Skip to main content
Hong Kong Observatory Brand Hong Kong - Asia's world city
GovHK Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Search
Search Site Map Contact Us
red dot
Print Version
Back
Print Version PDF Version

Natural radiation

Radiation is everywhere in our environment. Even our body is also radioactive. We are therefore constantly exposed to different kinds of radiations, especially natural radiation. The annual dose received by the public in Hong Kong from natural background radiation is about 2 mSv. In general, the annual dose received by the public in the world is generally ranged from 1 mSv to 10 mSv (Source: United Nations Scientific Committee on the Effects of Atomic Radiation (UNSCEAR) 2000 Report)).

Radionuclides, such as uranium-235, uranium-238, thorium-232 and neptunium-237, have been part of the earth since it came into existence. These radionuclides undergo radioactive decay, by emitting harmful alpha particles, beta particles or gamma rays. Their progenies are also unstable and radioactive. They will undergo radioactive decay until reaching a stable state. The half-lives of uranium-235, uranium-238, thorium-232 and neptunium-237 are 700 million years, 4.5 billion years, 14 billion years and 2.3 million years respectively. Since the half-lives of neptunium-237 and its daughter radionuclides are relatively short comparing to the age of the earth, these radionuclides are not present in the earth nowadays. On the contrary, radionuclides of the uranium-235, uranium-238 and thorium-232 series still exist in our environment. As soil and building materials contain these natural radionuclides, the dose we received therefore depends on the geological composition of the place we live and the building materials we use.

Radon (radon-222) is a major source of natural radiation. It is the decay product of uranium-238 in soil and rocks. Being a gas, part of it escapes from the ground into the atmosphere. If ventilation is poor, radon will accumulate in indoor areas. When we breathe in radon, the alpha particles emitted in the decay process will cause damage to our lung tissue. For the sake of our health, sufficient ventilation is required to reduce the amount of radon in our home.

Another source of natural radiation is cosmic rays from space. Due to the shielding effect of the atmosphere, intensity of cosmic rays increases with altitude. The cosmic rays are mainly made up of high energy protons, plus some helium nuclei and heavy charged particles and ions, with atomic number equal to or greater than 3. When cosmic rays enter the atmosphere, they interact with nitrogen, oxygen and other atoms in the upper atmosphere and produce a large assortment of secondary particles, including radionuclides (such as tritium and carbon-14), neutrons, protons, electrons, mu(m) and pi(p) mesons and etc. Of them, carbon-14 is commonly used in assessing the age of antiquities. Please click here for details.

Radionuclides are also present in our body. Potassium-40, uranium, thorium, radium, carbon-14, tritium and polonium are some examples. Our daily foodstuff consists of trace of radionuclides. These radionuclides will be absorbed through digestion and become part of our body. Meanwhile, their amounts will decrease due to decay or excretion. When the amounts of ingested and excreted radioactive materials reach an equilibrium, a constant level of radiation will be achieved in our body.

Please visit the website of Environmental Radiation Monitoring Programme for information on the monitoring of environmental radiation in Hong Kong by the Hong Kong Observatory.

 

Part of natural radiation received in daily life comes from space

Part of natural radiation received in daily life comes from space

Uranium ore

Uranium ore

 


Previous Page
Next Page
Last revision date: <19 Dec 2012>

跳至主要內容
香港天文台 香港品牌形象-亞洲國際都會
GovHK 香港政府一站通 搜尋
搜尋 網頁指南 聯絡我們
列印版本
上一頁
列印版本 列印PDF

天 然 輻 射

輻射無處不在,甚至連我們自己的身體都具有放射性。其實我們每日都會接觸到各種各樣的輻射,特別是天然輻射。在本港,平均每人每年吸收的天然本底輻射劑量大約為2毫希沃特。在世界各地,每人吸收的天然本底輻射劑量一般都是由每年1毫希沃特到10毫希沃特不等(資料來源 ﹕聯合國原子輻射效應科學委員會 (UNSCEAR) 第2000年報告)。

地球在誕生時,便存在著天然放射性核素,如鈾-235、鈾-238、釷-232及鎿-237等。它們因衰變而產生的子體核素亦屬不穩定及具有放射性。這些子體放射性核素會繼續衰變,直至到達穩定狀態。它們在衰變期間會放出對人體有害的α粒子、β粒子或γ射線。鈾-235、鈾-238、釷-232及鎿-237的半衰期分別為7億年、45億年、140億年及2.3百萬年。由於鎿-237及其子體核素的半衰期遠低於地球的年齡,它們現已不存在於地球上。相反,鈾-235鈾-238釷-232衰變系列的放射性核素仍然存在於我們的生活環境中。地殼土壤及建築材料內,都含有這些天然的放射性核素,因此我們吸收到的天然輻射劑量與所在地區的土質成份有關,亦與我們居所的建築物料有關。

氡氣(特別是氡-222)是一個主要的天然輻射源。氡-222主要由泥土及岩石中的鈾-238衰變產生,並從地面散發至大氣中。如室內空氣不流通,散發出來的氡氣會積聚在室內。氡氣在衰變過程中會放出α粒子,當我們吸入氡氣時,我們的肺部便會受α粒子影響。為保持健康,我們應該保持室內空氣流通,以免氡氣積聚。

另一個天然輻射來源是來自外太空的宇宙射線。由於大氣層有阻擋宇宙射線的作用,離地面越高,宇宙射線的強度就越強。宇宙射線的主要成份是高能量的質子,其次是氦原子核及少量原子序數3或以上的重粒子和離子。宇宙射線進入地球大氣層後,會與大氣高層的氮、氧等原子核發生反應,產生氚、碳-14等放射性核素及中子、質子、電子、μ介子、π介子等次級粒子。當中,碳-14經常被用來鑑定古物所屬的年代,請按此處了解詳情。

我們的體內亦含有放射性核素。例如鉀-40、鈾、釷、鐳、碳-14、氚、釙等。我們日常吃的食物也含有少量放射性物質,食物被消化後會被身體吸收,成為身體的一部份。與此同時這些放射性物質亦會衰變減少或被排出體外。當我們食入和排出的放射性物質達到平衡時,我們體內便維持著一個穩定的輻射水平。

請瀏覽環境輻射監測計劃網頁內有關香港天文台監測環境輻射水平工作的資料。

 

我們日常吸收到的輻射部份是從太空而來的

我們日常吸收到的輻射部份是從外太空而來的

鈾礦樣本

鈾礦樣本

 


上一頁
下一頁
最近修訂日期: <2014年2月11日>