fog (Photo: Courtesy of Hong Kong Observatory staff)


    3
    Fig.3  The stratus and stratus fractus (or fracto-stratus) in rainy situations
    (Photo: Courtesy of Hong Kong Observatory staff)


    4
    Fig.4  Stratus fractus (or fracto-stratus) in rainy situations
    (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. W.T. Fok)
     
     Back to content Back to content

Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF


    撰文:趙孔儒     2011年3月


    層雲是低雲的一種,層雲的雲底高度低於2公里。層雲由微小的小水滴組成。

    層雲是呈現灰色或灰白色的一片一片雲層,雲底大致相同,不到達地面。有時層雲也會以碎塊的形式出現。雲底通常離地面只約有三百米或以下,常常可以掩蓋山腰或高建築物的頂部﹙圖1﹚。

    若地面溫度下降,空氣中的濕度增加,會引致層雲向下增厚。當空氣潮濕及吹微風或是靜風時,低層雲也可以在寒冷的海面上發展。當雲底降至地面或海面,它會變成為霧﹙圖2﹚。反過來也一樣,當地面受日照加熱,空氣中的濕度下降,濃霧便會變薄和上升,形成低層雲。

    當大氣低層很潮濕時,例如在下雨或有霧的日子裡,接近地面的空氣含有大量的水分,層雲通常會較多出現。一般情況下,層雲較薄,單是層雲本身不會下雨;但當層雲的雲層較厚,或在雲底很低及地面很潮濕的情況下,可引起毛毛雨或小雨;如果雲體分裂成為碎塊,便會形成碎片狀的碎層雲﹙ 圖3圖4﹚。

     
    1
    圖1: 層雲﹙圖片由天文台職員取景拍攝和提供﹚


    2
    圖2: 層雲與海霧﹙圖片由天文台職員取景拍攝和提供﹚


    3
    圖3:在有雨情況下的層雲與碎層雲﹙圖片由天文台職員取景拍攝和提供﹚


    4
    圖4:在有雨情況下的碎層雲﹙圖片由霍偉達先生取景拍攝和提供﹚

     回到目錄 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>