Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

"Clouds in Hong Kong" series -
5. Cap Cloud
 

   Written by: HUI Tai-wai    March 2010


If the atmosphere is unstable with plenty of moisture, clouds like cumulus congestus and cumulonimbus may fill the sky; when it is stable and very dry, almost cloud-free conditions can be expected.  The former situation usually occurs in summer while the latter is mainly observed during winter.  What will occur if the atmospheric conditions are in between these two extremes?  Out of the many possibilities, the formation of cap cloud over hilltop is rather common in Hong Kong.

"Cap cloud", anchoring at hilltops, is of orographic origin. In Hong Kong, it belongs to "low cloud group" and its cloud base height is restricted to the lowest 1000m.  At this altitude, cap cloud is almost surely composed of small water droplets and is usually gray or white in colour.  It is most often in the shape of lentil pod, almond, convex lens, hat or UFO with very smooth feature.  Following the WMO cloud classification, "cap cloud" in Hong Kong could be classified as "stratocumulus lenticularis".

Figure 1 shows a cap cloud, covering the Lantau Peak on the morning of 10 November 2009. According to the Observatory's record, the weather was generally fine that morning with cloud amount of no more than 3 oktas i.e. less than three eighths of the sky dome being covered.  However, the prevailing southerly winds encountered the Lantau Peak and was forced to rise along the slope (see figure 2).  Condensation eventually occurred and the Peak was capped by a patch of smooth cloud within which the visibility was rather low.

Fig.1
 Figure 1. Cap cloud observed over Lantau Peak.  Photograph was taken at 7:50 a.m. on 10 November 2009 at the Tung Chung Development Pier facing southwest towards the peak (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. HUI Tai-wai)    

Fig. 2
Figure 2.    Schematic diagram showing the formation mechanism of Cap cloud



Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

香港常見的雲」系列
5. 山帽雲


   撰文:許大偉    2010年3月


假如大氣不穩定兼水汽充足,濃積雲、積雨雲等可以滿佈天空;相反當大氣穩定和非常乾燥時,眼前很可能是萬里無雲的景象。前者主要在夏季出現,後者多見於冬天。要是條件介乎兩者之間,天空會是怎麼樣呢?答案是「不確定」!在香港,其中一種頗常見的情況是在山峰上形成「山帽雲」。

「山帽雲」是一種地形雲,停留不動依附著山頂;境內山帽雲的雲底高度必然少於1000米,屬於「低雲族」;雲體由細小水滴組成,紋理平滑,呈灰或白色;形似豆莢、杏仁、透鏡、帽子或飛碟。按世界氣象組織的分類,可歸納於「莢狀層積雲」。

圖一是攝於2009年11月10日早上籠罩鳳凰山之巔的山帽雲,當時香港普遍吹輕微南至東南風,雲量為3份以下,即少於8分之3的天空被雲朵覆蓋,整體來說,天氣良好,然而偏南氣流受到阻擋,沿山坡抬升,當中水汽冷卻凝結成雲(見圖二),山峰彷如蓋上帽子,身處其中,視野一片朦朧。

Fig.1
 圖一:    2009年11月10日早上7 時 50分從東涌發展碼頭西向南拍攝,停留於鳳凰山的山帽雲(照片由許大偉先生提供)    

Fig. 2
圖二:    山帽雲的形成機制示意圖

 

最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>