Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Structure of an atom

All matters are made up of tiny units called atoms. Every atom has a nucleus which is surrounded by a cloud of electrons. The nucleus consists of uncharged neutrons and positively charged protons. Negatively charged electrons travel around the nucleus in their orbits, similar to the way planets moving around the sun.

The numbers of protons and electrons in an atom are normally the same, giving an uncharged atom. The nucleus of the smallest atom - the hydrogen atom, contains only one proton. Whereas those of the bigger ones contain large numbers of protons and neutrons. For example, the carbon-12 nucleus contains 6 protons and 6 neutrons. The uranium-238 nucleus contains 92 protons and 146 neutrons.

Nuclei of most atoms are stable (i.e. tend to remain as they are); but some nuclei, in particular, those large ones, are unstable. These unstable nuclei may release particles or electromagnetic waves spontaneously to return to their stable states. This process is called decay. The unstable nuclei are said to be radioactive and called radionuclides. The released particles and electromagnetic waves are called radiation.

 

Structure of an atom

Atoms with different number of neutrons, protons and electrons

Atoms with different number of neutrons, protons and electrons


Previous Page
Next Page
Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

原 子 的 結 構

世上所有物質都是由細小的原子組成,而每粒原子有一個被電子包圍著的原子核。細小的原子核內含不帶電荷的中子及帶正電荷的質子,而帶負電荷的電子則沿軌道環繞原子核運行,情況就好像行星環繞太陽運行一樣。

通常,原子內的質子和電子的數目是相同的,所以原子不帶電荷。氫是最細小的原子,它的原子核內只有一顆質子。而較大的原子,其原子核內質子及中子的數目則更多。例如,碳-12的原子核內有6顆質子及6顆中子,而鈾-238的原子核內便有92顆質子及146顆中子。

大部分原子的原子核都是穩定的,即是說會長期保持原來的狀態。不過,有些原子核,尤其是那些較大的原子核,卻是不穩定的。這些不穩定的原子核具有放射性,它會自發地釋放出粒子或電磁波,從而回復到穩定的狀態,這個過程稱為衰變。這些具有放射性的原子核稱為放射性核素,而放出的粒子和電磁波則統稱輻射。

 

原子的結構

不同的原子帶有不同數目的中子、質子和電子

不同的原子帶有不同數目的中子、質子和電子


上一頁
下一頁
最近修訂日期: <2014年2月11日>