Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

"Clouds in Hong Kong" series -
2. Stratocumulus cloud in summertime


   Written by: HUI Tai-wai


In Hong Kong, stratocumulus cloud is quite common during the cool season.  But, it can also be observed in summertime, particularly when there is a low level temperature inversion associated with the sub-tropical high or a distant tropical cyclone.

There are several variants of stratocumulus but they all share the same characters.  Firstly, they exist in the lower atmosphere of 2000 metres or below. Secondly, the depth of stratocumulus is quite limited as compared to its horizontal dimensions.  Stratocumulus, being composed of water droplets, can be grayish or whitish and is quite often in the form of regularly arranged rolls or patches, with blue sky in between (figure 1).

On some occasions, stratocumulus may appear as elongated-shape clouds as shown in figure 2 which was taken at the dawn of 20 August 2008.  Under the influence of the sub-tropical high, the weather was fine that morning and the atmosphere fairly stable.  At the time of taking the photograph, the prevailing southerly winds were forced by a mountain range to rise above the lifting condensation level (LCL) and clouds formed.  The clouds were no longer able to develop further upward when they encountered the temperature inversion at 450 metres (see the tephigram in figure 3), and therefore spread out horizontally to form elongated clouds.

figure1
Figure 1.  Stratocumulus clouds observed in Tsuen Wan around noon of 9 November 2008 (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. HUI Tai-wai).

figure 2
Figure 2.  Stratocumulus clouds observed to the east of Tung Chung, Lantau Island on the early morning of 20 August 2008 (Photo: Courtesy of Mr. HUI Tai-wai).

figure 3
Figure 3.  Tephigram of 00UTC, 20 August 2008.  The lifting condensation level (LCL), corresponding to the height at which moisture of an air parcel will condense when being forced to move upward, was determined to be 320 metres.


Last revision date: <21 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋 搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

香港常見的雲」系列
2. 夏季的層積雲


   撰文:許大偉


在香港,層積雲常出現於清涼的季節內,但在特定條件下,亦不難在夏季的天空中找到,主要的條件是在大氣低層出現由副熱帶高壓或遠處熱帶氣旋所引起的逆溫層。

層積雲變化多端,但各種變化形都有共同的基本特徵。它們出現於2000米以下的大氣低層;雲體較薄,並且明顯向橫發展。層積雲是由凝結的細小水滴形成,呈灰或白色。最常見的形態是排列整齊的麵包捲或小塊,從罅隙中見到藍天(見圖一)。

在某些日子,層積雲會以拉長了的雲體示人,攝於2008年8月20日黎明的層積雲就是一個例子(見圖二)。當天香港受到副熱帶高壓影響,天朗氣清,大氣層 頗為穩定。拍攝時,偏南氣流受山脈阻擋,被迫上升,超越「抬升凝結高度」,水汽凝結成雲。由於在距離地面450米的高度有一逆溫層(見圖三的溫熵圖),雲 體不能繼續往上發展,最終向水平方向延長。

圖一
圖一:   2008年11月9日中午左右出現於荃灣區的層積雲(照片由許大偉先生提供)

圖二
圖二:   2008年8月20日清晨出現於大嶼山東涌以東的層積雲(照片由許大偉先生提供)

圖三
圖三:   2008年8月20日早上的溫熵圖。「抬升凝結高度」代表了氣塊被迫往上升時,所含水汽凝結的高度,按當時數據計算,應為320米。


最近修訂日期: <2014年4月1日>