Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version


    Written by: CHIU Hung-yu       December 2010


    The cloud base of medium clouds is 2 kilometers or more above the ground. Medium clouds consist of tiny water droplets, super-cooled water droplets and ice crystals. The lower portion of medium clouds is generally water droplets, whereas the upper portion is super-cooled water droplets and ice crystals. In the tropics, the top of medium clouds can reach 8 kilometers.

    Medium clouds are categorized into altocumulus and altostratus. Alto is derived from the Latin word altus, meaning "high", and cumulus means "heap" or "pile" in Latin.

    Altocumulus appear as fragmented clouds and are white or greyish, or greyish white in color (Figure 1). The clouds often take the form of lumps, sometimes appearing as pieces of thin cracked tiles (Figure 2), or cracked bricks (Figures 3 and 5) in groups. Altocumulus could also appear in the form of successive rows of long waves (Figure 4). Altocumulus clouds sometimes come with shading (Figure 5) as a result of scattered diffused sunlight. For regularly arranged lumps of altocumulus, they usually have an apparent width in visual angle of between one and five degrees.

    Altostratus is greyish or faint bluish. It appears in the form of layer clouds or sheets of clouds, covering all or part of the sky. Thin (but not too thin) altostratus is like ground glass. When altostratus covers the sun, sunlight may pass through.  But since much of the exiting sunlight is diffused, the sun could only appear vaguely (Figure 6) with a fairly blurred outline, though the suns position could still be determined.  An objects shadow cast on ground would not have a clear outline. Unlike cirrostratus, altostratus does not give rise to halo because altostratus contains water droplets. 

     
    1
    Fig.1  Altocumulus (Photo: Courtesy of Hong Kong Observatory staff)

    2
    Fig.2  Altocumulus (Photo: Courtesy of Hong Kong Observatory staff)

    3
    Fig.3  Altocumulus (Photo: Courtesy of Ms. M.Y. Mak)

    4
    Fig.4  Altocumulus (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. S.T. Chow)

    5
    Fig.5  Altocumulus (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. C.H. Chow)

    6
    Fig.6  Altostratus  (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. C.H. Chow)
     
     Back to content Back to content

Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF


    撰文:趙孔儒     2010年12月


    中雲雲底離地面2公里或以上。中雲由微小的小水滴、過冷水滴和冰晶組成。中雲的下層一般是小水滴,上層可伴有過冷水滴和冰晶。在熱帶地區,中雲可出現在離地面2至8公里之間的空間。

    中雲或中雲族分為高積雲及高層雲﹙不是高雲,與高雲不同﹚。

    高積雲是白色或灰色,或灰白兩色的碎裂雲塊﹙圖1﹚;常呈塊狀,有時像一片片單薄的碎裂瓦片﹙圖2﹚或一塊塊厚胖的龜裂磚塊﹙圖3圖5﹚,常常成群;也有按照一列接一列地排列的,或類似一排波浪接一排波浪般出現﹙圖4﹚。高積雲帶有陰影﹙圖5﹚,可以局部地散射陽光。大部分整齊排列有序的高積雲塊通常的視角寬度為1至5度之間。

    高層雲是灰色或帶點藍色的層狀雲,以成層的雲幕出現,覆蓋全部或部分天空。薄﹙但不太薄﹚的高層雲好像磨砂玻璃般。當高層雲掩日時,陽光或可透過,由於陽光散射較多,太陽依稀顯露﹙圖6﹚,輪廓較為朦朧,或仍可大約確定太陽的位置,地面的物體也沒有清晰明確的影子。高層雲不像卷層雲,高層雲含有水滴和過冷水滴,所以不會引起光暈現象的。
     
    1
    圖1  高積雲﹙圖片由天文台職員取景拍攝和提供﹚

    2
    圖2  高積雲﹙圖片由天文台職員取景拍攝和提供﹚

    3
    圖3  高積雲﹙圖片由麥敏儀小姐拍攝和提供﹚

    4
    圖4  高積雲﹙圖片由周勝達先生拍攝和提供﹚

    5
    圖5  高積雲﹙圖片由周志雄先生拍攝和提供﹚

    6
    圖6  高層雲﹙圖片由周志雄先生拍攝和提供﹚

     回到目錄 回到目錄

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>